We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family time for a moderate price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Submarines Maui

Atlantis Submarines Maui
658 Front St # 175, Lahaina, Maui, HI
1-800-548-6262
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$124*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Atlantis Adventures is proud to be recognized as the largest provider of tourist attractions on the Hawaiian Islands. Our spectacular island setting plays host to our flagship tourist offering -- the Atlantis Submarine Tour. Featuring the most technologically advanced vessels of their kind, these absolutely real submarines carry up to 48 passengers to depths of 100 feet and beyond.Maui has long been revered as the Magic Isle for its extraordinary appeal and abundance of natural beauty, but its undersea world is just as compelling as seen by the wondrous marine life off the Lahaina coastline.Experience the magic of our Atlantis Adventure submarine tour and create lifetime memories as you explore our majestic coastal waters surrounding the city of Lahaina.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful family time for a moderate price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We did the Atlantis tour which to the beginners feels great.
Many describe it as "same as scuba but a lot better for experience".
We enjoyed it a lot. The captain of the submarine was always busy however they had a 'pseudo' captain to entertain the crowd and keep look out for fish along with keen information.
It was money spent good for the experience and quality time.
It is a great thing for kids to see ocean floor and be as deep as 130ft under safe environment.

A must try if you are not into scuba after all to experience the world at 130ft!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    87
    41
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Atlantis Submarines Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

You get a great view of the West Maui Mountains on the shuttle boat from Lahaina to the submarine. In the submarine, there are two rows of seats that can accommodate a total of 48 passengers with 13 windows on each side of the submarine. The tour guide on the submarine provided an entertaining narration during the trip. There are also fish charts next to each window to help identify fishes.

You do see quite a number of sea creatures but due to the depth and colour absorption, everything appeared to be in various shades of blue. If you really want to see colourful fishes, it’s best to go to the Maui Ocean Center.

We bought the souvenir program containing our photo for $20. The program contained information about submarines and photos of various fish and other marine creatures.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and my first time to Maui and we wanted to do something different. We looked into this and realized that it looked fun. We had a great time and loved every minute of it. Would recommend this trip to anyone!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Two kids, 8 & 5. They were into it! Mom and Dad thought that it was good also. Everything in Maui is expensive, I thought this was fair for what you got. We saw plenty of fish and seeing the shipwreck was cool. Would recommend to families or someone who is afraid to snorkel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Rode this sub with my kids and we were entertained by the crew as well as the sea life. There were lots of fish and coral as well as a sunken ship. There was plenty of space/room on the sub. I never once even thought about the fact that we were underwater and closed in, There isn't much sunlight that makes it way down there and although viewing was fine- the pictures taken out the windows didn't turn out well. It was a cool experience. There was a shuttle out to the sub with pretty views of the west Maui coastline (and whales during whale season).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines Maui also viewed

 

Been to Atlantis Submarines Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Submarines Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.