We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Magic @ Honua Kai Resort & Spa Room 438 Konea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Maui Magic @ Honua Kai Resort & Spa Room 438 Konea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the fabulous Honua Kai Resort & Spa – Konea Building Suite 438 April 9th through 16th, 2013. We are a family of 2 thirtysomething adults and one 22 month old toddler. The resort and condo perfectly met our needs for our family vacation. This holiday was our first time to Maui and the Hawaiian Islands.

OVERALL FAMILY HOLIDAY COMPARISON: We have had the fortune of travelling with our son on a few family vacations and compare this vacation amongst stays at the Beaches Turks and Caicos and a 7 night Disney Cruise. Before kids, we have travelled to many all-inclusives throughout Mexico and Caribbean…never less than 4.5 star.

All vacations have their pluses and minuses. I wasn’t sure if I would like staying in a condo where you are responsible for some meals, laundry, etc. - I mean don’t we travel to escape those daily chores?!! But for family travel, staying in a condo suite is easiest – especially for a toddler’s nap time and early bedtimes where you have somewhere else to escape to in the living room or on the lanai. Not to mention eating meals in your own suite compared to always at a restaurant or buffet. Toddlers tend to create a lot of laundry so I loved having my own laundry pair at my convenience. We ate every breakfast and all but one lunch in the suite. We ate out for dinner every night except one night. For some reason, chores in paradise feel very different than chores at home ;).

REVIEW OF SUITE 438 KONEA: This is a one bedroom suite with partial ocean view. We booked this trip through VRBO and had the pleasure of working with the property and booking manager Maui Blue Properties to book our holiday. My emails were always met with prompt service (never more than a 2 hour wait…if that even!) and we appreciated the service of meeting with the onsite Maui Blue Property Manager upon check in. We did have an issue with the dryer in our suite and sent a text to the on-site manager and left for one of our many adventures. When we came back, the dryer was fixed. Perfect! Seriously the best service we have ever encountered with any resort or hotel we have stayed at. The suite was just like home, comfy bed and amenities. Our son loved the retractable window/doors to the lanai – he insisted that the doors be open at all times so that he could run in and out whenever he pleased. We were especially pleased with the view – we could see the ocean through the park trees. And the free WI-FI…LOVED it!! It was so nice to have reliable, quick and free WI-FI available so that we could research restaurants, activities, etc. to plan our days.

REVIEW OF RESORT: Nice lush gardens, great pools, ample chairs for the time of year we went, beach was perfect. Nice golden brown sand. Loved seeing whales in the distant. The week we were at the resort there was just a slight breeze…perfect. We ate at Duke’s for one dinner and one lunch – great food and drinks. Loved the location along north Ka’anapali Beach, loved that the resort was right across the road from Times Market (food store). Concierge was always friendly and efficient. LOVED the underground parking. Super convenient when loading up the car for our many adventures.

REVIEW OF ON-SITE DIVING SERVICES: Unfortunately I was not able to dive due to a head cold (difficulty clearing ears for decent, etc.) but my husband did 2 shore dives with the on-site dive master. It was a nice treat to just meet along the shore in front of the resort, put on the equipment and walk out into the water and dive. My husband’s first dive was right in front of the resort. There was a strong current but he saw lots of coral and could hear whales in the distance. The dive master tried to take the group (dive master + 3 divers) closer to the whales but no luck. For the second dive, the dive master met my husband and one other diver in front of a different resort just north of Honua Kai (was within walking distance) where the rental equipment was waiting for them. They suited up, and walked out and had a great dive. My husband said he saw many many turtles and one large reef shark (was 5-6’ in length). Dives were at 9:00 AM and he was back in the suite by 10:00 AM. Perfect! Two dives with rental BCDs, tanks and flippers cost $180 USD. So a reasonable price.

