We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This resort met all my expectations. The pictures online are exactly what you get. We rented a two bedroom, two bath ocean view on the 5th floor. There were 4 of us my sister and her husband, myself and my husband. The rooms were spacious, decorated absolutely beautifully, and maintained wonderfully. We sat out on the veranda every morning for coffee watching the boats and water crafts pass by on the ocean. At night the setting sun was breath taking. Dukes is wonderful place to sit eat and relax and listen to the musician of the day. The concierges were the most helpful. We booked a glass bottom boat tour, a dinner cruise, family photo and they told us about the best spa on the island. We would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: You have to choose a ocean view suite and stay above the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    467
    119
    37
    21
See reviews for
1038
670
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just stayed two weeks at the Honua Kai, they treat you like family. This is our second trip to stay there! Loved it. Good place, nice rooms and great service. Best location on island & Dukes is a bonus to dine at.
Mahalo my brothers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This resort is beautiful. The first impression is the open air lobby. It is beautiful. The is a convenient health food store/deli off the lobby, very nice. The pools were fantastic and never crowded. The beach was spacious and the ocean here great for snorkeling. From the beach you can see Molokai and Lanai. The hot tubs were a disappointment. They were not hot, not even warm for most of our stay. The one that was hot had jets that did not work. When they finally got one working it was filled with kids under 10. Dukes restaurant on property was nice. The cocktails were pricing and did not contain much alcohol, not worth the $10.00 price. Our two bedroom unit was fantastic. The kitchen high end and beautiful. The bathrooms were spacious. The oversized balcony want a great place to start the day with a cup of coffee and to end the day watching the sunset with a cocktail. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Hanua Kai from 7th sept, with our 15 month old son. We arrived at the resort early expecting a wait for room, but they had a room available and also upgraded us from 1 bedroom partial ocean view, to a 2 bedroom apartment.

We found it a great place for a young family, with toddler friendly pool, plenty of other families, beach with a shaded area, supermarket close by, cleaners did a grat job and overall a very relaxed feel to it. Couples be prepared for kids! We found everyone (couples and families) very engaging and kid friendly.

We read a lot of reviews before booking Honua Kai, so I've answered some of the questions we had:

The wind
- it does get windy at times, especially in the afternoon, but equally we had days when there was very little wind
- we visited other beaches/hotels and I'd say it was a little windier at Honua Kai than others
- didn't detract from the holiday and was actually a welcome rest-bite from the heat

The staff
- everyone we had to deal with we're very pleasant, we found that the understated and genuine engagement a welcome break from some of the over the top stuff we experienced elsewhere
- the ladies making coffee were awesome, even looking up how to make a flat white and making a great job of it to

Sewer smell
- in 7 days we never once smelt any sewer odours

Pool chairs
- these must have been replaced after all the feedback because we found them very comfortable

Negatives
- showers pressure takes a bit of getting used to, like getting an intense massage
- kitchen well equipped, but would have been great to have salt and pepper stocked

We would certainly come back when visiting Maui.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We reserved Honua Kai based on reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint. The complex is relatively new and all the units are condos with nice finishes. There are alot of units but the pools weren't very crowded and they were pretty quiet. Really nice beach and beachwalk starts there and goes south for miles. Nice, Viking outdoor grills can be used to cook and are overlooking the ocean. Dukes is another option and is really good, but kind of expensive.

We rented a studio with ocean view...tough to see the ocean from the second floor, but not a big deal. The only other thing which is hard to even complain about was that the water pressure was so high it was almost painful to take a shower...especially with a sunburn. Either way, we want to go back soon.

Grocery store is also on the next block and it's close to Lahaina.

Great place

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 1st or 2nd floor if you want to see the ocean. Otherwise I would save y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is beautiful. The entire layout is well-planned, with plenty of space for kids/families and single adults to coexist without having to share too much outdoor space.
The rooms are ideal. Open floor plan with large balconies that include chairs to lounge in as we'll as a dining table and chairs. We are on the balcony every night.
My only disappointments were the resort activities--we were furnished with a promising list of activities, put in by the resort. We decided to check out the evening family limbo night and the morning koi fish feeding for the children. Both were cancelled upon arrival.
My other disappointment was the newly opened spa, Ho'ola. I paid for a 50 minute facial. It was as good as having my 10 year old niece slop mud masks on my face. Major major disappointment. The spa manager was very sales-y and much to aggressive for a spa setting. There are no amenities (steam room, sauna, hot tub), just a very warm room with lockers.
Otherwise, my family had an incredible, relaxing vacation.:)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are a family of five and do all our vacationing in condos. Spent a week in a two bedroom unit in the Konea tower. Very well appointed. Comfortable beds in roomy bedrooms. Modern bathrooms and kitchens. The second bedroom's bed could be split into two twins. Convertible couch in the living room. Loved the disappearing wall of windows onto the enormous balcony. Ate everyone one of our meals outside with a view of Lanai. Paradise.
The grounds are very well maintained. Our boys enjoyed the pools, especially the water slide. Liked the convenience of Dukes (for sunset cocktails) and the small grocery store in the other tower. They sell Maui grow coffee beans in the store. Wonderful.
I was impressed with the snorkeling just off the beach of the resort. Saw many different types of fish, a sea turtle,eels, and an octopus. There is a good amount of sand at the beach. I hate when some resorts are sitting right up to the waters edge.
I guess my only complaint would be the washer and dryer. The unit has all Bosch appliances. European dryers are more "energy efficient". Meaning: it takes forever to dry a load of clothes. Problem when you are trying to get through a bunch of beach towels for the next day. I like European appliances in my kitchen, but I will always opt for a good old American washer and dryer in my laundry room. Gets the laundry bone dry in no time.
I am the type of vacationer who never likes to do the same thing twice. I would have to say though, that if I were to go back to Maui, I would definitely consider staying at this resort a second time.

Room Tip: We were low, second floor, at the very back of the tower. Meaning, if it is shaped like a U, we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.