We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property and perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great property and perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place to stay. We usually go to The Whaler closer to Black Rock but decided to hang out here. Great deal with KBM on VRBO. Stayed in Hokulani 610. Great views and there won't be any construction next door for quite some time.

We did the water slide and hot tubs. Ate at Duke's. The beach is great in front of the property. Though while we were there the islands were getting slammed with Southern swells.

Walking distance to Times market and the little market on site is great, if a bit pricey.

Overall a great experience. Don't think I would go here with just my wife and I but it was great with our in laws and brother in law.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,589
    583
    156
    49
    26
See reviews for
1,264
780
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently returned from a one week stay at the Honua Kai. Four of us stayed in a two-bedroom ocean-view condo. Loved the large patio, updated amenities and proximity to Dukes. And, the ocean view was even better than we expected!

The Hanua Kai is close to Whaler's Village and Lahaina so there's plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Also we enjoyed the beautiful beach and boardwalk.There were more children than I expected but it wasn't too bad.

My very minor complaints would be the heavy comforter on the bed. They were too heavy and hot for a tropical climate. When I inquired about obtaining a blanket at the front desk they said that they did not have any. I wish that hotels would move away from this trend as the comforters are not very functional in warm climates.

My other minor complaint is that when we booked a dinner cruise through the hotel we were not informed that you must wade through water to board the boat. Several in our group wore pants got a little soaked when boarding.

Room Tip: 405 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We like a suite when we travel. The condos were great with high-end appliances, chef's kitchen with granite counter tops, washer and dryer in the condo, large flat screen TV's in the living room and bedrooms, decks off the living room and bedroom with a fabulous whitewater ocean view. The manager had a meet and greet party the first night we arrived with wine, Hors d'oeuvre's, cheese and crackers. The restaurant on the property is fantastic...beautiful grounds and beach. GREAT LOCATION!!! Look forward to going back soon... for a nice relaxing vacation. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is an amazing place, I loved it, i visited on our honeymoon, the property is right in front of the beach, the pool is very nice and has a restaurant bar and grills you can use near by. The amenities are great, new appliances, rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is very comfortable and spacious, the rooms have washing machines and dryers also. There are only good things to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a grocery store near by where you can purchase goods and use the in room kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Pros:
Great Location
Very family orientated
Very nice, spacious, fully furnished suites
Very quick response for maintenance issues
Has mostly everything you need
Relatively quiet
Beautiful, well-maintained resort
Many pools and spas
Great access to beach
Good quality appliances
Lots of parking

Cons:
No business center (ie: no computer you could use to check your email, or print out a letter)
No Pay-per-view (had to rely on dvds that you get elsewhere)
No on-sight dvd rental service (there was a dvd rental place across the street, however (10-min walk))
Need a car to go exploring
Did not have a high-chair available for babies
Resort was a drive away from many tourist shops (like Whaler's Village) (there were several shops across the street, but not places suitable for hanging out for a few hours)

I had my family reunion at this resort with 8 adults and 4 children. This suite I rented was more of an apartment than a hotel suite per say. (I believe my apartment had an owner somewhere - not the Honua Kai. But Honua Kai managed and serviced everything). I have no real complaints about this place. I would certainly consider staying here again. Definitely rent a car if you want to explore Maui or do a lot of activities. Bring a bunch of dvds if you like to watch movies (or rent some from a near-by store). I went here off-peak season, so I had no problems getting help from the concierge or maintenance staff. The price was also not crazy, compared to other places. Staff was mostly friendly. You could organize many activities from within the resort. Overall, the Honua Kai is a very good quality resort that you should consider if you're coming to Maui.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just came back from our Holulu & Maui 10 days vacation. We stayed at this property for 5 nights. There are three criteria in choosing a place to stay in Maui : 1) Must be clean ( = newer the better , since I have a cockroach phobia ) 2) Right on the beach 3) Multiple pools good for small children. This property met all these and we were quite happy staying there. Our unit was #646 and we rent thru Rainbow Chase. They are very organized ! The Lanai is the best thing about this property is the Lanai !!! The foldable doors make it possible to have "outdoor dining area " and the dark colored screen doors ( they are also foldable ) are great to keep the direct sun light and bugs away. The full size bath tub really helped giving relaxating time .
The only thing I did not like was the laundry machine --- small and not powerful enough.

The deli has a good secection of food items : they are generally a little pricy but I had one of the best croissants from there. We had one breakfast, one dinner ( take out ) and one lunch at Duke. Their food was excellent except the lunch and the dinner menu were the same.

There is a mall with "Times" supermarket just across from the property. Very convenient.

Lastly, the reason I did not rate this property with 5 starts is ... we like snorkeling and the the beach was not the best snorkeling spot in Maui.... However, you can drive to Black Rock ( Sheraon Hotel area ) , Kapalua Beach ( 10 minutes to the north ), Napili beach easily from here.

Room Tip: I spent so much time and effort to find the best unit for me. #646 gives good ocean view. This migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Unit 623 was the perfect location for our stay in Maui. The unit was modern and clean with all the amenities of home to make our stay enjoyable. Little extras like the Hawaiian chocolates and bottle of champagne were the icing on the cake. Watching the beautiful sun rise and set from the lanai was amazing. The location of the unit is superb with direct ocean and pool views. The Honua Kai is an environmentally friendly building with recycling for bottles, paper and glass on each floor. The resort was within walking distance of the Whalers Village. Joe and Rhonda were super helpful and friendly and made my first VRBO experience a breeze. I would certainly recommend this property to a friend or relative and hope visit again someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.5 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.