We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Surf Clinic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Surf Clinics

Maui Surf Clinics
505 Front Street, #201 (Upstairs), Lahaina, Maui, HI 97671
+1 808-244-7873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
New Orleans
1 review
“Family Surf Clinic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a private lesson with two instructors for our family of five (kids age 16, 19 and 20). We were all a little hesitant, but we all had a blast and we all managed to actually surf!! Brennan and Jason were awesome. It was one of the highlights of our vacation!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our kids were lucky enough to have a second lesson today. They had an intro in January with Theresa which was fantastic - both got up for some great rides and felt really successful. When we were booking with the very personable Kat, we learned Theresa wasn't available during our schedule this time. Billy was equally qualified and authentically engaging. He taught them new skills and they had an amazing afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience! Billy was an awesome teacher. If you want to have a safe and fun how to surf lesson, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dr. Spicoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

For four first time surfers I could not have been more pleased with our experience at Maui Surf Clinic. Kat in the office was friendly, informative and accommodating while getting ready to begin our class. We had two adults, a 15 yr. old and a 9 yr. old and we were all able to surf after our first few minutes in the water. Our instructor was Jason, who initially comes off as Jeff Spicoli from Fast Times at Ridgemont High with some interesting surf stories, and then he turns into Dr. Spicoli when he starts talking about safety, surfing, preserving the ocean, currents, tides and what to watch out for while trying to get a good wave. Another part of MSC I really appreciated was that not only was Jason looking after us but other instructors would give us tips and making sure nobody was getting hurt. We enjoyed our experience with MSC so much we returned for two more sessions while on our short vacation. I highly recommend MSC. Shaka.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Experience at Maui Surf Clinic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My family had an awesome experience at Maui Surf Clinic in Lahaina. Our instructor was Renton who was great, very informative, patient and he got us up and surfing on our first or second waves! My parents who are in their fifties loved it, as well as my brother and I. We opted to have the photographer(way more affordable than you would think, and worth every cent), Tommy, which was completely worth it! Tons of great pics, and two CDs for us to take home. As soon as we walked in the door Amanda made us feel at home and at ease. I won't lie, we were all exhausted by the end, but we felt great and were very happy with our experience. Booking online was easy. I would absolutely recommend this company to anyone who's wanting to surf, even if you feel nervous, do it, it's totally worth your while. Mahalo to Renton, Amanda and Tommy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Surf Clinics also viewed

 

Been to Maui Surf Clinics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Surf Clinics, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.