We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fishing with Captain Gene Perkins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extreme Sport Fishing Maui

Extreme Sport Fishing Maui
Lahaina Harbor Slip 9, 14, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-250-6563
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 164 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Moab, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fishing with Captain Gene Perkins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Captain Gene and his deckhand are true professionals. We hoped to catch fish and we did. What an excellent sport fishing adventure, well worth the money and time if you like to catch fish, and this is the guy to go with.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    8
    2
    2
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“42 Yellowfin Tuna on the No Problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

January 16th 2013

My dad, brother and I booked a great deep sea fishing adventure with Mason and Jimmy on the No Problem boat. We left at 2:30 am and it was well worth the early trip. Mason and Jimmy had us on the tuna within about 10 minutes of fishing and the bite was phenomenal until sunrise and then slowed to just great fishing...really the trip of a lifetime. Double and triple headers before sunrise, we out fished all the boats around us. Managed to bring in a 75lber and 2 others in the mid 60lb range. We had a serious workout pulling in these tuna and we were back at the marina by 11:00am.

We researched on line to find this boat and crew and as per their previous posts Mason and Jimmy have great work ethic, we would have never caught as many tuna as we did if they didn't work so hard when the bite was on. If your planning a fishing trip, seriously consider Mason and Jimmy as they will do all they can to keep you on the fish. Thanks Mason and Jimmy, hope to be back fishing with you two again.

Rob F

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“20 ahi + 5 mahi mahi = No Problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Feb.1st departed harbour 3 a.m. 35 miles out to a buoy SW of Lanai. Capt. Mason and Jimmy explained how everything was going to go down and then started putting the lines out. 2 minutes in it was Fish-On! These guys work hard to get you on the fish and keep you on the fish. Several double-headers, and at one point we had 5 or 6 tuna flopping at our feet while we were fighting the next one because there was no time to open the cooler to throw 'em in. It was a frenzy for a couple hours beginning in blackness, through the grey-light and into the light of day.
Back to the docks around 11am, took a bunch of pictures with our catch, then Mason cut up some of our fish for us. They sell to restaurants in town, but Mason gave us plenty of fresh ahi and mahi to eat for several days. Awesome day! No complaints whatsoever.
If you book a fishing trip, I highly recommend the full 8-hr day...as most of the fish we caught was in the first 2 hrs which you would miss out on if you left harbour any later than we did.
Thanks to Capt. Mason and Jimmy for a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NO PROBLEM Fishing crew A+++++ !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On January 30th my friends and I went fishing on the no problem. The crew ( Mason & Jimmy ) did an amazing job making sure we had a good time and caught as many fish a possible. That day we caught 48 fish !!! I couldn't ask for more. I recommend this trip to anyone who wants to go sport fishing in Maui.

My friends say thanks for the great a time memories. ( We will be back! )

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day on the Kai Akua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went out fishing with Captain Gene and Chris on February 7,2013 on the 8 hour excursion. There were a total of 6 in our shared group. The early start at 2:30 AM was a bit rough but took advantage of the on board sleeping quarters on the Cabo Cruiser and slept while we travelled about 3 hours out to the buoys. Once we arrived Chris went to work right away getting the bait on the lines and in the water. By first light the fish were biting non stop and we starting reeling in Mahi Mahi and Ahi Tuna. The Mahi Mahi sure put up a fight! The action was pretty much non stop until a whale pod showed up and the fish pretty much vanished. Trolled with artificial bait back to the dock but had no luck. In the end we caught 5 Mahi Mahi and 2 nice sized Ahi tunas. Saw tons of whales on the way back and even had 1 travel under the boat! All in all it was a great day on the water. The sun was shining and the ride back was very smooth. Captain Gene went to work filleting the fish and gave us all a good portion of our catch. I got enough Mahi Mahi and tuna to last a few meals. Made some really nice fish tacos with the Mahi Mahi that night back at the condo. This is a day I will never forget! I highly recommend these guys. They are very professional and know their stuff! Cant wait to go out again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Sport Fishing Maui also viewed

 

Been to Extreme Sport Fishing Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extreme Sport Fishing Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.