We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japengo

Japengo
200 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-667-4796
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Japengo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Sushi, Pan-Asian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaanapali Parkway
Transit: Take the Maui Public Bus to Whaler's Village and then a short walk along the boardwalk, to the Hyatt Regency Maui.
Description: Japengo is sophisticated dining destination on Maui, featuring world-class steaks, seafood, and sushi. Japengo blends fresh locally-grown ingredients with the exotic flavors of the Pacific Rim. Enjoy indoor and outdoor patio seating, a chic sushi lounge, and an indoor/outdoor lounge area. Happy hour daily and live entertainment every night. Free parking is available.Japengo has earned numerous awards including the 2013 Gold 'Aipono Award for Best Pacific Rim Restaurant on Maui, and 2013 Silver 'Aipono Awards for Best Seafood and Best Asian Restaurant on Maui.Every 2nd and 4th Saturday, Chef Jay shares his secrets in Japengo's Saturday Sushi School, an hands-on culinary class in the Sushi Lounge.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good food, good ambience, lovely surroundings. Can get busy & service can be slow outside. But service in the restaurant was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    135
    52
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pretty view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to Japengo for Happy Hour one late afternoon. I had a lemon drop, my husband had beer, and we shared curried calamaris. The lemon drop was way too sweet for me, so I didn't finish it. The curried calamaris were delicious. In fact, we thought they were better than the calamaris we had the night before at Son'z, the restaurant downstairs.

The view is indeed pretty, so if you had a big lunch and don't feel like having a big dinner, grabbing Happy Hour here might be a good way to end the day. Hopefully, you will get a server that does not spill your drink. He spilled mine but did not offer to bring a new one. That's not the kind of service I expected at the Hyatt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love Japengo's. This one at the Hyatt is just great. How can you not enjoy great food with a great view? Get a table with a nice view at sunset. They do have a happy hour here, if your looking to save some money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Food, view, ambiance. Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Sunset view dinner with friends was terrific. The sushi was very fresh and flavorful. Creative rolls and othe dishes are unique and delightful.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We ate at Japengo this evening and really enjoyed it. Food was delicious (cashew crusted chicken and New York steak.). Wayne our server gave us great service and we had a table with a great view. We have already made a booking for later in our trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japengo also viewed

 

Been to Japengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japengo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.