We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Honokowai Okazuya & Deli

Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
3600 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Ste D, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(808) 665-0512
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nothing special if you want mediocre food.
Korean style chicken bbq is basically teriyaki chicken with heavily diluted corn starch liquid.
Kung Pao chicken not as good as Panda Express.
Chicken Katsu was pretty good but the sauce is too weird, too much ketchup.
Teriyaki steak not worth $16.50
Cashier not friendly at all. Not impress!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    74
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ordered lemon caper Ono and teriyaki steak. I had really looked forward to the fish, but it was dry, tough, and overcooked. The sauce was very salty.The steak was a poor cut and not very tasty. I had called in ahead to pick up in 30 min. as we were driving back from Kahalui. Maybe they let it sit for a long time. I would not go here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A local favorite. Take out food that is always absolutely delicious. Call in your order as there is always a line outside. The price is right and the food is EXCELLENT !!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good BBQ Style Chicken!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We were staying up the road and desided to give this place a try based on other positive reviews. We should up right before they closed for lunch. They are closed from 2:30-4:30pm,So keep that in mind. We ordered the 2 meat plate lunch with the BBQ style chicken and the teriyaki steak with Mac salad and one scoop of rice. The chicken had a nice slightly spicy taste to it which I LOVED, I find there isn't a lot of spice in a lot of plate lunch type meats. The steak was OK probably wouldn't order it again. Typical Mac salad and rice. Next time I think I would try the Ono and maybe order the salad it looked fresh.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moderate to good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Not as good as in past years. Good place to grab lunch. Lots of variety. There is better prepared food in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honokowai Okazuya & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Honokowai Okazuya & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honokowai Okazuya & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.