We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can't even put in to words how amazing our stay was here. We took our whole family and none of us wanted to leave!! I will be going back in the future for sure!! The pools were great, close to the beach, and with Duke's right there, you can have a great meal. We also made meals in our room. It was all around just a great week!! The best vacation we have taken so far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnamy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent 8 nights at the Honua Kai just north of Kaanapali Beach and found it to be an outstanding place to vacation. The location was close to everything. The grounds were spacious with several pools and Dukes's restaurant on site. The food was amazing as were the specialty drinks. I would recommend happy hour where drinks are more reasonable. The ribs are a must!!! We booked our 9th floor ocean view through Kay at mauikay.com. She was spot on about the property as well as the room. It was spacious for the 5 of us, very clean and a gorgeous lanai which overlooked the property as well as an ocean view. She also helped us book activities and again was right on the mark.

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chick49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent a week with the family here. Great hotel. Rooms are spacious, modern, and have everything you might need, including a fully equipped kitchen, washer & drier, etc

The pools are great, and are very children-friendly.

Staff was as good as one could hope for.

Best kept secret is that you can get the 'informal' side of the great restaurant that is there, where portions are slightly smaller (but still very big) and are priced significantly lower (about half price). The restaurant was our best dining experience on the island, and we ate 50% of our meals there.

The only downside is the beach, which is nice, but nearly as nice as some of the other beaches the island has to offer. So if you aren't spending time at the pool, get in your car and find one of the recommended beaches in the area.

Room Tip: When going to eat onsite, ask for the informal area & menu. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Exceptional facility... The units are equipped with high end bosch appliances... washer/dryer, stove, refridgerator, dish washer, microwave, large flat-screen tv in living and bedroom area... dining room table and chairs... furnished lanai... wood cabinets with granite countertop... high-end bar-b-ques on the grounds near the pools, sand beach... comfortable bed... had no complaints with our stay...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful wonderful stay with my family there! 10th floor corner unit. The 2 bedroom suite was super spacious. 2 huge bedrooms and 2 large baths and pull out couch, plenty of closet. It was clean and beds were super comfy. TV's in every room. DVD player available in living room. Large lanai with Mountain view n partial view to the ocean. You can see the sunrise if you're up. It was not noisy at all. It is a little windy but we had our A/C on with doors closed most of time. Washer dryer and kitchen was nice. (It could use a few more bowls and plastic containers). We stocked up at a supermarket near by. We couldn't go out much for dinner because by end of day my young kids were exhausted. They would be sleeping at restaurants. We used the convenient grills by the pool to cook also. (some of grills are not lighting up properly but there are plenty others). The pool grounds were awesome! Plenty of meandering pools and waterfall and slide and even baby pools. The suite came with beach chairs, cooler, and umbrella that you can bring to beach. It's not a very large beach front but we found it adequate. But you're in Maui..should go explore other beaches everyday. Gorgeous sunsets from there. We had a lovely time. Yes it's expensive but it's comparable to other resorts. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taneya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in two units (1 bedroom and 2 bedroom) for a party of 4 adults and 3 children for 2 weeks. Accomodations were clean and well maintained but the hallways were showing signs of wear and tear as a number of stains were evident in the hallways. The cleaning staff were very helpful and quite willing to adjust their cleanung shedule if you asked.
Pools and water slides were excellent for the children. Facilities included a number of hot pools spread throughout the complex. The daily feeding of fish proved to be hit with the children.
Dukes provides excellent food but a meal can take up to a couple of hours depending on how busy the restaurant was. We found that meals at the Hula Grill ( a sister restaurant) in the Whalers Village were much faster.
Our only complaint was the the two units were separated by 5 floors even though we asked to have them closer together three times. I never did get a satisfactory explanation even though we were assured twice ( once by a booking agent and once by a phone call to the check in area) but upon arrival we found we were on diffferent floors. Although there could be a number of reasons I think the providers should be more forthright on their policy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeminiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 1br unit with our 16yr old daughter. The property is beautiful. The grounds are lush and well maintained. Our unit was mountain view, which included a view of the local sewer plant. The room was nice and included a washer and dryer. That came in handy, but it was the slowest washer and dryer I have ever used. Seriously, the dryer took 2 hours! The bathroom had one sink and there was 1 small shelf underneath for storage. We had 3 people and there wasn't adequate storage in the bathroom. We used a cardboard box from Costco, on the floor, to hold the things that didn't fit on the small shelf. The extra towels were on that shelf too, so there really wasn't storage. There also was only 1 towel bar in the bathroom. There was one in the tub, but if you used the shower, the towels would get wet. The bathroom was pretty, but not very functional.

The beds were very comfortable. It was very quiet at night and we slept well. The kitchen was nice, but there were only 4 plates, cups, spoons, forks, etc. We ate breakfast and lunch at the room, so we were continually washing dishes. It would be nice to have a few more plates and such. If you eat out all the time, this won't be an issue.

We enjoyed all the pools, but you had to get out early(8am) to get good deck chairs. When we first arrived, the deck chairs were very low to the ground and very uncomfortable. The day before we left, they changed out all the deck chairs throughout the whole property. The workers said they had gotten so many complaints. The new chairs were so much better. Great change. They advertise a river pool, but it doesn't have a current or go around in a circle so you can float around and around. Its just a longer, more narrow pool. That's all. It was different than I expected.
Honua Kai is at the very north edge of Kaanapali. It is kind of far out. You can't just walk to Whalers Village or Lahaina. You have to drive or take a bus to get to anything. I noticed the Westin had shuttle busses to Lahaina. That would be a great service for Honua Kai to offer. It would make staying there much more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beadqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
24.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
1.7 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing