We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kahana

Save Saved
You added Royal Kahana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kahana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Lone Butte, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and great vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just got back from 3 weeks in Maui where we stayed at the Royal Kahana for the second year. We had a one bedroom oceanview condo on the 11th floor with a great view of Molokai. The condo was more than adequate and very roomy, the carpet could have been cleaned before we got there but apart from this we have no complaints. We couldn't use our stove the first day due to wrong burner saucers but this was fixed as soon as we mentioned to the front desk. All staff members were very friendly and always ready to help with a smile. A special thank you to Vandetta (administration) who helped us with the Wi-Fi as the signal was very poor. The pool area can get crowded but there is always room on the lawn. This year was a little (well maybe a lot) more windy than last year but the whales and turtles that we could see from our lanai were everyday a bonus and made up for the breeze...
We do agree with other "tenants" that, yes, the building is getting old and that some updates should be considered. Having said that we are looking forward to our next stay next February for 4 weeks
We would also mention Chip and Rebeca, the concierges. We met Rebeca last year and were glad to see that she was there this year also. Chip and Rebeca arranged some great days of discovery on Maui and also in Pearl Harbor. They are a source of information and good ideas, we are already planning our adventures for next year.
Marie-Jo C

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    260
    95
    45
    23
See reviews for
138
283
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent nine days at this location and were, for the most part, satisfied with the quality of our accommodations. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same thing about the facilities.
We leased a corner unit on the nineth floor, so our lanai view of the coastline was spectacular. The only down side to the view was the burned out building adjacent to the property. The building that housed the fitness center, kitchen, and offices for the adjacent Valley Isle Resort burned back in September and Chas'n Rainbows failed to tell us. The burned out hulk was still there in all it's glory during our stay in late February. We have no idea why they did not quickly demolish and remove the burned building. It is a total eyesore from the third floor and above.

Our unit was spacious, but the carpet was worn and needed cleaned. There were stains in front of the door out to the lanai. Also, the air conditioning would not work and one of the sinks in the master bathroom was not functional. Chas'n Rainbows was very responsive, fixing the AC and sink issues within hours of our arrival. The furnishings were not nearly as nice as they appeared in the photo, which came as no real surprise to us. We've rented numerous VRBO units over the years and you have to take the photos with a grain of salt.

The pool area was a joke for a property this size, in addition to being poorly maintained. The pool deck was stained and had a couple of patched areas that did not match the rest of the deck. Every morning they would arrange the chairs around the pool and then attempt to clean around them. It was a comedy watching them half-heartedly sweep under the dozens of lounge chairs. It is impossible to properly clean the pool deck with all the chairs in place. Don't look for tables or umbrellas around the pool. The pool is so small they don't have room for them, so you sit your drinks on the pool deck next to your chair. When the pool area gets too crowded, which happens early in the day when the sun is shining, people put chairs on the lawn area adjacent to the beach. Thanks to some white vinyl fencing they erected along the beach, you can't really lay in your chair and watch the surf. Rain water flows off the roof and falls right into the lawn area where the overflow chairs are.

They have a seedy little building next to the pool that is supposed to be some kind of refreshment bar, but it is absolutely third world stuff.

They do have several barbeque grills available, which we used several times for preparing meals. Unfortunately you may have to wait an hour or more for one of them to become available.

The parking spots in the front of the building are so narrow, you almost always have to either climb over the seat to get in your car, or first back out so that your passengers can get into your vehicle. I can only imagine how many door-damaged vehicles this situation produces.

All things considered, we would not stay at this property again, nor recommend it to anyone. Perhaps if they constructed a larger pool area and put some money into the building, we would reconsider. Maybe.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed Jan. 26 - Feb. 2. Booked through Costco, price was great and included a car. Stayed in room 308, very dingy and outdated, but a million dollar view. Only one burner worked on the stove, old linoleum in kitchen and bath looked dirty. They also charge for Wi-Fi per computer, such a rip off. I inquired about changing rooms, but the person at the front desk was less than helpful. I've stayed here 4 times in the last 25 years and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our February stay at the Royal Kahana was at the height of the whale season. They were performing all day especially in the late afternoon. They must have known it was Happy Hour! We saw more action from our balcony in one afternoon than on the two whale watch cruises we took. Our home away from home for two weeks was in a corner condo on the 12th floor, which along with the whales, afforded tremendous views of the islands of Lanai and Molokai and north to Kapalua. The condo was close to several restaurants including the Maui Brewing Company and a local place called Dollies. The main highway, route 30, is about 1 1/2 blocks away so there is virtually no road noise. The complex is located close to Kapalua, Kaanapali, and Lahaina. Our condo had a flat screen TV in the main living area and in each bedroom; it was well kept, but needed a "fresh" coat of paint. We did have some rain each day, but it was February! A short drive down the coast to Kaanapali and Lahaina sloved the problem as it is sunny there virtually all the time.The Royal Kahana is a "keeper"!

