We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I can't even put in to words how amazing our stay was here. We took our whole family and none of us wanted to leave!! I will be going back in the future for sure!! The pools were great, close to the beach, and with Duke's right there, you can have a great meal. We also made meals in our room. It was all around just a great week!! The best vacation we have taken so far!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,293
    449
    115
    32
    19
See reviews for
1003
652
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent 8 nights at the Honua Kai just north of Kaanapali Beach and found it to be an outstanding place to vacation. The location was close to everything. The grounds were spacious with several pools and Dukes's restaurant on site. The food was amazing as were the specialty drinks. I would recommend happy hour where drinks are more reasonable. The ribs are a must!!! We booked our 9th floor ocean view through Kay at mauikay.com. She was spot on about the property as well as the room. It was spacious for the 5 of us, very clean and a gorgeous lanai which overlooked the property as well as an ocean view. She also helped us book activities and again was right on the mark.

Room Tip: I would recommend an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spent a week with the family here. Great hotel. Rooms are spacious, modern, and have everything you might need, including a fully equipped kitchen, washer & drier, etc

The pools are great, and are very children-friendly.

Staff was as good as one could hope for.

Best kept secret is that you can get the 'informal' side of the great restaurant that is there, where portions are slightly smaller (but still very big) and are priced significantly lower (about half price). The restaurant was our best dining experience on the island, and we ate 50% of our meals there.

The only downside is the beach, which is nice, but nearly as nice as some of the other beaches the island has to offer. So if you aren't spending time at the pool, get in your car and find one of the recommended beaches in the area.

Room Tip: When going to eat onsite, ask for the informal area & menu. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Exceptional facility... The units are equipped with high end bosch appliances... washer/dryer, stove, refridgerator, dish washer, microwave, large flat-screen tv in living and bedroom area... dining room table and chairs... furnished lanai... wood cabinets with granite countertop... high-end bar-b-ques on the grounds near the pools, sand beach... comfortable bed... had no complaints with our stay...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful wonderful stay with my family there! 10th floor corner unit. The 2 bedroom suite was super spacious. 2 huge bedrooms and 2 large baths and pull out couch, plenty of closet. It was clean and beds were super comfy. TV's in every room. DVD player available in living room. Large lanai with Mountain view n partial view to the ocean. You can see the sunrise if you're up. It was not noisy at all. It is a little windy but we had our A/C on with doors closed most of time. Washer dryer and kitchen was nice. (It could use a few more bowls and plastic containers). We stocked up at a supermarket near by. We couldn't go out much for dinner because by end of day my young kids were exhausted. They would be sleeping at restaurants. We used the convenient grills by the pool to cook also. (some of grills are not lighting up properly but there are plenty others). The pool grounds were awesome! Plenty of meandering pools and waterfall and slide and even baby pools. The suite came with beach chairs, cooler, and umbrella that you can bring to beach. It's not a very large beach front but we found it adequate. But you're in Maui..should go explore other beaches everyday. Gorgeous sunsets from there. We had a lovely time. Yes it's expensive but it's comparable to other resorts. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in two units (1 bedroom and 2 bedroom) for a party of 4 adults and 3 children for 2 weeks. Accomodations were clean and well maintained but the hallways were showing signs of wear and tear as a number of stains were evident in the hallways. The cleaning staff were very helpful and quite willing to adjust their cleanung shedule if you asked.
Pools and water slides were excellent for the children. Facilities included a number of hot pools spread throughout the complex. The daily feeding of fish proved to be hit with the children.
Dukes provides excellent food but a meal can take up to a couple of hours depending on how busy the restaurant was. We found that meals at the Hula Grill ( a sister restaurant) in the Whalers Village were much faster.
Our only complaint was the the two units were separated by 5 floors even though we asked to have them closer together three times. I never did get a satisfactory explanation even though we were assured twice ( once by a booking agent and once by a phone call to the check in area) but upon arrival we found we were on diffferent floors. Although there could be a number of reasons I think the providers should be more forthright on their policy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 1br unit with our 16yr old daughter. The property is beautiful. The grounds are lush and well maintained. Our unit was mountain view, which included a view of the local sewer plant. The room was nice and included a washer and dryer. That came in handy, but it was the slowest washer and dryer I have ever used. Seriously, the dryer took 2 hours! The bathroom had one sink and there was 1 small shelf underneath for storage. We had 3 people and there wasn't adequate storage in the bathroom. We used a cardboard box from Costco, on the floor, to hold the things that didn't fit on the small shelf. The extra towels were on that shelf too, so there really wasn't storage. There also was only 1 towel bar in the bathroom. There was one in the tub, but if you used the shower, the towels would get wet. The bathroom was pretty, but not very functional.

The beds were very comfortable. It was very quiet at night and we slept well. The kitchen was nice, but there were only 4 plates, cups, spoons, forks, etc. We ate breakfast and lunch at the room, so we were continually washing dishes. It would be nice to have a few more plates and such. If you eat out all the time, this won't be an issue.

We enjoyed all the pools, but you had to get out early(8am) to get good deck chairs. When we first arrived, the deck chairs were very low to the ground and very uncomfortable. The day before we left, they changed out all the deck chairs throughout the whole property. The workers said they had gotten so many complaints. The new chairs were so much better. Great change. They advertise a river pool, but it doesn't have a current or go around in a circle so you can float around and around. Its just a longer, more narrow pool. That's all. It was different than I expected.
Honua Kai is at the very north edge of Kaanapali. It is kind of far out. You can't just walk to Whalers Village or Lahaina. You have to drive or take a bus to get to anything. I noticed the Westin had shuttle busses to Lahaina. That would be a great service for Honua Kai to offer. It would make staying there much more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.