We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Destination Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous Destination Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Impeccable and gracious resort with everything you could want. Had a one bedroom suite that was gorgeous. Top of the line decor and amenities. Just about everything you would need if you wanted to cook in with a fresh catch and some margaritas! Fabulous lanai. Loved the washer/dryer in the room. So great for taking care of swim wear! LCD TV's in the living area and bedroom. Bed was comfortable and plush. The pool area is never ending and artistically done with lovely hot tub nitches throughout and a waterfall. Beach was nice. This is a great family destination, romantic retreat or friends lodging due to the spaciousness of the suites. The open air foyer with nicely placed chairs/tables for lounging are well thought out. Close to Lahaina but far enough away for peace and quiet. The gourmet deli/small market was great with a nice wine selection that was not horribly overpriced. Had breakfast at the main restaurant and that was very good. Based on some of the prices I've seen for high end hotels in Maui, I do think this place is a good value though not inexpensive. Although did not partake as I was with a local friend who knew where to go and what to do, there were some great activities available for guests. Definitely a wonderful place with Aloha all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    499
    128
    38
    21
See reviews for
1,076
710
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice complex.
Very helpful friendly concierge personnel. Nice rooms with kitchens.
We paid for a partial ocean view and couldnt see it at all. But we were on the beach or out. A lot of really young loud kids having fun.
Beach was rough this time of year for snorkelling but great for body surfing, boogie boarding. Beach is calmer closer you get to Black Rock.
Wanted late check out, couldn't pay it and had maids pushing us out exactly at 11. Not great.
Dukes restaurant was good and beach walkway was nice.
Only negatives were lack of view, parking lot garbage cans not cleaned out( had to walk by it everyday to car- yuck) and lack of quiet.
Great for young families.
Older families with teens - not so much. Our teen son didn't want anything to do with the pool as it had too many yelling crying toddlers. They could use an adult only pool.
Had a good stay but ....we now have tried
this complex but we will go back to Royal Lahaina or Westin next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights on Maui at Honua Kia. It was an amazing trip. We did VRBO and had a 2 bedroom, ocean view on the 9th floor. It was well worth the money for the view. Sitting on the lania and whale watching was so nice and relaxing. The condo was suburb, very high end. We found this for about the same price as some of the nicer resorts charge for a plain old hotel room. We had room for our family to spread out and we could also cook. It is very expensive to eat out every meal in Maui. I loved the pools and there were always plenty of chairs no matter what time of day you went down. The beach does have a reef, but walk the beach to the left and it gets better. We went to several other beaches to north and the beach in front of the Sheraton. You really should do that to really see the island in my opinion. The drive around coast to the north is so beautiful. Also, the comments about the wind worried me, but we had only 2 really windy days and that was due to the weather. It was windy every where those days, not just Honia Kia. The other days were perfect. I really don't know how anyone could not enjoy this condo or Maui for that matter. Go ahead and book it.....YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013, in a one bedroom with den condo room. Our first impression of the resort was poor because he had a bad customer service experience with the front desk (we had to fight to get the "resort view" room we had reserved and paid more for, rather than the "mountain view" room with the sewage plant smell that they tried to tell us was "the same thing).

The resort itself was very nice, pools were great, beach gorgeous, landscaping beautiful, rooms new but showing some wear, and a grocery store with everything and good prices across the street. Unfortunately the big issue for us was that it was too windy. The beach and pool were windy enough as to make swimming or lounging near them so miserable that we didn't do it. Apparently Maui is known for being windy, and the Kaanapali coast is one of the windiest places. We ended up driving to lots of other beaches that were protected and not windy, and had a great vacation, but I would not return to Honua Kai.

Room Tip: Do not reserve mountain view rooms - these have a bad view of a major road and are downwind of a sew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 6 nights here. This is a superb resort, and we would definitely stay in this location again. The rooms are superb, the pool area and beach are fantastic and the grounds are beautiful and romantic. Having a supermarket within walking distance across the street allows you to use the kitchen facilities in the room, which was great! This resort truly completed our romantic stay in Maui, and we are already planning a return trip to Maui in the next few years, and we will definitely stay at this resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Honua Kai, in a few different rooms, and could not have been happier w/our stay. Prior to going to Maui I thoroughly reviewed the properties in the area we wanted to be, and was able to find a VRBO at Honua Kai that met our needs with a price that was reasonable. With three teenagers it was important to have a kitchen & washer & dryer, sometimes these ameneties are not found in the upscale resorts. The pools & hot tubs were all beautiful & well mainatined, there are several BBQ's on site for grilling, easy access to boardwalk & beach. Staff was all beyond friendly & helpful.
There are less expensive places to stay in Maui, but if you want a top quality resort w/all ameneties as well as comforts of home, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 8 nights in a 1 bedroom unit at Honua Kai recently. It was a very well equipped unit with 2 HD TVs, a kitchen and a washer/dryer. Everything seemed fairly new. We had some difficulty figuring out how to operate the front-loading washer, but the front desk sent someone very promptly. The grounds were beautiful. Our only complaint was that our "resort view" room was just a view of the parking lot.

Room Tip: "Resort View" room was just a view of the parking lot. If this is important to you, you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.