Room Tip: For better views, book an ocean front room on the 5th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get 1211...the top floor, corner condo with a 45 ft wrap around lanai overlooking the beach and ocean. Every morning & late afternoon I would sit and watch the whales do their thing right before my eyes...SOOooo amazing! There are sea turtles right below at the beach edge - 2 seem to be in residence and 6-8 more stop by daily for a little fun in the surf. There is also an occasional monk seal that beaches itself to get a little sun.

Our condo unit was a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath with a full kitchen, dining room, work area and living room. It was very spacious and comfortable. We also had a washer and dryer in the closet, making it a great place to stay for a few weeks.

The property is very well maintained with lots of parking, a pool, cabana, shuffleboard and newly refurbished tennis courts. There are 4 gas BBQs outside the cabana, making grilling for dinner easy and interesting. The community BBQs are always an interesting place to meet the other guests and learn tips about where to buy fresh fish, the best meat, etc.

There is a small shopping center a block up the road, making it easy to walk for coffee, food, stores. We ate at the Brewery and the Cuban sandwich was delicious. There is a sidewalk that runs along the beach, making it easy to take a morning walk or run while feeling safe (off the road).

This part of the island is a bit wetter so we did get a little rain each day but it's Hawaii...the rain comes and goes and freshens everything up. The sun will be back out in a few minutes and then you will have a glorious rainbow. In the week I was there I saw countless rainbows, including 3 full end-to-end rainbows and 3 double rainbows. Paradise!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo (613) with a beautiful view of the ocean. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We walked the beach below every morning, and enjoyed seeing whales in the distance as we ate breakfast on the terrace. All the comforts of home, and close to Lahaina, and Kapalani Beach. Loved hearing the constant lapping of the waves below. Friendly desk service. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Royal Kahana room 1009 for 9 nights beginning January 31. The first couple of days were so windy and rainy we were wishing we were back in Kihei, our first stay in Maui two years earlier. However, the remaining days were much better. There is always a breeze in Kahana, and this is ok. I imaging during the summer months this is welcome. We had unobstructed views of the ocean, Moloka'i, and the rocky area below us where turtles hung out a lot. We could see signs of whales if not the actual whales nearly every time we looked out the lanai. One time, a couple hundred yards out, we saw a whale (or whales) breach eight times in a row! Wow! The room was large and roomy making it feel more like a home than a condo rental. Everything we expected was there. We could not get the dishwasher to work, but only needed it once, so not a big deal. Bed was comfortable as was the living room furniture. Washer and dryer is a must whenever we travel to the islands so this was good.

We did have an issue with the door lock and it had to be replaced. They were very quick to respond on our first full day there but had some issues. My wife ended up locked inside while I was locked outside with the maintenance crew. They had to take out the sliders in one window to break in and get the door open. This took over an hour. In the meantime I hung out downstairs. My wife called the front desk to let them know the door was open but they never informed me. The brackets on the window were damaged in the process and it was too late to fix it that day, so they taped cardboard over the window. They came early (9am) the next day and had everything fixed in less than an hour. I door worked fine the rest of the days. This was a rest afternoon for us anyway, so no harm done, but if we had had plans, it might have ruined things. Overall, it was not a big deal and we did appreciate having the door fixed.

We were concerned about the location as it is an hour from the airport (and therefore an hour to get started on the road to Hana), nearly an hour to Kihei, and other places we were familiar with. However, by the end as we were more comfortable with the area, we liked it a lot. Being just 15 minutes from Lahaina is great. You have everything the big resort area of Kaanapali without the crowds. The big grocery store is just 5 minutes away, and their is a small store across the street. Plenty of restaurants around as well. We did explore Napili much, but definitely will next time.

I would definitely recommend a higher floor, and numbers that end in 09 to 12 are the ocean front and best view rooms. 09 is more on the north side and did not get any sun, so we missed the actual sunsets and warmth. The lanai and room were usually pretty cool. I might try for a 12 room next time, but it might depend on the summer/winter time frame. I can imagine a better sunset in the summer from 10 without the heat a 12 might have, but the warmth and sunset might be better in a 12 in the winter months. The only noise (other than the wind the first two nights) was the sound of the beach. We ran into the couple in the room directly below us on a boat trip and they said they never heard a sound from us. We never heard anything from our neighbors as well.

Only real complaint - the parking spots are very narrow. We had a Chrysler 200 so not a large car, and often had to try twice to fit in. Often had two spaces taken by one inconsiderate person. One late night (got back about 10:30 after the Slack Key Show in Napili) and could find only one parking spot we could fit into. (I might also agree with many reviewers about the reception people being unfriendly, but we only interacted with them three times in nine days, so not a big deal. But they could be more friendly.)

At the beginning I thought I would never stay here again, but now that we are home, we think we definitely will. We like the room of a 1 bedroom and the overall location. Highly recommend. We booked through Costco (room and car) and it worked out well.

Room Tip: See review - rooms 9 through 12 and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui’s high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won’t find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners – although that’s only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Instead, step into casual comfort at Outrigger Royal Kahana, a pleasant Maui condo that takes full advantage of its discreet Kahana setting. Welcome the sun on a morning stroll chasing waves along the sand. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.