We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Whale Watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Ocean Rafting day tours

Hawaii Ocean Rafting day tours
slip 8 Lahaina Harbor, PO Box 381, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96767
808-661-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Water sports, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb aboard our HI Tech Ocean Rafts and spend the day snorkeling the crystal clear waters surrounding the island of Lana’i. We encounter the Spinner Dolphins quite often on our excursions. We’ll spend time interacting with them as they frolic in the water. Continental breakfast, snack and cold drinks will be served throughout the day. Snorkel gear provided. This trip will be the highlight of your vacation. Departs daily from slip 8 Lahaina Harbor.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Whale Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been on lots of Whale Watching trips, Sail Boats, Cats, and Charter boats. But this was my first on an inflatible. I picked HOR because their Ocean Raft was smaller, turned out to be a good move. The raft holds 16 but we only had 11 so there was lots of room and everyone was nice and friendly. The crew of two were awesome and fun, and full of whale knowledge. The trip was April 20th so it's close to the end of the season and we weren't sure we would see a lot. We were only out for about 15 mins when we spotted our first whale, then another, and another, then a Mama, Escort, and baby, then somemore. We had a Mama swim right under the raft, about 20' below us. The raft is about 10 - 12 ft wide and the whale was 45 ft long, it was awesome. Did I mention it's about $10 less than the larger rafts, and if you book on-line you get a $6 discount. Go for it!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    11
    9
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Whale Watch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a fantastic whale watch with Hawaii Ocean Rafting. Tom and Povi were informative and fun. With their smaller inflatable vessel that holds a maximum of 18 guests, everyone has a "front row" seat. We were able to see a mom and escort both breach about 50 feet from our boat. The whales then did a few more smaller breaches and head lunges, followed by several tail slaps by the escort! An awesome time with an awesome crew. You can book directly with them for a great price. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Best Snorkeling Trip Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked a 1/2 day snorkeling trip which ended up also being a whale watching adventure!! We saw so many whales we lost count... Jeff and Sean made the trip both fun and educational. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone going to Maui- you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathay
1 review
“Great whale watching adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great time on the Hawaii Ocean Raft we saw many whales breach and one young whale that put on a great show for us breaching several times. One whale even went under our raft, and right at the end of the trip 5 male whales came in right beside the raft for a little show. Our Captain Tom got us to the whales and Povi, she did a wonderful job of telling us about the whales and pointing out what was happening. The raft is a great way to get up and personal with the whales. We had a great time. Thanks!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“See the Whales up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I always go whale watching and these people are the bestest in their field. You go on a smaller raft that is very comfortable and fast. It gets you to the whales in a hurry. The best part this time was our luck. Hundreds of whales some very friendly. We had one rub the raft then while go to dive had her put her tail into the raft gently touching the man closest to me then she pushed the raft as she went down. It was truly a moment to remember our entire lives.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Ocean Rafting day tours also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii Ocean Rafting day tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii Ocean Rafting day tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.