We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kupanaha

Kupanaha
2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Kaanapali Beach Hotel, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-661-0011
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 64 attractions in Lahaina
Type: Performances, Dinner Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kupanaha is Maui's only Magical Dinner Theater Experience. The fun begins with enchanting hula and amazing demonstrations of close-up magic right at your table. Jody Baran & Kathleen take you on a journey filled with wondrous mysteries of famous magicians of Hawaii’s past, original music and dance, and laugh-out-loud comedy.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted to see a show while on the island and decided on Kupanaha - The magic was really good and the whole show was very entertaining.
The food was good and the table side close up magic was great - the entire show is a fun time for the whole family.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    56
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richlands, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A night with the Magician”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was an awesome show, it shared history of other magicians, there is a dinner with the show, and it has a few choices, I had the fish it was very good, there was chicken and steak served at the table also and didn't hear no complaints, the show was fabulous, the was hula dancers who did several dances, they were awesome, Loved it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent magic show and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our 2nd time seeing the show and it was just as great as the first time. Jody and his wife, Kathleen, put on a memorable show. The food and service were wonderful - everything is cleared away before the show starts so no annoying sounds of dishes clanking. We had a seat up front, and had a great time with the other couples we sat with. It was a wonderful way to spend our 28th anniversary!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“maui magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lot of fun. The magic was really good. I would recommend this show to anyone. Very kid friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best kid show in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rating is purely about the show. Mark Bennick is the magician in place of Jody Baran, and he is fantastic. Like other reviews, the show is filled with fun and very kid friendly. Kids are invited to the stage to participate. My 8 year old had a blast and loved the show. My 3 year old did not go up to the stage but they did not forget about him, Mark Bennick came down the stage and gave him an animal balloon lei, which instantly brightened up his evening. As for us the parents, we certainly loved it when our kids had a great time. The magic tricks are variations of something we have all seen, but the true magic is the performance by Mark and Kathleen. The food is edible but not good, our kids did not really eat the food, except for the ice cream. However, our kids are more picky than average. They have dined in Michelin starred restaurants of Thomas Keller, Alain Ducasse, Gordon Ramsay, Nobu, etc. So they are not the typical kids. The bottom line is that you come here for the show which is great. All the seats are very good. Premium seats are right in front of the stage. We sat at the regular seats and still had very good view of the show. It is a small intimate theatre, which makes the show even more enjoyable. If you are looking for better food, then try Haliimaile General Store, Merrimen, Lahaina Grill, Mama's Fish House, etc. These restaurants have kid's menu and are kids friendly. We liked the first three, Mama's Fish House was okay. Morimoto is opening a restaurant in Maui very soon, and our kids enjoyed his other restaurant in Waikiki.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kupanaha also viewed

 

Been to Kupanaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupanaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kupanaha to your Saves list