We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor customer service ..noisy...unrelenting drilling and no room service for towels by late afternoon.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paki Maui Resort

Save Saved
You added Paki Maui Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paki Maui Resort
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“poor customer service ..noisy...unrelenting drilling and no room service for towels by late afternoon.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

two nights 750. apparently individually owned units ao loud relentless drilling above us echoing to the outdoors and entire building cannot be haulted due to it being out of their control. got up early for haleakala and wanted to nap.bwfore dinner and cannot. no clean towels or beds made by late afternoon. not once did the manager offer price differentiaion for this hell. the ocean swimming area is all rocks in front. cd player is broken. do not waste your precious vacation on this setup.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell I, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha~

I apologize for the noise from the privately owned unit, however, we had no knowledge of the owner's intention to remodel the unit. Aston Hotels & Resorts does not manage the unit being remodeled. We discovered the work occurring in the unit when we heard the noise along with you. Unfortunately, it was just one day of noise during your two-day visit. Repeated requests to lower the noise level were ignored until late in the afternoon. While the noise situation was beyond our control and obligation to adjust your room rate, we did make an adjustment to your billing prior to your departure. Regarding the housekeeping service, our staff services the units throughout the day. We did not know you were at Haleakala for the sunrise and apologize if the timing between our housekeeping service and your return from Haleakala did not mesh. Thank you for visiting Maui and have a great summer.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    115
    45
    32
    45
See reviews for
115
117
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Being beside the Ocean was what we wanted on our second trip to Maui, sitting on the loungers and watching the whales playing in front of us, wandering the beach only a few feet from where we were sitting,seeing the turtles swimming up to the rocks. Enjoying a swim in the ocean without having to travel to other beaches.What more could you ask for? We read the reviews and we were quite happy with our room, a few extras in the kitchen would have been nice but overall we were satisfied. We had come to relax and enjoy Maui! Friendly People, the market so close, and a great take out across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

It's great not far from things.. Also depends on what your using the room for.. It does need a little modern touch to it but other than that great service and friendly staff...reserve a view it will e well worth it unlike mine a garden view.. But it was a great deal and it was just a place to sleep for the trip or a base camp.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is ok. It has a full kitchen and it is comfortable. It is definitely a step down from its sister hotel, Aston Kaanapali Shores, but it is ok and it is cheaper than the Shores. I do think that the next time we go, we will stay at the Aston Shores because the beach is nicer and the room is nicer. There is also a washer/dryer at the Shores. At the Paki Maui, I had to ask for an iron and our room was not cleaned well each day. But overall, it is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After my first stay at Paki Maui all I could do is say good things about the place, location, staff, and just about everything... This time upon checking in we were told that our Studio (302A) was not available for 3 days, (I made the reservations 4 months ago specifically reserving a studio because of wanting the bed next to the ocean side, not the noisy hallway)... having basically no choice, they gave us a one bedroom for three nights and switched us to the studio for the remaining 2 nights. The one bedroom was just ok, ended up dragging the mattress from the bedroom into the living room floor and sleeping there!!! Actually really comfortable... not sure what the staff thought of that, guess they know now I was serious!!! The kitchen was not stocked very well... the knife selection was a joke... barely could cut a pineapple!! Bathroom and kitchen was in big need of updating. Other than the room accommodations, I love the location and would not go to Maui unless I have an ocean front room... nothing like listening to the waves while falling asleep! The sunsets were amazing. This experience might make me think twice about returning unless I can be guaranteed that I will get the type of room I reserved!!!! Despite the room mix up, we had a fabulous time in Maui... my boyfriends first time there! He loved it... we met some great people from Alaska while soaking in the spa! Paki has great prices and has a prime location! Make sure you get the room you want!!! =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell I, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are delighted you had a great experience during your first visit to the Aston Paki Maui and appreciate the loyalty to return. Upon receiving your reservation, we noted you were a repeat guest and took the liberty of upgrading your reservation to the one-bedroom ocean front category at no additional charge. Sometimes the best intentions end up going sideways.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the unit and its amenities and will address your points immediately. You discovered the Aston Paki Maui is a special place and hope to see you on your third visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

no air conditioning,
sweltering hot. dirty bedding, broken toilets..disgusting carpet and broken stereo. No compensation for the cost...I would not recommend this property to anyone. Afraid to go to sleep at night from location.... which sucks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell I, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
While none of the units have air conditioning, the ocean breeze is more than sufficient to cool the room. We also experienced a few weather systems in May which made it seem a little warmer than the usual lower 80s during the day and lower 70s at night.

Aston Hotels & Resorts housekeepers enter the units daily to ensure the comfort of our guests. The housekeepers immediately address all items not working quite right with our maintenance department.

I can assure you the area and the property is very safe. While Front Street in Lahaina or the Kaanapali resort is a short five to ten minutes away, one of the charming qualities of our area is the tranquility. You will not have to vie for space on our beachfront to catch the stunning sunset.

I cannot ascertain from your review if you stayed in an Aston managed unit or not, we do hope you will consider staying at the Aston Paki Maui again on your next Maui visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were informed our room wasn't yet ready and we asked if there were any places close by within walking distance that we could go! Both the concierge and guest service officer said the shops were more than 10 mins away to walk and that we'd best drive! We got in the car and headed south to find a small set of shops and Mexican bar call "nachos grande" - it was less than 5mins walking from the hotel yet the staff over exaggerated the distance! The little bar was a favourite of ours! On our return we were shown to our room #207 a absolute ocean front condo with beautiful lanai! The kitchen had been newly renovated but to our shock and horror there was NO AIRCON at all! Just ceiling fans that worked well with the doors open but we received an information sheet on check in that reiterated that no doors should be left open and unlocked to prevent theft! Also only some of the light switches and power points worked! We were on our honeymoon and spent limited time in our room thankfully! The room wasn't horrible and the view was amazing but it definitely wasn't located in Lahina as the address states and it didn't have any nice bar or grills within walking distance to enjoy! I think it's a great place for visitors over 50yrs old who are returning to Maui on their second or third trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paki Maui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paki Maui Resort

Address: 3615 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paki Maui Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best oceanfront value on the Kaanapali Coast. Spacious suites, breathtaking views and an ideal location between the exclusive Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas. Located next to the beach with guest suites encircling the interior garden atrium's soothing waterfall, this resort is a perfect place to relax and make new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Paki Maui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Paki Maui Hotel Lahaina
Paki Maui Resort Lahaina
Resortquest Paki Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paki Maui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.