We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay... Pleasantly surprised with room upgrade!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paki Maui Resort

Save Saved
You added Paki Maui Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paki Maui Resort
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay... Pleasantly surprised with room upgrade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Just returned from a 4 night stay and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised... when checking in, with my daughter and good friend, we were told they upgraded our room to a oceanfront 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. We originally booked a 1 bd, 1 bath oceanfront. This made it so much better!! Thank you to the staff!!! Everyone we came in contact with there was very helpful and pleasant. The grounds are very nice for a small resort, well maintained. Our room, #305, was perfect except for a few ants here and there. Nice decor and the view was fantastic! Great location... just minutes to Lahaina and Kapalua.
I would, and will, return and stay there again! I don't like the crowded resorts, too many people. My recommendation, pay the extra to have a oceanfront room!!! Its worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    109
    44
    29
    42
See reviews for
109
113
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the Paki Maui from May 14th thru 21st. Everything was great and the room was very nicely decorated. The management team at Isle Valley Management was great and so was everyone at Paki Maui. Great location, was never warm at night, fans keep you nice and cool. The location is very good and close to lots of things, Okizawaga grill across the street has great takeout. Hit Maui Brewing Co. for happy hour or the R/B steakhouse next door to Maui Brewing for Happy hour, half price sushi 5-6:30. R/B steakhouse also has happy hour 3-6, $3 mai tais, $3 micro beers, $2.50 domestic. Hit Honuloa Bay early for great snorkeling 3 miles north, lots of great beaches within 3 miles each way. Snorkeling is also good right in front of resort, not good coral, but turtles, octipi, eels etc. Great sunsets and views of Molokai. Times supermarket 2 blocks away has great local seafood at very reasonable prices. Everybody in Maui was very nice, hit Tasty Crust for breakfast in Kahulua for breakfast if you get the chance, great pancakes and loco moco. Homoa bay by Hana for great boogie boarding, and spend a day hiiting waterfalls on road to and after Hana. Thanks Paki Maui for a great time, miss ya.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We just got back from Maui and had a wonderful time. We found this condo on both Hawaii's Craig's List and VRBO. It is just a few minutes north of the hustle and bustle of Lahaina, but is close enough in to still have many amenities, including a farmer's market, health food store, Bad A** Coffee co.,(can you believe they edited that and wouldn't let me submit it, ha!), snorkle shop (Boss Frog's, which has a basic snorkel package for $9.00/week), a fish market and a major supermarket. It is right on the water, and there is a nice lawn leading to the beach with chaise lounges and tables near the low seawall. There is a very nice cabana area with a pool and hot tub and two Jennair gas BBQs. There are big tables there, in case you want to eat outside. Depending on the tides, there is a small beach directly behind Paki Maui. Just next door is Honokowai Park, which has a nice little beach of its own. There are coin operated laundry facilities on the premises. Each condo is privately owned. This means there is a lot of variability between the condos. We loved the one we stayed in, #217. It has a garden view, which means that there's a balcony that overlooks a courtyard that has a water feature with several waterfalls and lush tropical plants growing around it. There's about a dozen huge Koi in the lower pond area. One morning when we were there, the birds were so loud in the courtyard, we thought we were in the middle of a rainforest. You can also sit at the table on the balcony and watch geckos climb up the palm trees, if you are into that sort of thing. I know we are! We are not into the mainstream resort thing, and this suited us just fine.
There are people who live in these condos year-round. So we did come into contact with a couple of residents who seem tired of all the comings and goings of tourists all the time. But once they realized that we were respectful, they simmered down.
There is an $8.00 per night charge for parking in the lot, over and above the rent. But it is still a great value, we believe. You need to go to the office and pay for a permit.
altogether, we loved it there and would definitely rent this condo again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

