We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For me: a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jack's Island Grill

Captain Jack's Island Grill
672 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 667-0988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For me: a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have spent a couple weeks in Maui over the Christmas holidays a couple times now. I think we found ourselves at Captain Jack's almost every other day at some point so much so that the bartender started giving us the LOCAL'S discount. The Ceviche is a great light lunch, good beer choices, and TV's on sports for my husbands daily College Football Bowl fix. We liked it so much we took our entire group of 10 there one night for dinner. Everyone had a great time! Can't wait to really be a local.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    178
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place for Eats and Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I like this place for cocktails, beers and snacks. The staff is very friendly and efficient too. It seems like they are always busy with a mix of locals and tourists. It's a great place to watch the game if you're in to that. It's also fun for people watching with a great view down to Front Street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Purely by chance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I love Lahaina, so attending Maui Friday Town Night was on our list. Watching the entertainment across from the Pioneer Inn at dusk ,Kath suggested that we have dinner in the restaurant that is just above and at the edge of the park. Greeted by a young, extremely well mannered host, we slid into a just cleared table on the edge of the balcony that gave us a great view of the entertainment. We were pleasantly surprised at the service and food quality. The black bean hummus starter served with chips and vegetables for dipping is an ample amount for two and very flavorful. Kath ordered the "Sink me Burrito" and is still talking about how good it was a day later. My choice came down to a decision between grilled Mahi Mahi or the Ono Lillikoi battered Fish and Chips. The fish and chips were great, cooked well, with fresh cut crispy fries. As we were finishing, the host followed up to ask how we enjoyed the meal. All the service staff were polite and efficient. Overall value was very, very good in this cheerful unpretentious restaurant. We will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Later afternoon lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a late lunch, about 3 pm. Nothing extravagant, but excellent food. My son finally had his Loco Moco.
This may have been the best fresh fish sandwich of the trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Better than expected!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ok, so we really wanted to go to cheeseburger in paradise but couldn't get in!! So we tried Capt Jacks. Had no expectations whatsoever. But the food was really good!!! There were 5 of us including 2 young kids and a senior, and everyone was happy. Service wasn't fantastic, but still completely acceptable. And, yes, eventually we did have to go back to Cheeseburger in Paradise....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Jack's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jack's Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.