We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great starters and desserts, fantastic view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japengo

Japengo
200 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-667-4796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Japengo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Steakhouse, Pacific Rim, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaanapali Parkway
Transit: Take the Maui Public Bus to Whaler's Village and then a short walk along the boardwalk, to the Hyatt Regency Maui.
Description: Japengo is sophisticated dining destination on Maui, featuring world-class steaks, seafood, and sushi. Japengo blends fresh locally-grown ingredients with the exotic flavors of the Pacific Rim. Enjoy indoor and outdoor patio seating, a chic sushi lounge, and an indoor/outdoor lounge area. Happy hour daily and live entertainment every night. Free parking is available.Japengo has earned numerous awards including the 2013 Gold 'Aipono Award for Best Pacific Rim Restaurant on Maui, and 2013 Silver 'Aipono Awards for Best Seafood and Best Asian Restaurant on Maui.Every 2nd and 4th Saturday, Chef Jay shares his secrets in Japengo's Saturday Sushi School, an hands-on culinary class in the Sushi Lounge.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
“Great starters and desserts, fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed by the curry calamari and the Japengo malasadas, but my Honolulu Roll was just average for the price. We went back another night just for dessert and we were hoping for a nice latte or cappuccino but the waiter looked at us funny when we asked. So we got some drip coffee and some desserts.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    111
    47
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sushi overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The ahi poke was fantastic but in general, I find the sushi falling short of my expectations. I have tasted better sushi. However, I did like the fact that they served freshly made wasabi. I may return but will not order sushi again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Ordered some great, fresh sashimi and some great cocktails. For dinner we had the curry dish, the fried rice (amazing) and the tuna. All pretty good! Can't beat the view if you can get near the ocean for the sunset. Our waitress was Sheri who was absolutely fabulous!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the $$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Nice ocean views, good service. But... the food was not very good. There was 3 of us and we were all disappointed. The fried rice at $24 was tasteless. The pork chop was over $30 and was a large chunk of meet with no flavor. My chicken was no better. We were so looking forward to this dinner and were totally let down by the quality of the food and the price tag!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Japengo is a beautiful restaurant with incredible sunset views! A great place to sit amongst swaying palms while you dine and watch the ocean. The food however needs some spicing up. The Ahi I ordered looked like it was quickly seared over a barbecue grill, placed atop a bed of rice with a pool of wasabi butter. Where was the wasabi? Although tender, the ahi was a little overcooked and lacked much flavor. My wife ordered a few appetizers in place of an entree. The duck balls were very tasty with an asian/hoisin influence but the Chinese pork ribs tasted stale. Having dined at most of the top restaurants on the west end of Maui, Japengo is a good place to watch the scenery but if you desire a tasty meal there are better options.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japengo also viewed

 

Been to Japengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japengo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.