no AC!!!! & we went to check out they said we owed them $32 for parking fees...8 bucks a day....which we werent told..we were given a parking pass but no one told us we had to pay...when i found this out i complained and the lady was like ohh opps no one told you....soo i called the next day talked to a supervisor and she said oh well that the owners association does this and even though i looked online and it said $ that i shuld have known that it would cost even though it doesnt tell you how much...they said there was a sign that said there was a charge...but i never saw it...they dont tell you they just give you a parking pass and you have to pay!! i would stay at other hotels.!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Aloha and mahalo for providing us feedback on your stay. We're sorry that you felt the parking fee was not communicated to you properly. Our Aston Paki Maui web-site does show the $8 parking charge that is assesed by the Association. We also have a sign on the front desk advising of the charge and have it listed in our welcome letter that the Aston guests receive at check-in. While there is an $8 parking charge, all of our Aston units do include complimentary high speed internet access, safe and local calls included in the room rate.
It is also true that the property does not allow air conditioning however all of our Aston units include ceiling fans in each room and the Honokowai area where we are located always has the cool trade breezes to keep you comfortable.
We do hope you were otherwise able to enjoy all that Paki Maui offers and had a great time on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo again for taking the time to let us know how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This was our first trip to Maui, we were nervous about our reservation at Paki Maui from the reviews we read. When we arrived late Friday night Kat was there to book us in, she let us look at two different condo's and we made the decision to upgrade to ocean view. Our condo was clean, ocean front. it was a bit outdated but clean and we were there to see the views not the inside of our condo. It was awesome to see the turtles and whales from our two balconies each morning. The employees at the condo complex were very helpful and friendly. We felt this was a great place for us, great value for our money and a positive experience. We hope to be able to return to Maui in the future and we would stay here again. We enjoyed the small condo atmosphere we did go down to the bigger resorts, and felt we won't have enjoyed as much as the Paki Maui. I do not have anything negative to say about the condo, we totally enjoyed our trip, and the nightly costs of this condo let us enjoy more things while we were away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We chose Paki Maui for one reason: because it was the cheapest price we could find for a condo in Maui. We read the reviews which were a mixed bag that seemed to boil down to some individual condos are better than others because they have different owners. So, because we were assured by someone who implied he had the authority to promise us that when we arrived we would be allowed to look at 2 or 3 condos and choose the one we wanted, we booked our trip to stay at Paki Maui. However upon arrival, we were assigned one room and told they were fully booked and he acted like such a promise would never have been made. Hmmm... fully booked huh? Interesting because the man in line ahead of us had just walked in with no reservation and got a room right away. I guess he got the last available room? As it turned out, our assigned condo #202 was mostly fine anyway. So why do I bring this up at all? I felt that we were not treated honestly and just to warn others that don't believe anything you may be promised ahead of booking. Now about # 202 - this was a clean and well kept room, good furniture, decor and appliances and was mostly fine for our 10 night stay. Everything was minimal (2 towels) but when we asked housekeeping they provided 2 more with no problem. The kitchen is small as you would expect but had most everything necessary with the exception of teaspoons (only 5!) no bowls big enough for cereal, (we bought some) and if you want to fry anything, you have to practically deep fry it because there is no non stick pan. If you fry an egg even in butter, you will lose half the egg to it sticking on the only fry pan. So, owners take note: Go to the thrift store and buy some teaspoons and cereal bowls and go to Walmart and get a good fry pan. If you do this, the kitchen will be perfect. When I was young, I could sleep on anything but for me the mattress was too soft and saggy. So if you are 50+, the mattress MAY be less than what you like. I woke up with a backache several mornings and ended up moving to the couch (as a couch, not opened to a bed). BUT, my husband didn't have a problem with it so you might not either. As has been said, the view is gorgeous and the front lawn area has plenty of lounges, there isn't much of a beach but it is a good place for families because your kids can wade in front but always stay with them because the surf can get rough especially late in the day. You and they MUST wear reef or water shoes as there are many sharp places and rocks. The pool is the perfect temperature and shallow enough to "always touch bottom" if you don't swim well but like to get wet. The hot tub is nice, too. About noise: Yes, condo life is noisy and there were many rude guests who party at all hours even though Paki Maui policy is quiet hours 10PM-8AM. That is fine but there seems to be no enforcement of these rules. We had an ocean front condo so I can't imagine how bad it must be in other buildings if you include street noise. I truly could hear every word spoken at 4 AM in room 202A next door. This was frustrating because the other partiers had only quieted down around 2AM. Take some earplugs with you and you might not have any problem. The coin op laundry facilities are very reasonable and large capacity and laundry soap is a dollar at the front desk which beats having to purchase a huge box at the grocery store to do one load! We didn't find having no air conditioning a problem at all with the ocean so close. Hawaii air is better air than we have ever breathed anywhere else! About parking - charging $8 a day for parking is just another way of jacking up your price. When booking this hotel, don't forget to factor in that extra. For us, it was $80 more. NOT a good way to do business and NOT a way to make your "guests" feel all warm and fuzzy about you. It doesn't matter if "others charge more for parking and you tell us in advance". Parking should be included in the price of staying there. Housekeeping would ask each day IF you needed anything and they provided whatever services you requested. I didn't feel totally comfortable having to ask. BUT they did a good job and we didn't pay for a 4 star hotel, right? Would I stay here again? Maybe. Would I recommend it to a friend? Maybe, but it depends on what you want, what you expect and what you are willing to pay for. You can't pay the lowest price and expect the best. Simple as that. For us, it was a good value. We went to Maui for the island, not for the hotel. Paki Maui was a decent place to stay and that was all we needed it to be.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We rented a privately owned unit in this hotel (room #110) through VRBO so I can't speak for the rooms that are run through the hotel (although when we did deal with the hotel concierge they were excellent). We were looking for a good value and we certainly found it. It would be hard to beat the price for a condo with a separate bedroom and kitchenette that is ocean view in this area. The property itself is a little older but well-maintained with a beautiful tropical garden in the middle and the condo itself is immaculate. The owners have lovingly cared for and updated this condo. And because it isn't located in a huge hotel, it isn't as busy as the properties in the Kaanapali area. Its only minutes away but more of a quiet retreat than Kaanapali is. You don't have to fight for a lawn chair. We felt like it was perfectly located. You could drive south to Kaanapali or Lahaina or a few minutes north or our favorite beach, Kapalua. The small pool was perfect for kids, not too deep and the hot tub was nice and hot. You can sit in a lawn chair and see whales spouting and when the tide is in, turtles swim within feet of the edge of the property. We also loved how easy the process was to rent this condo--a completely hassle-free vacation. Two thumbs way up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
Mid-range, Beac...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#24 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
19.6 mi away
Aston Maui Lu Resort
Budget, Free in...
Show More
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
5.5 mi away
Outrigger Aina Nalu
Outrigger Aina Nalu
#21 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Beach, Pool, Qu...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#22 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paki Maui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paki Maui Resort

Address: 3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paki Maui Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best oceanfront value on the Kaanapali Coast. Spacious suites, breathtaking views and an ideal location between the exclusive Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas. Located next to the beach with guest suites encircling the interior garden atrium's soothing waterfall, this resort is a perfect place to relax and make new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paki Maui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Paki Maui Hotel Lahaina
Paki Maui Resort Lahaina
Resortquest Paki Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paki Maui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.