REVIEW OF HAPPY KIDS NANNY SERVICE: Because our son is not old enough to go to Honua Kai’s Children’s Day Program (must be 3 years of age), we arranged 5 hours of nanny care with Happy Kids Nanny Services as recommended by Concierge. Instead of booking a pricey snorkel/sail trip to Honolua Bay and tote our toddler with us, we decided that our son and us would be much happier if we booked a nanny to take him to the pool while we drove to Honolua Bay and snorkeled for free instead. Our nanny was great! Our son was very happy with her (Jessica). She took him to the pool on the resort and then fed him lunch in our suite and put him down for a nap. Our son was sleeping when we arrived back at the suite – perfect! So kudos to Happy Kids Nanny Services. We highly recommend their services. Cost for our one child was $20 per hour plus we tipped our nanny at the end.

I won’t go into detail about all the many excursions we did: drove some of the Road to Hana – as long as our toddler son would let us but the highlight was the trek into Twin Falls; saw the Iao Needle at the Iao Valley State Park, Maui Ocean Center and Ma’alea Harbour, Napili Beach, Blow Hole (Nakalele ?), Whaler’s Village for some shopping and dinner at Hula Grill; Drums of Pacific Luau at the Hyatt; Old Lahaina Town and Front Street for some shopping and dining, a drive to Makena Beach and Wailea area, and snorkelling at Honolua Bay. So we saw A LOT in our short 7 day visit. Not a lot of time was spent lounging around the resort but it was such a treat to come back to Honua Kai and Suite 438. Our favorite thing about Maui was that you could see and do a lot in 3-4 hours – perfect so that we could get back to the suite in time for our son’s nap time and do something else when he woke up.

My only disappointment was that we did not stay in Maui for longer. We still have so much to see and do and our son LOVED Maui and the Honua Kai Resort & Spa. We will consider no other resort and hope that my review convinces you to book Suite 438 Konea of Honua Kai Resort & Spa through Maui Blue Properties/VRBO.

It truly doesn't get better than this...on site diving at resort, children's program during day and nights, friendly concierge service, located on a gorgeous Hawaiian beach, close to all the ammenities. What more could you ask for? Book it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    495
    128
    38
    21
See reviews for
1,070
708
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in #450 - 3 bedroom
- dealing with the owners - fantastic experience
- The store was great - pools were excellent -snorkelling out front was great - (saw turtles)
Dukes Restaurant had great food especially the calamari
- Saw Whales from our balcony everyday
- Going to Costo was great - fresh fish and meat - very good - buy gifts for home there
- Shopping at Times Market was super good - very fresh sushi - great gifts - large selection of
wine (you can imagine what our bill was for 13 days for 9 people)

- The wind was not a factor - we were told to beware of the trades in April - but we didn't experience that
- Town of Paia - small and lovely - Shop at Sand & Sea
- Napili Beach - so Great - Turtles very close for snorkeling - Food was great at the Gazebo -
(we stood in line 40 minutes but watched the breaching whales the whole time...)

- Have to mention the Hula Grill, Burgers in Paradise, Kimos and Dukes
(all fantastic food - All had gluten free selections - all great ocean views
We made our reservations on-line before we left home because we had 9 people.

So you can tell we had a wonderful holiday - so good infact my husband & I are going
back in February and staying at the Honua Kai - thats the resort for me....

Contact me if you have any questions - auntybev@shaw.ca

By for now
Bev

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this resort April 3-10. Had a three bedroom unit with a huge living room/patio area. The unit was very nice and very clean. The only issue was that the air conditioning in the non-Master bedroom was not strong and we woke up hot every night. Even after the issue was "fixed" we still woke up hot. Also, the A/C should come back on automatically when the lanai doors are shut. It did in one of the bedrooms, but not for the living room. The pool areas were very nice. Someone should monitor the "quiet pool" a little more as there were noisy kids splashing around several times. That is fine in any of the other pools, but defeats the purpose of that particular pool. We were always able to find chairs, even if we didn't go to the pool til 11 am. We rented a gazebo one day, which was fun. The Duke's servers could have come around a little more often, but it was adequate. The food at Duke's was terrific. Great Mahi Mahi, Mac n cheese, and Hula Pie! Only really windy part of one day and otherwise the weather was terrific.

