We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a very convenient condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kahana

Save Saved
You added Royal Kahana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kahana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Chicoutimi, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a very convenient condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was on vacation on Maui with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the Royal Kahana (we both are in early 30s). We traveled in February 2013 for 9 days and were in condo #903.

If you plan on staying the whole time on the resort pool & beach, this may not be a good place for you though. But if you have a car and are planning exploring the island and its different beaches, like we did, this is definitely a really good base point. We didn't spend much of our day-time on the resort, there is plenty of nice beaches and things to do on Maui and everything is accessible on day trips from the hotel. Many nice beaches are only 5-10 minutes drive from the hotel.

Upsides:
- very convenient and fully equipped (all the amenities were available and the kitchen was very well equipped)
- everything was clean and we had a mid-stay cleaning service (included in our package), which was quite sufficient for us, towels and sheets were changed then
- we were welcome with a starter kit (coffee, soap for the washing machine, ...) which was nice after a long flight
- bed was comfortable and everything was in perfect condition in the bathroom
- staff was very helpful and nice
- supermarkets and convenient stores are close (2 min walks for the general store)

Downsides:
- no beach on the resort, there is a pool and you can see the ocean (with whales and turtles), but you can't swim or lay on the beach there
- hotel services were a little early for us (we're not early people...): cleaning service @ 9AM on 2 occasions, call from the tour-booking staff @ 8AM on our first morning, ...
- we booked ocean view, but the view was actually more on the resort close-by. not a big deal, we could see the ocean and enjoyed the lanai, but we expected more a kind of wide-opened ocean view

Our overall experience there was very positive and I would highly recommend this place. It's a very nice place to live/cook/sleep, but I wouldn't recommend it for people that want to spend 90% of their stay on the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    261
    95
    45
    23
See reviews for
139
283
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Royal Kahana the end of February 2013. We stayed in room 810 and it really was a great room with an amazing view. Saw tons of whales and sea turtles. This room has a newly remodeled kitchen and bath... and is really good sized too. The deck was great for sitting out and having cocktails on each night..watching the whales play. The pool area is nice as well with a small snack shop that has juices and coffee. The beach is really not that great however. We ended up driving to beaches each day. Also there is no restaurant or bar on the property. Again, you need to drive to eat or drink. While the room was great we won't stay there again. While we don't mind going out to eat or drink once in a while.. or trying other beaches, etc... it is nice to have the option to just stay at the hotel you are at to do those things. This one is just a nice room with a view. If that is all you are looking for? This is the spot for you. Also there is only maid service one day a week (not an issue for us and there was a washer/dryer in the room).

Room Tip: The two bedroom rooms are the way to go... they are huge and face the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in room 714 - gorgeous! This is a condo property and so the "rooms" are really apartments. Our room was beautifully decorated, had a washer/dryer, full kitchen, huge living room, dining area and large bathroom/closet area. Great balcony, too! Make sure you get a room that faces the ocean - we could see Lanai clearly and the sunsets were excellent. Our room was not ready when we arrived (at noon) so we stowed our luggage at the desk and had lunch. They called us when the room was ready - about 2pm. There is no maid service here, but that's okay. We only stayed 3 nights so there wasn't much housekeeping needed. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Butte, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just got back from 3 weeks in Maui where we stayed at the Royal Kahana for the second year. We had a one bedroom oceanview condo on the 11th floor with a great view of Molokai. The condo was more than adequate and very roomy, the carpet could have been cleaned before we got there but apart from this we have no complaints. We couldn't use our stove the first day due to wrong burner saucers but this was fixed as soon as we mentioned to the front desk. All staff members were very friendly and always ready to help with a smile. A special thank you to Vandetta (administration) who helped us with the Wi-Fi as the signal was very poor. The pool area can get crowded but there is always room on the lawn. This year was a little (well maybe a lot) more windy than last year but the whales and turtles that we could see from our lanai were everyday a bonus and made up for the breeze...
We do agree with other "tenants" that, yes, the building is getting old and that some updates should be considered. Having said that we are looking forward to our next stay next February for 4 weeks
We would also mention Chip and Rebeca, the concierges. We met Rebeca last year and were glad to see that she was there this year also. Chip and Rebeca arranged some great days of discovery on Maui and also in Pearl Harbor. They are a source of information and good ideas, we are already planning our adventures for next year.
Marie-Jo C

