We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orange, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“quite disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booking our trip through AAA, we were ASSURED that this resort was really really great. Maybe when it first opened??

Bottom line: don't stay here.

--It was lounge chair wars (the staff just chuckled at all of the people wandering around looking at all of the empty lounges being 'saved' by a towel for hours on end--it was amusing to them)
--the coral in the water cuts up your feet unless you purchase & wear water shoes or booties
--the washer had mold in it
--the DVD player didn't work
--the toilet plugged up
--not even SALT nor PEPPER provided in the 'gourmet kitchen'(c'mon-really??)
--we all ended up with stiff necks due to the lumpy pillows
--on the 3rd floor, almost every wall had been patched due to people hitting them with luggage...but the patches were beige and the walls were a completely different color. It was as if Maintenance went on vacation & forgot to finish the job??
--they really should remove the 'SPA' part...their literature all stated: 'Spa opening January 2013'...when we checked out-staff said...'ummmm--maybe not until December, if at all.'
--very DANGEROUS: slippery tile on the lanais when it got wet with the rain--we had to walk on beach towels, so that we wouldn't slip and fall
--it ISN'T a 'lazy river'---there is NO RIVER...it is a horseshoe-shaped pool
--trash remained near the lounges day after day until we finally picked it up.
--many many units are still unsold--after 4 years--that alone should be a red flag
--and yes, it does smell due to the sewage plant being across the street...as with most things-it becomes the 'norm' and you don't notice it after 2 or 3 days.

For the amount of $$$$$ we paid, we were assured that we would 'just love it.' As seasoned Maui visitors who have stayed in both big & small resorts, this was by far: THE WORST EVER.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    539
    143
    42
    24
See reviews for
1,172
753
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This amazing property has re-set the bar for what we'll expect when visiting a tropical island. During the week between Christmas and New Year's we have traditionally visited a different caribbean island and this year ventured out to Maui. Long ride to and from Atlanta, but well worth it, for picky travelers.

We stayed for 8 nights in rom 730 of Hokulani - a mountain-facing room in the southern tower. We share the comments of many regarding spacious room and condo amenities, won't be too redundant here, but echo the remarks that these rooms are spec'd high. We really liked facing the mountains and were rewarded with a beautiful sunrise every morning. We spent plenty of time at the beach, so a mountain-facing room was great for us, and shady after 12 noon or so, for enjoyable afternoons. We had the Lanai open nearly all the time, we definitely were not bothered by any sewer treatment smell, or high winds. We were surprised by comments about high winds, because we just never found this to be a problem. In fact, we visited several properties south of Black Rock (the Sheraton, the Westin, others) and found that the relative lack of any breeze there made the sand much hotter, and just plan hot with crowds. Again, with direct comparisons, Honua Kai easily outweighs other properties on every level: location, light breeze, less crowded beaches.

Some highlights of our trip:
- Remarks about Times Market across the street are solid. In fact, they open at 5:30am, so the first morning when we woke up early due to the time change, I whipped right over and collected groceries without losing an hour in the afternoon. Valet schlepped all the bags up for us - on Hawaii they only have paper bags, no plastic, so this was a convenient drop-off. If you rent from the hotel directly and want cheap pool toys for the week, they have then here too.
- For drinks during the day, Duke's serves all their beverages in clear/frosted plastic cups, so if you get this type of cup, there is no problem bringing down all you care to drink during the day. If you buy blue or red cups, you may draw the ire of a waitress who wants to sell an expensive drink (which we bought occasionally), but the clear cups blend right in.
- During our stay, there were plenty of servers for drinks and meals around the pools, quick, friendly.
- The pools and hot tubs were great - warm compared to the ocean and also compared to freezing cold pools in the Caribbean during winter. Although we traveled with our 13-year old during a week when it was sold out, never felt over-run by kids at all.
- The dive and recreation desk was great - we did a dive off-shore here. Others have commented that the snorkeling right off shore is great - they're right. Great coral, great fish, some turtles. We also drove twice up to Kapalua Bay and found this to be slightly better snorkeling, but the strip from Honua Kai down to Black Rock had great coral gardens with good visibility. We also snorkeled south/in front of Black Rock but found it grossly over-rated. It was difficult to get a free square of sand south of Black Rock, so we stayed near Honua Kai when we didn't venture North. We've snorkeled all over the world, and found the reef here to be surprisingly UN-over-snorkeled. It's very vibrant. If we could has asked for only one thing to make this the most perfect spot in the entire world, it would have been for sea shells. There aren't any on Maui (only a disappointment for a 13-year old collector).
- Housekeeping did a great job, honestly, left us plenty of refills on dish soap, laundry soap, towels, other amenities.
- This side did have traffic noise at night, the only one sliver of negative. But the hotel was silent - we never heard the neighbors that we knew were surrounding us. Not once. And with the mountain view, it's completely private, whereas on the inside rooms, you share all views with all the others inside. Not our style.
- Washer and dryer were great - never had any issue with long drying times like I've read in other posts.
- Only one thing the sizeable bathroom could use - a line for drying bathing suits, if you don't put yours in a dryer.
- We ate an amazing meal our first night at Duke's - the full service holiday menu, the fish was superb. Later in the week, we ate off the "casual" menu and weren't as impressed. They take reservations for Duke's on OpenTable, so you can easily plan in advance like we did, and get a table right when you want it.
- We also at an amazing (and expensive) meal at Merriman's on Kapalua Bay, worth if for the wine list and the ambiance.
- We did the requisite 3am drive to the summit for sunrise and found this a bit over-rated (sorry, it just wasn't "religious", it was freaking cold!). Really windy and really cold. And we packed plenty - hats, gloves, the works.
- We did a sunrise sail with Trilogy, which departs from south of Black Rock - we literally had whales breaching 10 feet off the side of the boat, it was a must-do, great service. We did the Aloha Friday sunset with hors d'oeuvres. There was a 3-drink limit included. Not that we planned to drink more, we were just surprised by the limit - first time we've encountered that, and they were counting, trust me.
- High recommend for the Old Lahaina Luau on Front Street, a great side trip.
- We took a surfing lesson with Maui Girl Surfers, a HIGH recommend, they have a spot in a less-crowded area south of Lahaina.
- We also took a plane over to the Big Island (Hilo) for one night (covered in a separate review), and this is a high recommend for getting up close with hot lava, we hooked up with a local (David Ewing), who for $100/head actually allows you on his property, with a guided 2 1/2 mile hike over the old lava fields, walking directly up to the live lava flows. An amazing experience.
- Our last day we were excited to find a Monk Seal sunning itself on the shore right in front of Honua Kai - it was roped off by protective services, but really cool.

