We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

4 Bedroom private Lahaina Maui home w/ocean views

Saved Save
You added 4 Bedroom private Lahaina Maui home w/ocean views to your Saves list.
Walk to this great family beach
Walk to this great family beach
Walk to this great family beach
Comfortable living area with tropical furnishings
Living area with 60
Fully equipped kitchen
Center island in kitchen seats 8
Lahaina
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
healthnut...
seattle, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Why not vacation in a house you would like to live in?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

What a fantastic place this turned out to be! I pored through pages and pages of rental properties in west Maui and finally found Hale Hibiscus, owned and managed by Nancy and Nolan who live right next door. I booked the property for a 5 day visit with my sister and her 2 teenagers in June. I knew as soon as we drove up and parked in the spacious parking area that we had made a good choice. This house is everything it is advertised to be and so much more. It is comfortable, well maintained, and in a prime location within a few minutes of Old Lahaina town. Nancy told us the house is an old plantation house. It has a spacious, solid feeling, is well equipped with functioning (non-wobbly) ceiling fans and my favorite thing is the open air ambiance achieved by adjusting the slatted windows. In my opinion, one of the true joys of being in Hawaii is being in contact with the warm ocean air, free and undiluted by air conditioning. It makes no sense to me to come to the islands and spend your time hermetically sealed in a refrigerated chamber. This house takes advantage of the island breezes. We visited in June and I found no need to be cooled by a machine. But the great thing about this place is that those who do prefer to sleep in a cooler environment than mother nature is providing have access to well functioning air conditioning units in 2 of the 4 bedrooms.

In addition to the flexibility regarding air conditioning vs. natural air, there are two features of this property that are outstanding: the kitchen and the garden. The kitchen is spacious and well furnished, and in addition to the gas stove there is an excellent fully functioning propane grill outside the front door. It all makes for a cook friendly environment that you will want to take advantage of. The garden consists primarily of an incredible border of numerous colors of plumeria trees - the classic fragrant blossom so often used for leis. The trees produced beautiful new blossoms daily on sturdy trunks that are probably over 50 years old. There are, of course, hibiscus (the name of the property is Hale Hibiscus, quite appropos), and mango trees which had just finished bearing fruit. Nancy told us that she would have given us plenty of fresh mangoes only weeks earlier, but we were still thrilled to be able to pick fresh limes from the tree near the front door.

In summary, I highly recommend this wonderful art-filled home (Nancy is an artist) with its ample sleeping space, flexible open air/ air conditioning arrangement, fantastic kitchen and mature serene garden. It wasn't whale season when we visited, but I am already hoping to return during the winter months to sit on the deck and watch for them out on the ocean, just across the road.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: This was a home I could easily live in myself.
Liked least: There really weren't any negatives about this place.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rakkasan6...
Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hale Hibiscus - COOL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Ventilation: H.H. has ceiling fans and lots of screened windows, so there are plenty of cool breezes inside. Cooking: The kitchen is spacious and fully-equipped. The patio, with a view of the ocean and other islands, has lots of chairs, shade, a big gas grill, and the breeze. Location: H.H. is close to lots of beach parks. It is a 15-minute stroll to two shopping centers in Lahaina. Grounds: Gorgeous flowering trees. Nancy will ply you with mangoes (in season). Pick limes from the tree. Some highway noise, but in a fairly quiet neighborhood. This sturdy older house is big enough so that five adults and two kids were not in each others' way. Very clean. Ample parking. Yes, we would rent Hale Hibiscus on our next visit to Maui.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Ventilation, cooking facilities, shade, location.
Liked least: We have no complaints at all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Holly Reiter
Wa.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011 for a stay in May 2008
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NewHampsh...
Amherst, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Real Taste of Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

What a perfect setting for our Hawaiian family reunion! We were looking for a taste of the Hawaiian culture that was not filtered by the sterility of the resort experience and we found it at the Hale Hibiscus. This delightful home brought us together in the lovely large kitchen, dining room, and the gazebo and yet provided many intimate places for personal solitude.

We were charmed by the original artwork and delighted in discovering small touches of art displayed throughout the home and gardens. Watching whales from the deck was a great source of entertainment. The gardens enchanted the eyes and nose.

We took advantage of the many amenities provided. The washer/dryer was an indispensable asset. The wifi was much used. The well equipped kitchen had everything we needed for our family meals. The boogie boards and snorkeling gear provided for our beach excursions.

The central location of the Hale Hibiscus was just minutes from the beach, shopping, and downtown and yet was insulated from the touristy hue. It was easy to envision the old plantation and experience the tropical tranquility of this place.

Nancy was a gracious host and we are forever indebted to her for providing for the perfect intimate Hawaiian family reunion. Mahalo!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$550
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Nancy
(808) 264-9422
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 177 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing