We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Kahana Terrace Restaurant

Sands of Kahana Terrace Restaurant
4299 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 669-5399
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service was very bad and there was only 2 waitresses. took forever to get seated. then took a long time to order. and once we got our fruit bowl (they were out of bananas.) there was a bug in it and also there was a bug in our water. over all experience was horrible. after all the bugs we didnt feel like eating again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    39
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Xmas day 2012”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We walked from our hotel to find a restaurant on the spur of the moment ended up here dire service dire food had to pay 35$ on service charge to a ignorant waiter not happy

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Out of the way but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you don't know where to find it you'll most likely miss it. It has a nice setting next to the pool with an ocean view. A bit run down but the food was okay though a bit pricey

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were staying at the Sands of Kahana and went for breakfast the first morning we were there. The macadamia nut and banana pancakes were great. My sons' enjoyed their breakfast, too(I don't remember what they had). We also ate here on Christmas night. Three of us had steaks that were tender and perfectly cooked(something we did not always fine at other restaurants on the island). My husband fish that was also excellent. The service was great as was the view. I would eat there again and I would try the other restaurant that they run off of the property. Some people have said it was expensive, but I didn't think it was as bad as some of the other places we ate at during our week in Maui.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Over Priced average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had good sunset specials. Located at the pool on the Sands of Kahana Property. Nice place to watch sunset over Lanai.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands of Kahana Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sands of Kahana Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Kahana Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.