We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits our needs adequately” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aina Nalu to your Saves list
Aina Nalu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fits our needs adequately”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time at Aina Nalu. We found the one bedroom suite to be very spacious and clean. As others have noted, the walls are thin and you could hear other people’s muted conversations as well as foot traffic outside the buildings. There is no daily maid service but we were told that service would be available if we needed it. (We didn’t need it.) We had a kitchen with all of the necessary cooking equipment and there was a washer/dryer in the room for the laundry which made our stay more convenient. The grounds, the pools, and the hot tub were all beautiful and clean. I wish the hotel’s pool police would let us stay in the water past 10:00PM though. Overall, we liked it and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without any next door neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Michael W,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your first stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    334
    123
    51
    39
See reviews for
294
344
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If your looking to stay away from the hustle bustle of Kaanapali, look no further. The Aina Nalu is nestled just a few blocks from Lahaina's Front Street--a mecca of shops and restaurants. Seriously the location doesn't get an better. Parking around Front Street is sometimes a nightmare, but you can literally walk there from this hotel. The best part is its a perfect little complex of condo style rooms with all the comforts of home. There are two pools, nothing fancy but definitely relaxing and adequate for swimming. The cabanas are offered at no charge (good luck with that in Kaanapali!) and there are grills by the pool area that you can use. It is also just a short drive to beaches and the high end shops at Whalers Village. I just wish their front desk agents were a little friendlier. Otherwise, the staff we ran into on property was always pleasant. Overall, the rooms are spacious and beautiful. Its a great place to vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Surfchic55,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking a future stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Since TripAdvisor does stuff on a 1-to-5 scale, it's hard to rate this accommodation the way I'd like to. I would give it a 7 out of 10 instead of 3 out 5 because it's not a bad place at all and it certainly has a lot of pluses, but there are a couple of drawbacks too. So, here it goes...

The good stuff:
The ladies manning the front desk reception area are very nice and helpful, and it's kind of cool that they give you a complimentary cloth bag with the Outrigger logo on it because it comes in very handy when you shop anywhere in Lahaina, since Maui is very eco-conscious and they've done away with plastic bags and those little paper bags without handles just don't cut it.

The setting for the property is not only super convenient (walking distance to Front Street in Lahaina), the grounds around the hotel/condo are gorgeous and tropical and extremely well maintained. They have both a saltwater pool and a regular pool for swimming, since the closest beach to this particular establishment isn't one of the sandier types you'll see if you travel up the coast a bit.

The rooms/condos are nicely furnished with a distinct Hawaiian look and they're certainly spacious enough and the beds were clean and comfortable as well. The bathrooms are huge and have a really cool looking prehistoric/ art-deco vibe going on in them with the flagstone style shower stalls. We loved those! Bonus: a cute little washer/dryer combo that saves you the trip to the laundromat.

The not-so-good stuff:
The noise, and I don't mean from traffic because this place is set off from the main road. Quite a few of the units at this property are privately owned and the majority (as far as we were told) of the said privately owned units were the upstairs dwellings. Since the walls and other parts of this place are on the thin side, we heard every single noise from above us and on the adjoining walkway above as well. The people upstairs may have been practicing for the latest Broadway style Tap Review or maybe they were just getting their jollies by practicing their bowling skills indoors but it was kind of rough after several hours of this. This is not the fault of Outrigger, obviously, but it kind of made the whole stay less than fun.

One other thing that bugged us was when we contacted housekeeping (whom we were told would be available until at least 8 or later in the evening), no one ever answered the phone. The housekeeping staff themselves (when we saw them the following day) were pleasant and they certainly do a nice job keeping the place tidy.

So, I'll give this place a 70% score because having some peace and quiet at night when you want to sleep, like at around 11:00 p.m., when we were calling it a night, or at least having someone answer the phone when you have a query, are one of the more important things to me than having several different types of swimming pools. I liked more about the Aina Nalu than I didn't like so I would consider trying it once more when I return to Maui because it's not a bad place at all...I'd just make sure to contact Outrigger and ask ahead of time for one of the quieter rooms they must have, away from the permanent housing.
It's definitely worth a second look if you can overlook the two sticklers about the noise and no response from H-Keeping that I had. The location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room for a little more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha PioneerValley,

thank you for posting your generally positive review. I will pass along your compliments to our staff. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay for the most part and we look forward to welcoming you back.

