We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kahana

Save Saved
You added Royal Kahana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kahana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
stansbury park, utah
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Better than a Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked thru Costco and got our car rental in the package for the same price of booking separately. Everything we booked thru the concierge Rebekkah was great. Spend the hour at the indoctrination, it was well worth it and free breakfast. Room was slightly dated, but who wants to be in the room? There are always plenty of pool & beach chairs. Parking was easy even though the place was 100% full. All the necessary amenities were there in the studio to cook if you wish to save $. The beach though public was very nice and virtually empty. We saw plenty of turtles offshore every morning playing in the water. Pizza across the street at Dollies was good. Also there is a McDonalds and convenience store across the street. A half mile away is a 24 hour grocery store. Dukes restaurant a couple of miles away provides superb dining. A must-see magic show at Warren and Anabelle's was great! Yes I know, why see a magic show in Hawaii? We scratched our heads and laughed our butts off!

Room Tip: Studio oceanview was more than adequate. If you need the space, there are 2-bedroom corner rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    260
    95
    45
    23
See reviews for
138
283
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Royal Kahana. We enjoyed the most beautiful view! You would have to ask for an oceanfront room, and pay a little extra but it was well worth it. Our condo was dated but very clean. The location was great, it is right on the beach and is easy to get to, and is close to a convenience store and a McDonalds. Also our closet was stocked with stuff you need for the beach: chairs, noodles, and snorkel equipment (I'm not sure this is standard). It is NOT a hotel, it is a condo, so do not expect hotel accommodations. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just spent a week here and I have mixed emotions on the place. Let me start out by saying it’s a ‎reasonably priced, decently located condo-hotel for the moderate budget traveler in mind. I would ‎not categorize this as resort but definitely condo living. Here are my list of Pluses and Things to ‎Consider:‎

Pluses
‎*Location, midway between Kaanapali and Kapalua. If you have car you can get anywhere fast from ‎here for all the attractions on the west side of Maui
‎*Large, spacious units ‎
‎*Small, quiet and pretty beach right out your door and decent for swimming
‎*Helpful staff
‎*Good option for families, groups or couples
‎*Pool is ok, mid sized, clean, not crowded‎
‎*Budget minded, very reasonably priced for a beach-front location in Maui ‎
‎*Free parking, small spaces but never had an issue parking. Underground option also available free

Things to Consider
‎*Older building, as many reviewers state the condos are all over the board in terms of decorating. ‎Ours was very 70/80’s beachy but for the most part it was clean and spacious (some mold growing on ‎backs of curtains and in bathrooms , could use a refresh on those things). Many of the units fridges did ‎not have icemakers but had trays and ice in the basement is an option as well. Our party rented 4 ‎different condos and they were vastly different and none what I would call spectacular but okay ‎especially considering the price point and large size of the units. ‎
‎*Ocean view can mean a lot of things. We did a 2 bedroom Ocean view and it was located way at the ‎end of the building with a view that was peek-a-boo from the lanai mostly. Some units look over a ‎combo of the beach and burned down gym next door. Not sure it was worth the price differential. If ‎really want ocean sounds and views, go for ocean front. ‎
‎*Traffic and construction noise on certain sides of building. Again, ocean front is probably your best ‎room option to avoid this.‎
‎*Charge for wi-fi and or to use public computers/printers in lobby
‎*Basement workout room had ok equip (newer) but it’s not open 24 hours which I found odd since it’s ‎not manned with anyone and you need to get a separate card at the front desk to use vs. a room key. ‎
‎*Pool towels only available in basement from 8am – 4pm and half the time no one was there and door ‎was locked for us to get them even in open hours. ‎
‎*Only a limited café for restaurants onsite and near-by options appear to be mostly casual or fast-‎food. Head into Lahaina or the other resorts if you want a fine dining experience. ‎

Must Do’s
‎*Snorkeling trip to Molekini. Highly recommend Four Winds 11 for service and experience. We did just ‎the afternoon option and were happy we did. Lot less people out there and less expensive. ‎
‎*If you are into cycling or running, head over to Kapalua for some good hills with great views. ‎

