We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulehu, an Italian Grill

Pulehu, an Italian Grill
6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-667-3200
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pulehu, an Italian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 238 Restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved our meal at Pulehu! We had the sunset menu which was a great deal, 3 courses for $39. All 3 courses were very good. We were there with our 10 month old son and he sat quite happily in his high chair chewing on the breadsticks. Very good service. Definitely recommend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    88
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable restaurant that could be.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Reserved a romantic table near the Koi Pond for my birthday. Had them note it on the reservation. When seated they had seated two families with small children right next to us on both sides. One family put their 4 small children at a table all by them selves with games and toys. Most of the time the children were not seated, they were running around the tables, screaming, the parents simply drank their wine and ignored the children and the bother they were to the other guests. Worst of all the restaurant personel and manage did nothing about this activity at all and simply let this go on as if this upscale restaurant charging high prices was a children's playground. We finally had to move to another table. At the end of the meal nobody from the restaurant gave us an apology. We have eaten at this restaurant before and the same thing happened last time we were here. We will never go back to this restaurant and pay top dollar to eat at a children's playground.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was lucky to get to visit Maui with my girlfriend. I asked around for a nice restaurant and ended up at this grill. It was perfect and the place was gorgeous. I liked how the staff members were in great moods and the energy of the place was very positive. Every table has a great view of the giant pond and the food was worth the price. Our server Drew was fun and recommended other activities we should do while on the island. Worth checking out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best of Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

There was a time when you would avoid a resaurant at your hotel in favor of almost all other alternatimes. What a mistake that would be. We found good to great dinners all over Maui, but our favorite was about 50 yeards from our room at the Westin Ka'anapali North Villas. We opted for the fixed-price three-course dinner offered between 5:30 and 6 p.m. Be sure to make a reservation and place your order by 6.
My wife and I both chose the tomoto basil soup for the first course. We have had this in many restaurants and at home, and this may well have been the best we've ever had, and the portion size is generous. We both the short ribs for our entrees. The only thing better than the presentation was the taste. For dessert we went with the Tahatian vanilla gelato (think chocolate lava cake with ice cream). It also was wonderful.
We saw so many other great-looking entrees coming out of the kitchen that we'll be back for more next week and every other time we come to Maui. Our server, Cynthia, was outstanding as well. Hard to imagine a better experience and we were on our way by 7:30 without feeling a bit rushed,.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was my first trip to Maui and I was told by a friend to try this restaurant and I loved it. The scenery was absolutely beautiful, with our table overlooking the courtyard. The food was fantastic and our waiter, Drew, was attentive and nice. It was a wonderful way to spend my first evening in Hawaii.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulehu, an Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pulehu, an Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulehu, an Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.