We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great public beach park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahekili Beach

Kahekili Beach
Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 39 Attractions in Lahaina
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great public beach park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Free parking, access to restrooms and a beautiful beach make this an excellent value. I didn't get the chance to stay there long on my visit but I thought it would be nice to stay there longer on a future stay. The best part is it's free.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Easy snorkelling and good beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Returned to Kahekili Beach a couple of times, as we could walk there along the boardwalk. Not overcrowded. The reef is fairly extensive, water a little cloudy as quite windy the days that we were there, plenty of fish to see. Entry & exit can be a bit tricky as the coral is very close to shore and drops of quickly.

Has a very nice grassy area, good when windy and you are tired of being sandblasted. Parking and facilities are right there. Can also wander up or down the boardwalk to have lunch/drinks at the adjoining resorts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This beach was recommended to us by our valet. What a great find!! Beautiful grassy area, trees, showers, restrooms with changing areas. The snorkeling was really good and we even saw an octopus.
It's a definite 'to do' for next year. Packing a lunch and chill for the day. Yes!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent public beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Large beach with soft sand, northern end of Kaanapali away from the major hotels. FREE PARKING. Excellent western view towards the sunset. There is one small beach bar at the Royal Lahaina resort about 1/4 mile south from the parking lot, fairly expensive but in line with Maui pricing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great reef = great snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

varied fish, turtles and good coral
the reef is far more extensive than the famous black rock and the fish density just as good
the entry & exit can be a bit tricky as the rocks are close to shore but just find a gap and back in carefully

grassy area can get crowded but so can every other beach on maui - just get there by 9am or close to it and head north in the water
the water is far less crowded than black rock

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahekili Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kahekili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahekili Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.