Room Tip: If your budget can handle it, go for ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was our first visit to Hawaii and we had originally seen a condo on VRBO at Royal Kahana but wanted the flexibility of changing our mind at the last minute vs VRBO prepaying along with the extra fees of cleaning and such. It was also less expensive on a daily rental basis to book directly with Outrigger. We stayed in room 1211 a 2 bedroom, 2-1/2 bath condo (oceanfront) which was fully renovated with granite Countertops and stainless steel appliances and every type of pot or pan you could possibly could need. There was a small convenience store a 5 minute walk away and then a grocery store a 15min drive away which made it very easy to cook at the condo and sit and eat on the fantastic lanai. We also took advantage of the shared BBQ's by the pool a couple of nights after being out all day... Quite convenient and well maintained facilities.
The only draw back was that the beach was not too long for early morning walks on the beach but still great for swimming.
Would totally go back to this condo at the drop of a dime. Also note they offer a CAA/AAA discount too.
Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit and a high floor, great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our unit in Maui. Since Maui is usually relatively more expensive than other islands, we expected to find something middle of the road. Such was not the case and we were greeted to updated furniture, comfortable beds and an amazing few from our lanai. Several amenities were close by as well which helped us enjoy our vacation all that much more. I would strongly recommend this location as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked this online the day before , got a great rate for a garden view room.
Checked in and they gave us a room on the 11 th floor and partial ocean view.. I guess this was an upgrade although they didn't say it was. Anyway we were pleasantly surprised at the room and the view.
Well appointed room and it had a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator. Which , I had no idea that was in the room.
On day 2 , we had to call and ask about our room cleaning..as no one had appeared to clean..
I was told that they don't have a maid service , but we could request it 24 hours ahead of time. I must have missed reading that bit in the fine print..I thought an outrigger would have been a hotel.
Anyway it wasn't a problem as I asked for clean towels and they were brought up to us within minutes.
Parking was great, no problems getting a spot each time we returned.
The beach out the front was small.. And water a bit murky. Ok for a quick cool off but if you want a day on the beach it will pay you to drive to another area.
The pool looked ok although we didn't use it.
The staff at reception were good, and housekeeping as well...they stored our fridge items until we got into the unit.
So, all in all...very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here in Jul2012 and did not have a great stay. Stayed again in Oct2012 and this go round I was prepared to ask for a better unit and called several times to ensure a quality unit. It was all for nothing. Arrived at noon to the resort and room was not ready, no problem just stayed by the pool. At 3pm sharp I went to check in and to my horror was given unit 520 which I had complained about before! Went right back to front desk and insisted that I was to be given a better room one with one king and one queen bed. I was moved to unit 820, how or why this was perceived as a better unit I don't know. The entire room from furniture to appliances to the cassette radio player was very dated and worn. Holes in furniture, 2 star quality linens, dirty tile in bathrooms, just downright gross. I booked the unit through Outrigger and expected a quality unit, and this was not. Called and complained but girl working front desk did not care and said nothing else was available. The unit is only cleaned at checkout and quickly cleaned at that so it's not cleaned properly. Maid service was non existent each day I had to call two or three times to get fresh towels. We must of had 100+ towels by the end of our stay as they never took the used and dirty ones. The view was slightly better from this unit however the valley isle next door obviously had a massive fire and burnt down one building, so we got to view that throughout our stay. Worse thing is doesn't appear that they have even started to clean up. Pool was ok, but was not cleaned during the day so by noon it was full of leaves and debris from the trade winds. In addition the pool was grossly hot 85+ most days so it was not refreshing at all. We stayed at a time when there was a homeowners meeting, my advice to these owners would be fire Outrigger, whatever standards they claim to exhibit over the units is that of a 1 or 2 star motel. While the rates are cheaper than Kampala or Lahaina you do compromise quality significantly. We learned our lesson second time around and will not stay here or another outrigger property ever again. It's too unreliable. See photos of unit 820 attached to understand my dissatisfaction.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else or at least avoid units 520 and 820.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui’s high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won’t find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners – although that’s only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Instead, step into casual comfort at Outrigger Royal Kahana, a pleasant Maui condo that takes full advantage of its discreet Kahana setting. Welcome the sun on a morning stroll chasing waves along the sand. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.