We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place I'd stay at again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paki Maui Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paki Maui Resort to your Saves list
Paki Maui Resort
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a place I'd stay at again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything is filthy and pretty much needs to be replaced when it comes to cushions. No carpet in the bottom garden view. Locks don't look that great. Pictures on website are deceiving because of the giant mirror in the living room. We wore sandals to walk around inside. Difficult to sleep with 2 people in their queen bed because its in pretty old or bad condition and 1 person will roll into the other constantly. Don't rely on the sleeper soda for actual sleep. It's pretty much like lying on a bed of bars. Nice location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    132
    56
    39
    55
See reviews for
135
147
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and here decided to stay here for our 10 yr anniversary. As we arrived on July 5, the front desk(Angela & Flo) were extremely helpful. They gave us 3 different keys to evaluate 3 different units. I don't think this is normal practice since an Aston manager from a different location here in Maui upgraded us to this location as a wonderful anniversary gift along with accommodating my wife's recent surgery! Great hospitality ASTON!!!

Anyways, as you walk into room 215, there is beautifully laid tile with additional tile accents along with faux paint on about half of the walls. Full kitchen is convenient with a nice garden view of a fountain that creates a nice, tranquil feel to it. The 1 bedroom is on opposite sides of the living room which minimized noise if you had more to your party and needed some more privacy. Also, this unit(215) has a an additional flat panel tv in the bedroom. The other 2 units we looked at did not have this additional amenity. It's obvious the owner of this unit upgraded it to there likings as well when they choose to stay here.

Please keep in my mind my excellent review of this unit is based on the price we paid along with the amenities that came with it; so I am attempting to compare "apples with apples" for others who are looking to stay here. I've stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Pasadena, CA a few times and obviously wouldn't compare amenities between to the two, that would be both foolish and misleading since I noticed a few reviewers are not putting their feedback in a prospective, objective manner.

I hope this helps future travelers and thank you to Aston Corporate(GM's as well as RM's) and Aston Paki Maui in enhancing our 10 yr anniversary vacation!!!

Room Tip: Don't forget, there is no AC but the breeze is nice since we will hardly be here during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First off, if you want a resort and all the things that go along with it you'd probably don't want to stay at the Paki Maui. If you're looking for a quite spot with easy access to the staff, beach, groceries, etc than the Paki Maui might be a good choice for you. We had a group of 5 and the ocean front 2 bedroom condo was awesome. You're literally right next to the ocean and when you open the screen doors to the outside from the living room and bedroom it's an unreal feeling to hear the waves permeate the room. It's an older property so sure there's an older feel to the rooms, but it's still quite nice. Yes, there's no AC but we didn't come to Maui to sit in our rooms all day and it does get a little warm in the late afternoon, but quickly cools down near sunset. I really like the fact that it felt hidden away and there wasn't always a ton of people around. The staff was awesome including Marc the concierge we met when we checked in. He gave us lots of great insight about what to do and recommendations on great local favorites eating spots. By the end of our stay they felt like family, we'd drop in as we were coming and going to chit-chat about the days activities.

For the reviewer who was scared of the neighborhood, are you serious? The neighborhood is perfectly safe unless being in a location next to locals scare you.

Room Tip: We stayed in 104 and loved it, but select a full ocean view room when you book. Prices vary accordin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

two nights 750. apparently individually owned units ao loud relentless drilling above us echoing to the outdoors and entire building cannot be haulted due to it being out of their control. got up early for haleakala and wanted to nap.bwfore dinner and cannot. no clean towels or beds made by late afternoon. not once did the manager offer price differentiaion for this hell. the ocean swimming area is all rocks in front. cd player is broken. do not waste your precious vacation on this setup.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell I, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha~

I apologize for the noise from the privately owned unit, however, we had no knowledge of the owner's intention to remodel the unit. Aston Hotels & Resorts does not manage the unit being remodeled. We discovered the work occurring in the unit when we heard the noise along with you. Unfortunately, it was just one day of noise during your two-day visit. Repeated requests to lower the noise level were ignored until late in the afternoon. While the noise situation was beyond our control and obligation to adjust your room rate, we did make an adjustment to your billing prior to your departure. Regarding the housekeeping service, our staff services the units throughout the day. We did not know you were at Haleakala for the sunrise and apologize if the timing between our housekeeping service and your return from Haleakala did not mesh. Thank you for visiting Maui and have a great summer.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Being beside the Ocean was what we wanted on our second trip to Maui, sitting on the loungers and watching the whales playing in front of us, wandering the beach only a few feet from where we were sitting,seeing the turtles swimming up to the rocks. Enjoying a swim in the ocean without having to travel to other beaches.What more could you ask for? We read the reviews and we were quite happy with our room, a few extras in the kitchen would have been nice but overall we were satisfied. We had come to relax and enjoy Maui! Friendly People, the market so close, and a great take out across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

It's great not far from things.. Also depends on what your using the room for.. It does need a little modern touch to it but other than that great service and friendly staff...reserve a view it will e well worth it unlike mine a garden view.. But it was a great deal and it was just a place to sleep for the trip or a base camp.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is ok. It has a full kitchen and it is comfortable. It is definitely a step down from its sister hotel, Aston Kaanapali Shores, but it is ok and it is cheaper than the Shores. I do think that the next time we go, we will stay at the Aston Shores because the beach is nicer and the room is nicer. There is also a washer/dryer at the Shores. At the Paki Maui, I had to ask for an iron and our room was not cleaned well each day. But overall, it is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Paki Maui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paki Maui Resort

Address: 3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paki Maui Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best oceanfront value on the Kaanapali Coast. Spacious suites, breathtaking views and an ideal location between the exclusive Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas. Located next to the beach with guest suites encircling the interior garden atrium's soothing waterfall, this resort is a perfect place to relax and make new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paki Maui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Paki Maui Hotel Lahaina
Paki Maui Resort Lahaina
Resortquest Paki Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paki Maui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.