We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jack's Island Grill

Captain Jack's Island Grill
672 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 667-0988
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak and Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we were tired and hungry and not sure what we wanted - had great service, quick seating and suggestions from the waitress ended up being perfect. we had a BBQ chicken quesadilla; rib eye steak and the fish tacos. everything was fresh and cooked perfect really enjoyed the atmosphere and service. Though its not outside it is open-air and really gives the island feel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    138
    36
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We picked this restaurant because we were shopping on the Main Street and we were hungry. Great choice! The food was excellent, service was great, and the open view was beautiful! Reasonably priced too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Live music and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My friend and I went here on a Saturday night. Got a seat right at the balcony so got a great view the the pretty street. Had an amazing live singer. We had coconut shrimp and for main meal a burrito that tasted so good we almost ate it all. The size was so massive so it would be best to share.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was the first place we ate or drank while in Maui. We literally got off our flight of 9 hours. Rented a car, drove to our hotel and were told we couldn't get into our room for about a hour. My husband had been to Maui before and said let's go walk around Front street and find something to eat. It was 3pm local time or 10pm at home. We wanted something that wasn't too fancy. The restaurant appeared to have a crowd so we headed up the stairs. It was happy hour. We ordered a couple of drinks and food from the happy hour menu. We got the crab cakes, the calamari and the fish & chips. OK in hindsight all fried in some form. We are not usually fried food people. I guess we were just too tired and hungry to think. Overall typical fried bar food. Would I come here to eat a nice meal, maybe but not off the happy hour menu. The wait staff was friendly. I think she knew we were just off the ship to speak. Been a long day and I am sure we weren't making much sense. My first drink did not match my second one. However, again happy hour maybe two different people made them? In all the meals we ate in Maui this was by far the worst but I also know our choices were limited and probably not something we would typically order. For that reason I can't slam them. However, know it is fast pub food and not much more. Drinks may or may not be the same round after round. Staff is nice even to really tired tourist. From the place you can see the huge tree in the park below.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You have to try the Jesses Philly~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place has a great fun lively open air atmosphere and really great drinks too. It's got so many great spots inside to watch sports it's a must during football season and the food here is high quality and tasty too! My new personal favorite is the Jesse's Philly, just the right mix of spice and Philly cheese steak for a different twist on a classic. I loved it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Jack's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jack's Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.