We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Aina Nalu

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is a great place to stay if you don't want to drive around Lahaina. It's location is perfect, just 2 streets off Front Street and the Banyan Tree with the grocery store just a 3min walk. The units are a comfortable and spacious - a basic condo, with a full kitchen, laundry, living, bar, sleeping areas. The main pool is the best place to relax, next to no one uses it and it's very quiet. Parking is not free, you can park on the street, but beware - local theft is abundant. last time we came, we actually took the local bus here from the airport - less than $10 for 2. If youneed to rent a car for an excursion, plenty of rent-a-car places close. The full kitchen can save you some serious money. Eateries are abundant around here, not cheap but reasonable.

Room Tip: One that overlooks the pool. Most look over a parking lot. If you don't mind it, get a cheap roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    324
    115
    49
    37
See reviews for
290
330
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Aina Nalu Outrigger Condo is located one block from Front street in Lahaina, Maui. This eliminates the need to rent a car which helps out financially as the hotel charges $15 a day for parking.
A five minute walk takes you to many quality restaurants and shopping. We rented a one bedroom unit which had enough space for two people. There are two bedroom units available. Ours was very clean with two air conditioning units. We liked the unit but were surprised how close our front door neighbors were. We could definitly could hear all our neighbors. There was supposed to be designated smoking areas but the people below us apparently didn't know about it.

The salt water pool was a bonus as it was large enough to do laps.
We would stay there again if we could specify a room. They do have rooms with a better view than we had.
All the staff were very courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of one of the two pools or at least a parking lot. They have rooms with v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Wayner48,

thank you for posting your postive review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry your neighbors did not follow our policies. Please bring this type of information to us when it happens so we are better able to assist you. Please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance in booking a future stay at the property.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week in Jan 2013. Booked through a private owner Unit G101 large 2bed 2bath unit with washer and dryer.

Unit was very nice..not perfectly clean but no huge issues. Very well stocked with all necessities.

Front dest staff were extremely rude and not helpful because we did not book through them they could not answer a question out of common courtesy. Security guards were very pleasant and helpful.

The condo grounds were wonderful. Very nice pools and very well landscaped.

Great location to shops, restaurants and grocery stores. Front street only 1 block away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha bchgirl08,

I'm sorry to see our Front Desk staff did not meet your expectations. If you would like to contact me with further information about this situation I would be very interested. Please contact me in the future if you decide to book through Outrigger.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After staying lots of times at the big resorts in Kaanapali, we decided to give this condo-type property a try instead. We were very pleased. The 2 bedrooms were comfortable, the kitchen was well enough equipped for "vacation" cooking (quick and easy!), and the living-room area was sufficient for the four of us to kick back and relax. The big pool is perfect for a cooling swim at the end of the day, and not too busy during the times we used it. They could use a couple more barbecue areas - we had to wait for these on two occasions - but overall it was a very pleasant experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We always stay in a condo when we travel to the islands. Best way to have the kitchen, 2nd bath, etc... First time staying in Lahaina, instead of beachfront on Maui. Perfect location so all of us could walk to beach, shops, restaurants, and to the dock without worrying about parking. Family trip with our 2 20-something daughters.
Individual owners for condos--would suggest a few more amenities in the kitchen: utensils and seating was a little lacking (only 2 barstools for eating at the bar, needed 2 more)
Waited for 2nd day to get our rental car (saved 2 days rental fees). Then easy drive to anywhere we wanted to go.Weather was a little unusual--high trade winds came in, bringing unsettled weather. Re-scheduled our activities after winds died down, but don't worry--the sun was always within chasing distance. Just take care when entering the ocean. Recommend Kihei in winter for a more summertime feeling with larger white sand beaches.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay $15/day for parking. budget for it since it's so convenient. Use the pavilion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I felt right at home when I stayed at Aina Nalu in Lahiaina.
The hotel was beautiful and very clean and the location is perfect as everything is in walking distance.I would defiantly reccomened to stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was not impressed when I opened the door to our room and saw how small it was. We are a family of 5 staying in a two bedroom. When we walked in, the AC cover was off and none of the remotes for the TV worked. The kitchen and baths are updated, but there were only 2 stools and no kitchen table to eat at. There was one couch that seats 3 and a chair...not enough for our family. Also, we were on the ground floor which was very dark. If I opened the blinds, the pool was so close that there was no privacy. When I went to complain to the manager (nicely, I might add), she just shrugged her shoulders and said that she couldn't do anything...really? What was her purpose for being there? Not impressed. They did bring us 4 plastic chairs and a fold up table and they did put batteries in the remotes and closed up the AC for us; however, for me? Too little, too late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Aina Nalu, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha Janatraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m sorry you were not able to enjoy the 2 nights you spent at the Outrigger Aina Nalu. Upon investigating your stay, I discovered that the Front Desk more than tried to extend the best customer service to you. Unfortunately due to high occupancy and a check out time of 12:00pm we are not always able to offer an early check in time of 10:00am to our guests which I am sure did not help to start your stay off right.

It appears the Front Office Manager also discounted your room rate and personally called you to find out how you were enjoying your stay with no response. Once again I do apologize you were not able to enjoy your stay with us, as condominium accommodations are not ideal for all travelers.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Outrigger Aina Nalu 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;