We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Noodle

Star Noodle
286 Kupuohi St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-2742
808-667-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This new restaurant doesn't have its website developed. But there Facebook listing has over 600 FB fans.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious & Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Be prepared to wait....but it is worth it! We went for a late lunch and enjoyed every bite. The Kim Chi Chicken Wings are amazing! I also had an amazing Cocktail. Worth the wait!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    314
    123
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Star quality on food...service - might need a bit more tweaking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Star noodle has the hype but quality of the food still holds true! We order the same favorites - pork belly buns, garlic noodles, saimin, and their udon. The taste and quality didn't change much...but the servers seemed rushed and busy, less friendlier - maybe we caught them on a bad day but that shouldn't be the case!
We ordered the Malasadas and out came the sauces MIXED up in a serving plate. That's never been the case, it has always been in a tasting plate separated by nuts, chocolate and caramel. Our server gave us a " humph " walked away and we thought we were aliens! Oh well...no tip there lady!
But glad to have found its newest addition to the family - their "Starstruck" - food truck...not so quick and efficient in service of food ( you could hear the sound confused) but the food is as good as expected! Grab the tempura taco and the grilled corn. Too good to be true. Be patient and wait just like Star Noodle.
But all in all, still great quality of food. Price is average, double digits for the bigger plates. Be ready to share plates and split the bill!
Pst...work on your alohaness...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This small retaurant in Lahaina is so busy... You will discover why as soon as you try the food!
Many different noodles prepared in interesting ways and really good.
Portions are huge and you are invited to share the plates.
They are extremely fast! So don't be scared by the queue at the entrance...
Staff is so nice and friendly!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've been here a few times, and just returned after a 3 year hiatus. Reservations are necessary if you don't want to wait. They recommended calling in one week in advance, although we were able to secure a table for lunch several days ahead of time. Shared plates were excellent - steamed pork buns, bacon & eggs, Vietnamese Crepes. Brussels sprouts were very good, although I've had better. Hapa Ramen, Fried Saimin, Garlic Noodles (flavorful but nothing served with it - no protein) and Pad Thai were the table favorites. We had a party of ten and everyone gave it excellent reviews for food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Maybe not your cup of tea for a romantic meal out on Maui but Best Food Ever on the island. We left our name, walked around Lahaina for 45 minutes, came back and were seated in 20 minutes. Garlic noodles were amazing, as was pretty much everything else. No view, can be noisy, and yes, there is the wait. Well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Noodle also viewed

 

Been to Star Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Noodle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.