We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kahana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kahana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4221 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank You, we had a wonderful stay, rooms were perfect, views were amazing, quick in and out, no big lobby to go thru, we have always stayed in Kaanapali, but now Kahana Beach is our new vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your stay at Kahana Beach. We are happy to be your new vacation spot. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    89
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
119
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is at a lovely little beach that doesn't get a lot of people visiting. Not the best of you are looking for waves, but good for a gentle soak in the ocean. I think we saw a turtle every day we snorkeled there. Amazing sunset views from the ocean front rooms.

The building is dated and we were told that they are starting to freshen it up. We had some issues with cleanliness upon arrival, but called the front desk and they addressed it promptly. We stayed in a one room with a Murphy bed; my back hurt the whole week.

I found this area to be very void of restaurants and stores, so you end up driving for all groceries or meals. 20 minute drive to Lahaina proper.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are happy you were so pleased with the location of Kahana Beach Resort. Your description of the beach, amazing sunsets and sea turtles sounds truly breathtaking. However, we regret to learn where you experience fell short. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality accommodations and will certainly investigate your particular concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The studio had a murphy bed that was hard as a rock. The bathroom was small and dated. The kitchen was so small we never used it. The pool was tiny. The location is nice. The beach there is nice. We had an oceanfront room which was nice. The sliding door, however, would not close well and the winds at night whistled through the door so loud they kept us up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We regret to learn your experience at Kahana Beach Resort was less than satisfying. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional accommodations and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinsville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived at Kahana Beach Resort with much anticipation. We have heard about the murphy bed and we were aprehensive to say the least. The bed was adequate, this is not a 5 star Hotel. The room is quite adequate, the view is to die for the bed needs improvement. For the two of us we had ample space and were quite pleased with the Lanai and we watched the sun come up behind us every day. We never got to see a sunset because we were always gone. There is a McDonald's about 1 mile past the hotel and plenty of places to eat. The stove, microwave and refridgerator worked very well and the linen service from the Hotel was very good. We throughly enjoyed our stay on Maui, you can't go wrong and would come back to this hotel as it is very reasonable. I exchanged with RCI so it was a good deal.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and this was assigned to us we could not choose. We were quite happy on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this honest review of your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We love knowing our guests are enjoying breathtaking views. We are happy our condo style accommodations were spacious and convenient. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is my second stay at Kahana Beach and this review reflects two very good experiences. KB is a small property with only around 80 rooms. Every one has an ocean view, and it's a great one. The resort is right on Kahana beach, which is pretty but narrow. KB has the basic amenities- pool, jacuzzi (which hasn't worked since 2006, as best I can tell), barbecues, pool, chairs, etc. All of which are small but well kept. Always was able to get a chaise when looking for one. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. If you're looking for a great home base, convenient to Kaanapali, Kapalua and outside of the rush, this is it. If you need to be in a megaresort, or in the middle of the nightlife, probably not your best choice.
The rooms are mostly studios, which are hotel rooms on steroids. The 1BRs are few but enormous. You could sleep 20 people in here (but don't). Kitchens in both are well appointed, and beds are perfectly comfortable. Decor is timeshare-tiki, but you're not here for the furniture, right?
Overall, highly recommended for families and those seeking a laid back experience.

Room Tip: They're all good, but the 03+ room numbers have the most direct views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had an amazing ocean view from our studio room. The concierge staff were great! The murphy bed was ok, about what I expected from a murphy bed. Loved being right on the beach and the view was so spectacular! Even saw sea turtles every day! The hot tub didn't work but only tried to use it once. The property was very clean and updated.

Room Tip: I would choose a room away from the pool on an upper level. Our room was on the second floor right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are thrilled you were impressed with the ocean view from your room at Kahana Beach Resort. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and location. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I read all the reviews and viewed the pictures of this "resort". My wife and I stayed 13 nights in room 305, ocean front, studio. We LOVED every minute, every day. This is not the traditional resort with flowery grounds and fiery lanterns, it is a simple place with minimal frills. Pool, BBQs hot tub, yes. Everything else is very close by. We had a studio room with a kitchenette which we used a lot and loved. Though the Murphy bed was not great it was more than adequate. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The staff was friendly and helpful. They did not force any timeshare presentation, was brought up but not pushed. I have stayed in much more lavish resorts and not enjoyed it as much as this. I wish I could convey how much we enjoyed our visit.
We watched daily as a large turtle ( at least 3 feet across) traveled across our ocean view, the funny thing was it would pass within 10 feet of people in the water and they would not even notice! My wife and I woul be yelling "TURTLE" from our balcony but they couldn't hear us. The first 3 nights we left the balcony door open, but after that we had to close it because the WAVES WERE TO LOUD! That is how close these wonderful rooms are to the water.
Thank you Kahana Beach Resort for an awesome vacation. Usually after 13 nights we would be more than ready to come home, even at the best resorts, but Kahana Beach became our home and we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Request ocean view prior to check in, it is only a request but if you are lucky enough to get it you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are delighted that you loved every minute of your 13 night stay at Kahana Beach! We are glad our condo style accommodations were convenient and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Watching turtles travel across the ocean view right from your room sounds like a breathtaking experience. We greatly appreciate your compliments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Highway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.