We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Maui Prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Honokowai Okazuya & Deli

Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
3600 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Ste D, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 665-0512
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average Maui Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Read reviews on this place before we left and after being in Maui for a few days was looking forward to the cheap prices. You do get a decent size meal for the "mixed plate", but it is mostly rice and still averages at least $12.00 a person.

Not bad, food decent, but not a killer deal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    63
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced option for local food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to this take out place after reading the great reviews. The food is average and completely overpriced. We got the lemon caper fish and grilled mahi mahi which were good but not worth close to hotel entree prices. There is always a line there not because it's so popular but the chef seems to make two dishes at a time and can't multitask. During my wait, I noticed they charge $7.95 for buttered noodles on the keiki menu. Really? What could they possibly do to the noodles to charge so much?Taking advantage of tourists with kids is not very aloha. I also got to watch the cashier count the tips. When I got my order, they asked me if I wanted one bag or two - a weird question except that they charge for the extra bag if you want it! Overall, the food is not bad but you could do a lot better price wise and attitude wise.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a wonderful little take-out place that serves everything from burgers to steak. The menu is pretty much a little of everything, but we usually stick to the teriyaki steak (very tender and succulent), the mahi-mahi lemon caper (nice sauce and fresh fish), and the kung pao chicken (but ask for extra hot sauce as it usually isn't very spicy at all). We like to stay in a nearby oceanfront condo with a great lanai that overlooks the crashing surf. We go out to dinner every few nights but when we don't, we usually call up the Okazuya and eat out on our lanai. It's definitely one way to make your save some money. The portions are large, so we usually split one, and the food is great. Grab some mac nut ice cream at the Times Market down the street and you've got a fun, relaxing meal all within a few blocks of your condo.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“eat up there is more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place is wonderful place to eat and get away from the over rated over priced places. They are friendly and provide nothing but the best food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

THE best Teryaki steak you'll ever eat in your life. Mahi sautéed with lemon & capers is also delicious (but be careful in handling if taking it home because there's a lot of sauce!) place is tucked into a strip mall next to a self-storage complex. Does not look like much but the staff are very friendly and food is excellent. Go back a second (or third) time and they'll greet you like returning family. Portions are large so you can share between two people, although the prices are very reasonable so no need to do that unless you hate leftovers. Place is cash only. Only one or two tables outside so it's more take out than eat there but totally worth the effort.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honokowai Okazuya & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Honokowai Okazuya & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honokowai Okazuya & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.