We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster @ Sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's Beach Cafe

Betty's Beach Cafe
505 front street #120, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808 662-0300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 239 Restaurants in Lahaina
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lobster @ Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Betty'Cafe is a great little secret! I recommend going for your meal about 4:30pm so that you can pick a table with a wonderful view of the sunset over the ocean. On Wednesday's they feature lobster $16.95. the meal includes rice and a salad. The lobster was fantastic and served hot. A special treat is in store for those who arrive early enough to get a good seat as the Feast of le le Luau takes place just below Betty's and you can see the dancers perform while you have your desert. I had the bread pudding and it was very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    153
    47
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went to Betty's (on the recommendation of a server at another restaurant) for lobster night. Food was good. Happy hour was fabulous; the added benefit of the view and neighboring luau was a great benefit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went tonight with my family; we ordered 3 soft drinks, 2 beers, an appetizer, 4 lobster dinners (each with a side salad), 2 desserts and 3 coffees and our bill was only $135.00. We paid the same at other restaurants in Lahaina for 4 dinners and no drinks and the food wasn't even half as good and was much smaller. Not to mention, we were able to view the luau on the other side of the patio for free (kind of obstructed view, but nothing to complain about considering we didn't pay).

My family frequents Maine for vacations and are huge lobster fans... So for the 4 of us to say we had awesome lobsters is a huge compliment to the restaurant! Not to mention, we pay $25 for a 1-1.25 lb. lobster in Maine (where they are local!).... So the value was great at 16.95!

We had ceviche as an appetizer, and the fish was very fresh! Our salads were also a good size portion and the Thousand Islands dressing was great! To top it off we had a Hot Apple Betty and the famous Mango/Vanilla ice cream mudpie........ WHICH WAS TO DIE FOR. It was only $8.95 for a slice that the 4 of us together didn't even touch.... Which is a lot to say for a family who's smallest member is 5'10" and 155 lbs.... The coffee they were brewing was also 100% hawaiian and packed a serious punch.

I would definitely suggest it to anyone visiting Maui and would return in a heart beat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed next door at lahaina shores, the first time I went to Betty's I sat at the bar and waited for 7-8 mins and was not acknowledged, I left and went to bamboo fresh next door and had excellent food and service. I tried Betty's again a few days later on dec 24. I was the only customer and the waitress did not seem like she wanted to talk to the bartender more than do her job. I was clearly done my food, I stood up and walked towards her and she seemed like I was intruding on their conversation when I asked for my bill. I had the ceviche and it tasted like it was several days old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Loved the views, the friendly staff and excellent happy hour at Betty's Beach Cafe.. Overlooking the ocean you can watch the set up for the neighbourly luau as well!

Laurie

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Betty's Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.