Room Tip: 325 was an excellent unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Honua Kai for 12 nights over spring break. Travelled with our kids grils 10'and 7. We had a one bedroom with a view of the mountains. The room was fabulous, resort loved the pools. We enjoyed the property immensely and would return. Ordered pizza from dollies it was fabulous, dukes was good. My younger daughter enjoyed kids club. I felt it was overpriced and the activities didn't vary much. We used 6 times in 12 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked through VRBO and got an ocean view room facing north (not looking into the resort). It was a small upgrade, but the pricy jump was quite substantial, and we could only see a portion of the ocean. We had roughly 60 guests also in this complex, all with very different layouts. Some looked out to the hills, some had 2 bed ocean front penthouses (which were amazing!), and many had resort inner rooms (which had a great feel to them, but no privacy).

ROOMS: All in all, the rooms were great when compared to other resorts....and quite big. They had a fresh feel to them. The large patio window doors were great to allow the ocean breeze to flow through. We felt the room was worth the price when compared to others in the area.

LOCATION: It has a wonderful beach! The snorkelling was good, sand was clean and fine, and the views were amazing. The famous Dukes is there, but NOT cheap! Its also not as good as the Oahu location....bit of a different feel. Other then that, there were not many options for pubs and restaurants.
The wind seemed to always be an issue. The area is known for this, so if you're ok with that, this place should be on your list. The proximity to Lahaina was great....such an awesome town to hang out at! A few blocks away, there is a liquor store and pharmacy worth checking out.

RESORT: Lots of kids! The grounds are in great condition. Lots of ponds, waterfalls, etc. Self parking is not free and not cheap (fee per day), but very convenient if you opt to park here with your rental (underground).

In summary, I would of gave this resort a 5/5 IF it wasn't in a windy location, and had more pubs to chose from. Everything else was as expected.

Room Tip: Book through VRBO...this location is a owner complex...some good deals out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

There are many positive reviews about Honua Kai, but found that only the rooms were 4 star.

Now to the downfalls, comparing to other hotels in same category and price:
1) Valets did not open our doors and welcome us to Honua Kai.
2) The front desk staff was not welcoming or conversational, it's the least I ask for after a 5 hour flight.
3) The front entrance was not busy, but yet the bags took. 35-40 minutes to get to the room.
4) The ice water in the lobby had mold come out of it.
5) We requested for housekeeping after 11am and she knocked on our room door to tell us that her lunch was at 11am so she would not have time to clean our room. After we paid for room cleaning.
6) The towel cabana closes at 5pm, even when sunset is at 7:30pm. Inconveniencing guests to walk to the front desk for towels.

I feel that these are things that the Honua Kai Resort could improve on.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Honua Kai for two weeks over spring break (March 30-April 13) in a two bedroom unit. We have two children (6 and 10) and were with my mother. We all LOVED the resort and absolutely did not want to leave. We had a resort view, corner unit which looked on the property waterfall and was the perfect location. Units closer to the pool were less private and louder but wonderful as well. The units are stunning as are the grounds. Many pools and clean, manicured grounds. During busy times, pool chairs are hard to find so I recommend getting there early (7:00-7:30) and then grabbing a quick breakfast after (they have a 1 hr grace period for your belongings). I do have to say that the pool chairs are very low and difficult to get out of...even for the young let alone my 68 year old mother. But not really anything to complain about, just to be aware of. Dukes is fabulous and the resort is so close to many other wonderful restaurants. We walked to beach walk and checked out the other resorts...Honua Kai is, without a doubt, the best!

Room Tip: Ocean view condos are louder as they are around the pool area. Resort view could be close to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.