We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our vow renewal by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kahana to your Saves list
Royal Kahana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our vow renewal by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel because they had an ideal area by the beach for us to renew our wedding vows. On the day of our wedding we decorated the arch with flowers we brought with us it came out beautiful and we had our dream wedding overlooking the ocean. All the ocean view guests watched and applauded from there balconies We spent 10 days and had a fabulous room with ocean view. The bed was very comfortable, and we had all the amenities washer/dryer, microwave, full kitchen, large TV ( not that we saw much). We were in room 705 with a beautiful oxen view. We now know why there is a rainbow on their car tags as we woke to gorgeous rainbows every morning. The concierge we very helpful although they are a separate entity. But they helped us book some great trips. Two things to suggest, putting on there website what times are checking and checkout. We arrived around noon but couldn't. Get into our room until 3:00. We were tired and had been traveling for two days, wish we would have known we would have planned something instead of just wasting time until we could get into our room. In the room there was no room on the counter for the drain board suggest they get a kitchen cart for the microwave and free the counter for the drain board. But the kitchen was well stocked, it was nice not to have to buy things like salt and pepper and trash bags. All in all it was a beautiful room and very comfortable as a home away from home.
Thanks from the vow renewal newlyweds.

Room Tip: Ask for 705. Has everything you need for a couple including ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    276
    101
    49
    25
See reviews for
150
298
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife son and I stayed 11-14 October 13 and we were not impressed. This place is an owner operated apartment group with many different owners. Quality ranges by room too. If you stay here ask to not be placed in room 605. Despite its good view of the ocean and Molokai, the only modern amenities are the TV, coffee pot and shower. Everything else looks like it hasn't been updated since the 80's. We had friends recommend this place and I suppose they got a good room, but we will probably not return. During our stay it was mostly full of old folks and they closed the pool one afternoon for an apartment owners party. The concierge was useful and they give discounted prices for tours but the complimentary breakfast they provide at their briefing was minimal and the pastries were stale.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Upon check in, there wasn't the warmest of welcomings by reception staff, sorry to bother you. We found Chip to be excellent when we were organising our adventures during our stay, listen to thier recommendations, they only live on the island and have many dealings with not only the tour operators, but with actual guests feedback and own experiences.

Our unit was functional, clean and comfortable, that's all we needed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Keep in mind, you're here b/c you're main constraint is cost. Using the AAA and Senior Discount, the family of 12 stayed and we got a great deal. Without the special rates I don't know that I would return. Rooms were clean and initially felt a little damp/musty but it's Maui...a day of airing out and it was fine.

OUR ROOMS:
The 2 two bedrooms (both sleep 6) we stayed at were rooms 520 and 620. See photos. When you put in your request, you aren't assigned a room but they do what they can to accommodate your needs. We asked for side by side rooms, ocean view and newer condition rooms. We didn't get what we wanted (as it is in life) but it was fine. We could see the pool, the ocean and the clean-up of the burned down building from the lanai. The burned building is what I feared most but doesn't look bad, looks like it's being cleaned up well if not even being rebuilt(?) and there is no smell. Really, we didn't go to Maui to just look out of lanai so it wasn't an issue. There's enough parking if not in the immediate lot, one 20 steps further away.

Room 520 was overall nicer and seemed cleaner/newer but both rooms were fine. Again, you aren't at the Four Seasons, it's an affordable place to stay so keep that in mind. Restrooms, bedrooms, living room, kitchen felt fine. Room 620 has a newly remodeled kitchen but washer dryer, dish washer and restrooms were older. Room 620 has two tub showers while Room 520 has standing showers only. Good to note if you have a small kid that needs a tub.

ROOM AMENITIES:
Salt and pepper, 1 load of laundry detergent, plenty of personal towels along with 6 beach towels, dish washing soap and dishwasher detergent, couple packs of sweeteners and typical mini shampoo/condition/soaps/lotions. One hair dryer did not work in both units which housekeeping was quick to replace. TVs worked minus the tube TV in the second room of 520 but since there was no need to turn it on it didn't matter. Iron, Ironing board, toaster, microwave, pots/pans, blender, rice cooker, basic cooking tools/utensils. If you're going to cook just be ready for some dull cheap knives. Your cost will come from food b/c you literally only have salt and pepper, no oil, no condiments or spices. I'm sure they have some policy against keeping leftovers so it's removed.

They do not have cribs there you can rent or anything like boogie boards, coolers, etc. 520 has two older beach chairs to use but no other beach related things. I did see that a different room had a boogie board...so you never really know. A cooler would have really nice to water or sandwiches around so it may be worth getting an insulated bag or a styro cooler.

OTHER AMENITIES:
The pool is heated, on the small side but not often too crowded. There are tables and chairs and nice propane grills all around. The grill only has a brush so the tongs and spatula you are given in your room are your only BBQ tools. The beach is nice to have b/c you don't always want to drive far or you want to just take a quick swim. Width wise, the beach is short but you can lay out and get some sun on most days without worrying about getting wet. Water wasn't clear enough for snorkeling. We went two doors down at the Sands of Kahana and rented Kayaks for cheap which was fun. Ice machine, ping pong table and vending machines in the basement.

NEARBY:
McDonald's, Shell with Whalers General Market, cafe, some food joints, Boss Frogs, within walking distance. 5 minutes Times Market (for groceries), Snorkel Bobs, some food places. 10 minutes down Safeway, Lahaina Cannery Mall, Barnes and Noble, Foodland.

Napili beach - was very close, clean, and a beautiful view as the sun was going down. No close snorkeling or sea life that we could really tell. A man was fishing and caught something though!

Kaanapali beach - close and very hot, crowded but where we saw a ton of fish and turtles by Black Rock. We walked to Whalers and got pizza and soda for $8 a head and had our fill.

Again, i think it's a good place. If it was just me and a friend we would stay somewhere nicer. But when you're looking at a lot of people and kids, this a good deal. The kids had fun and we were able to make our meals there and enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nice place--ocean view off balcony. Room was clean and the bed was
comfortable. Liked having a kitchen (with all you need to cook) and a
washer and dryer in the unit. The bathroom was very clean and plenty
of towels available.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool. There was some construction going on on another building on the other pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful condo, newly updated kitchen and bathroom, friendly staff,professional housekeeping team on site, heated pool, clean beach,lovely sunset view from lanai as well as bedroom,every night , concierge desk in lobby with orientation and light breakfast at 8:30 AM every morning,
with all the information you need about tours etc in the island,
Will be back,......................soon

Room Tip: Several updated units, studio, one bedroom, or 2 bedrooms. choose oceanfront or garden view based o...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The only good thing I can say of this condo was we had an amazing view. To start off... We arrived before the 3 PM check in (it was around 1:40)... Was remind of the fact and told the room would be ready soon. Ok... not worries... I came back approx. 20 mins before 3PM and was again reminded of 3 PM check in and told to come back. OK... So here is my advice why not just tell me NO one is getting a room before 3PM. Not a good way to start! We stayed in 1108. The room was very dated, old couch not at all comfortable to sit on and a bed that was as hard as the floor. The dryer didn't work. The bath tub had no plug to take a bath. The shower curtain was dirty. I personally will not be back.

Room Tip: best tip... stay some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui’s high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won’t find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners – although that’s only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Welcome the sun on a morning stroll chasing waves along the sand. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.