I do apologize that your phone call was not answered. Please call the Front Desk when that happens as sometimes the remaining housekeeping staff are around the property and need to be contacted by radio.

Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in a privately owned unit. It was in the D building on the upper level. There are only two floors in this condo style setting. They do not have elevators which is a hassle when you are lugging your suite cases and grocerys up the wooden stairs and across the decking. The other bummer is parking. You have to pay extra everyday if you want to use their parking lot. You also can't pay day to day. You have to pay for the whole time you are there. We chose to park on the street and in other pay by day lots. You do get a discount in these lots when you stay at the condo. They will give you a print out to keep on dash.
The grounds are very beautiful and the pools are top notch. It was pretty quiet the five days we stayed. One of the days they sand blasted one if the pools so that was noisy but we were gone for most of it.
All the windows are the normal shutter type style that you see in Hawaii. Which means you can't keep out all the noise or ever get a great look out of them but it did have back doors to the REALLY small lanai. It was over looking one of the pools but there is so much beautiful foliage that you can't see much. I was pretty bummed about the lanai but we just went down by the pools to hang out.
The condo is pretty nice. The showers are awesome and the beds in our unit were very comfortable. The AC units worked well. They are on timers which is a great idea for owners because electricity is so exepensive in Hawaii and most tourists think they should leave AC on all day. I don't think it's needed. It cools down pretty quick once you turn them on.
The condo is within walking distance to all the fun and stores in Lahaina.
All in all it is a great place to stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel through Priceline bidding and it was rated at 3 1/2 star and let me tell you that's not the case. This is more like a 2 star motel with no daily maid service, old and musty furniture and rude front reception staff. The rooms have a weird odor and no amount of airing got rid of that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha travelibnebatoota,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay. Generally we do offer guests another unit to move to qhen they are unhappy with their unit. I apologize this was not offered to you or you declined to accept a move.

Please let me know if you would like to share more in depth comments as we are always trying to improve our services.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed here about 5 time though the years including its pre-renovation days.The 3 stars is not really right to describe this facility. It really is a 5 for the space and a 1 for the guest interface.

The room renovations, the salt water pool and the Lahaina location are all really great.

The lack of any level of front desk training has become part of the "ambiance" of this place. It's like going to a dive restaurant with really good food.

We got in at noon and were told that they wouldn't have anything ready until 3 - the posted time for check-in. When we have arrived early in other hotels they checked on the room, took our bags for us, let us use the pool, bought us a drink, or offered to call us on our cell when the room was ready. We were told not to come back until 3, because they were completely full and they didn't want us to be "PO'ed" if the room wasn't ready. (It's like Island-time - you just let it go.)

The script at the front desk lets you know that there is no maid or trash service like they were telling you that there was weather outside. (What??!! Again, we have stayed here a lot! A little explanation is appropriate.)

The management is clearly emphasizing the cleanliness and basic operation of the hotel. Things are pretty ship-shape and work the way they are designed to. The pool is clean, the grounds manicured, the gills are clean. On the flip side - there is no maid service, the WIFI is anemic and the staff could easily be extras for a bad zombie island movie.

As an adult couple on vacation - this is a little too rudimentary. I think we could stay here when we bring the kids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha DrSantucci,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize for that you were not met with exceptional customer service upon arriving to the property. Our general policy is to offer our guests luggage storage, access to the pools and/or take a cell phone number when guests arrive early and are not yet able to check in.

In regard to the housekeeping services, I'm sorry you were not made aware of this ahead of time. This is a change that started earlier this year and we have reviewed with the staff as to how this information is delivered to guests.

Please contact me directly to book any future stays and to speak about your stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui, so not too sure what to expect - we were pleasantly surprised. The Apartments, or Condos as Americans call them, were extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated, very clean and situated within walking distance to 'Front Street', the heart of Lahaina.
We travelled as a group of 4 women, sharing a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. We found the accommodation very roomy, with a well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area, large bathrooms and showers plus a washing machine and dryer that came in quite handy during our stay. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, always greeting us as we were coming and going. We booked quite a few tours with the concierge, Valerie, who was very informative and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If posible, ask for a room near the pool - nicer outlook and easier access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a mile of the beach, this newly-renovated Maui resort is set in the heart of historic town of Laihana. Two-bedroom accommodations have 846 square feet of space that includes a full kitchen. Flat-screen TVs offer pay movies. Guests can take advantage of the outdoor swimming pool and barbecue grills on site. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aina Nalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.