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent nine days at this location and were, for the most part, satisfied with the quality of our accommodations. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same thing about the facilities.
We leased a corner unit on the nineth floor, so our lanai view of the coastline was spectacular. The only down side to the view was the burned out building adjacent to the property. The building that housed the fitness center, kitchen, and offices for the adjacent Valley Isle Resort burned back in September and Chas'n Rainbows failed to tell us. The burned out hulk was still there in all it's glory during our stay in late February. We have no idea why they did not quickly demolish and remove the burned building. It is a total eyesore from the third floor and above.

Our unit was spacious, but the carpet was worn and needed cleaned. There were stains in front of the door out to the lanai. Also, the air conditioning would not work and one of the sinks in the master bathroom was not functional. Chas'n Rainbows was very responsive, fixing the AC and sink issues within hours of our arrival. The furnishings were not nearly as nice as they appeared in the photo, which came as no real surprise to us. We've rented numerous VRBO units over the years and you have to take the photos with a grain of salt.

The pool area was a joke for a property this size, in addition to being poorly maintained. The pool deck was stained and had a couple of patched areas that did not match the rest of the deck. Every morning they would arrange the chairs around the pool and then attempt to clean around them. It was a comedy watching them half-heartedly sweep under the dozens of lounge chairs. It is impossible to properly clean the pool deck with all the chairs in place. Don't look for tables or umbrellas around the pool. The pool is so small they don't have room for them, so you sit your drinks on the pool deck next to your chair. When the pool area gets too crowded, which happens early in the day when the sun is shining, people put chairs on the lawn area adjacent to the beach. Thanks to some white vinyl fencing they erected along the beach, you can't really lay in your chair and watch the surf. Rain water flows off the roof and falls right into the lawn area where the overflow chairs are.

They have a seedy little building next to the pool that is supposed to be some kind of refreshment bar, but it is absolutely third world stuff.

They do have several barbeque grills available, which we used several times for preparing meals. Unfortunately you may have to wait an hour or more for one of them to become available.

The parking spots in the front of the building are so narrow, you almost always have to either climb over the seat to get in your car, or first back out so that your passengers can get into your vehicle. I can only imagine how many door-damaged vehicles this situation produces.

All things considered, we would not stay at this property again, nor recommend it to anyone. Perhaps if they constructed a larger pool area and put some money into the building, we would reconsider. Maybe.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed Jan. 26 - Feb. 2. Booked through Costco, price was great and included a car. Stayed in room 308, very dingy and outdated, but a million dollar view. Only one burner worked on the stove, old linoleum in kitchen and bath looked dirty. They also charge for Wi-Fi per computer, such a rip off. I inquired about changing rooms, but the person at the front desk was less than helpful. I've stayed here 4 times in the last 25 years and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our February stay at the Royal Kahana was at the height of the whale season. They were performing all day especially in the late afternoon. They must have known it was Happy Hour! We saw more action from our balcony in one afternoon than on the two whale watch cruises we took. Our home away from home for two weeks was in a corner condo on the 12th floor, which along with the whales, afforded tremendous views of the islands of Lanai and Molokai and north to Kapalua. The condo was close to several restaurants including the Maui Brewing Company and a local place called Dollies. The main highway, route 30, is about 1 1/2 blocks away so there is virtually no road noise. The complex is located close to Kapalua, Kaanapali, and Lahaina. Our condo had a flat screen TV in the main living area and in each bedroom; it was well kept, but needed a "fresh" coat of paint. We did have some rain each day, but it was February! A short drive down the coast to Kaanapali and Lahaina sloved the problem as it is sunny there virtually all the time.The Royal Kahana is a "keeper"!

Room Tip: For better views, book an ocean front room on the 5th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui’s high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won’t find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners – although that’s only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Instead, step into casual comfort at Outrigger Royal Kahana, a pleasant Maui condo that takes full advantage of its discreet Kahana setting. Welcome the sun on a morning stroll chasing waves along the sand. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.