We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade to the two bedroom! Walk around Lahaina!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Upgrade to the two bedroom! Walk around Lahaina!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We got a great deal on Priceline but when we arrived we were assigned a studio. This is the smallest room you will ever see with the double bed turned sideways to fit. Unless you are a college student used to hostels this is not for you. Fortunately, we upgraded to the two bedroom one bath and it was fantastic. The living room was spacious and the décor throughout was lovely. The kitchen was updated and very functional. Our unit (210B) was full of light due to skylights and floor to ceiling windows. Not to worry, lush foliage ensured plenty of privacy. The small pool was quiet and relaxing. The larger pool seemed more for kids and families. Anyway, when booking call the hotel directly and ask for an upstairs 2 bedroom with a interior view. Thanks so much to the ladies at the front desk, they were awesome.

Room Tip: Upstairs, two bedroom (even for a couple), interior location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha luvt2travel88,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm so pleased to read our Front Desk agents were able to assist you in upgrading your unit. I will be sure to pass this on to the Front Office Manager. You have provided such a vivid description of the unit. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    354
    129
    56
    40
See reviews for
308
358
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very comfortable departments, with Full Kitchen, living room, separated bedroom. Nice touch to have our own washing machine.
Very good centred in Lahaina, with plenty of restaurants and shops. 3 blocks away from ocean.
The only with to improve... is the room service, we contract the full service.... they charge you 50 U$S per day... and really it's no so good... But really the place is amazing...Have 2 pools (never in there, i prefer the ocean)... Have some barbecues if you want to burn something.

Room Tip: There´s one building (Hibiscus) it's in front of a Church..... and on sundays they start very ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha mcento,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We agree that the Outrigger Aina Nalu is amazing. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here after spending 8 days at a previous condo NIGHTMARE. I will save that review for another time! Anyway, this condo had everything you could ask for and more. All updated rooms, plush thick towels, condiments, exceptional bed linens, etc.. The list could go on and on. The resort is 2 blocks from Front St, but we so appreciated the quietness. The pools were great and never crowded. Most days we had the pools to ourselves! The staff was very friendly too! We cannot wait to go back next year! In fact, we loved it so much, we have looked into purchasing a unit! I just can't say enough about Aina Nalu and I am a picky traveler!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pools! The guys clean the pool area every morning early,and if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had 6 nights here in a 2 br unit. Absolutely fantastic accommodation for a family of four. The unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 tvs. Full kitchen with dishwasher, coffee maker, blender and toaster. There was also a washing machine and dryer, which made it so easy to be able to wash everyday. Maui restaurant prices are ridiculous for family dining, so it really makes sense to do your own cooking when you can. There is a Foodland supermarket, a 5 minute walk away, that stocks everything. The location is a real plus too, walking distance to all the restaurants and attractions. Would recommend hiring a car, as there is so much to see in Maui.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 in a two bedroom/two bath suite. The rooms were good sized and the bathrooms were very nice. One of the bathrooms had a washer/dryer. The kitchen contained a full size fridge and other appliances, as well as pots, pans, glasses and cutlery. No complaints about the room except that we had asked for one room to have two separate beds and that request was not accomodated. We did not know this was not guaranteed until we arrived at the property.

The property itself was nice. It contained two pools, a very hot hot tub, bbq areas and lots of grass. It is located about two blocks from the main street in Lahaina town. This is convenient but the stores and restaurants do not stay open terribly late. The Maui Bus bus top was 1 block away. This was super convenient as we did not rent a car. It took about 20 minutes to get to the beach by bus. Lahaina town does not really have a beach suitable for sunbathing.

Room Tip: Besure to confirm if you request two separate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha travelfw,

thank you for your positive review. You have offered a lot of information our future guests will find useful. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this property wanting an apartment style room within walking distance to Lahaina town and weren't disappointed! We were a bit concerned when we saw the exterior of the property but room looked very modern and was fully equipped with kitchen plus cookware/cutlery, washer/dryer and large bathrooms. Free Internet was a nice bonus but its wired so bring your own router if you want wifi. Housekeeping isn't included in the rate but we didn't mind as we only stayed 3 nights. Recommend booking through their website which had good deals for AAA members and seniors. The pool was very cold and I didn't see many people swimming bit I guess that's what the beach is for! Take note Maui is difficult to traverse without a car, and there is no suitable beach for swimming near Lahaina town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Nokasan,

Thank you for posting your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and were pleasantly surprised. You have offered some good tips for our future guests. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Last night here. We spent 2 weeks at Outrigger Aina Nalu, the first 8 days with my sister, her husband and my niece, the past 5 days by ourselves (me and husband). Aina Nalu is perfectly located 2 blocks from Front Street (called Whalers village "in the old days"), with its shops, restaurants, shave ice and gelato places, ABC stores, nightly sunsets, etc. Hotel accomodations were just fine, we are all fairly low maintenance. We made use of the all the amenities in the room, cooking and eating in most meals. My sister and her family made use of the pool every day they were here and loved it.

Google trip advisor for local restaurants, activities, places to see, etc-->recommendations are usually spot on. I liked: Local Food (usually opens 11am or later; closes around 5pm unless they run out of food), Sure Thing Burger (opens 11a to 5p--great burgers and fries), Ululani shave ice, and Foodland/Foodland farms for pok'e (which I probably ate 8 or 9 out of 13 days were were here. If you register with Foodland (they just need your phone #), you get the maikai savings (adds up). The Maui Ocean Center was fun and informative. The drives to find and frolic the beaches were quite fun. And seeing whales everyday from the shore was just unbelievable. On the Kapalua ridge trail we heard the tail and fin slaps and watched whale breaches for a while.

We didn't get to do the sunrise at Haleakala or the road to Hana trip (ran out of time) but perhaps the next time?

Room Tip: You hear all the noise if your room is on the ground floor (only 2 stories)--either from people comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.