Honua Kai was a perfect place and foundation for all this - we spent tons of time at the beach here, in the pools, on the grounds. We wanted to get away from the city and this was perfect.

Room Tip: Higher up room gets best view, we loved mountain view, the $100 - 400/night savings was well-spent e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As everyone scours reviews prior to making investments of thousands of dollars at a hotel, all we every really want is the total truth about what the hotel will really be like. I read so many great reviews about this place, but constantly wondered about the few bad reviews. Please know that the place is spectacular, espcially considering how expensive Maui is. First, the beach does have a bit or coral in the front of it, but that is the case for so many beaches in Maui. If you simply walk about 90 seconds down, you can easily aceess the beautiful and wonder water. Sitting on the beach was spectacular. I also did not know you could rent paddle boards and kayaks right from hotel as well as rent umbrellas and chairs. the pools are just perfect and as long as you get there early have no issue getting a spot. The rooms are truly amazing!! We were there at Christmas and the place was full but you would never know it from how quiet the rooms are. I really have not one bad thing to say about this resort and really can not imagine a better place, again especially for he cost. Also Brook from Harris Realty is amazing and to have such amazing service through a rental agency was great. We were 2 hours late and he waited to check us into the room. also, our washer broke and he was over in an hour to check it out, had a part flown in and the next day it was running - truly amaing - we stayed in 745 in the H tower!

Room Tip: Do go for water view - wish we could have afforded room with Grills !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Honua Kai for 9 days in July 2012. We chose this "condo/hotel" because of the high reviews on tripadvisor. We have an only child (9 years old) and find it difficult to stay in condos because he really enjoys the social aspect of larger resorts. This resort was a PERFECT compromise between a hotel and condo. I feel compelled to say this resort is full of children of all ages - kids everywhere! The pools and on site restaurants (Duke's and Aina Gourmet Deli) give a resort feel - while still enjoying the convenience of a condo. We stayed in an ocean view room on the 6th floor of the Konea tower - stunning ocean views. I never noticed a sewer smell while in our room, however during a run (awesome beach walk path for running/walking that is easily accesible from the resort) I did notice the smell two separate times. If booking a mountain view room - give this serious consideration. We booked as "resort" guests - not VRBO. And will do so again for a few reasons - the daily towel service, the ability to "charge" to our room and the parking is included. All of which balance the cost. This comes in very convenient - as Duke's offers poolside bar/food service at extremely reasonable prices. Otherwise you must carry cash - and because the beaches in Maui are all public - you will notice "strays" coming through all of the properties (petty theft is high in Maui). The towel service will save you soooo much time washing towels - the washer/dryer units are energy efficient and it will take you about three hours to fully dry a couple of towels - can't imagine the laundry for four or five people every day - yikes. With towel service, you can get fresh, clean towels as often as needed. Priceless!!
Plenty of pool space and outside grills - great water slide for the kids, a lazy river, hot tubs and a "waterfall cave" to keep busy. Did I mention lots of other kids for your children to play with?! The beach is beautiful - and offers excellent snorkeling. Great swimming if you walk about 3 minutes down the beach to an area without coral. Extremely convenient, easy, awesome! Our favorite snorkeling was at Black Rock near the Sheraton. We actually walked the beach walk (about 1.5 miles) instead of driving because there are very, very few free parking spots near Kaanapali beach. Otherwise, you will pay $30.00 plus to park each day.
We shopped at three grocery stores - cost was really about the same at all. No need to fight traffic/parking in Lahaina. The Times Supermarket which is right outside the resort (across from the entry driveway). It was great and comparable to the "in-town" grocery stores so we won't waste time driving in next time!
We ate at Duke's several evenings. Only one time inside - and couple of time outside with the bar menu. It has a great selection and great atmosphere in the evening - I'm missing it as I write this review.
I did read a lot of reviews about the wind - and yes it did get WINDY at times. We had a couple of afternoons that we left because the wind was so incredible. But the lack of the crazy crowds found on Kanaapali Beach made the wind tolerable. Wouldn't consider staying down in that resort area because of the huge crowds on the beach. Don't let the wind deter you - it's absolutely beautiful! And it wasn't windy most afternoons! ;) Two out of nine afternoons isn't bad.
Outside of Honua Kai I recommend the Maui Beach Boys surfing school - private lessons all the way!! All three of us got up surfing - and bring 40.00 cash for the cd of pics - great family photos!
Also - if you want a fabulous excursion tour I highly recommend Trilogy. The crew and boat are fantastic. This company limits the number of people on their boat which makes for a much more comfortable/fun experience. We went snorkeling in the Molokini crater and turtle town. It was my favorite day . . . thank you, Trilogy!
And of course, you have to experience the road to Hana! Make sure to leave by about 6:00 am from the resort to beat the crowds. It was really worth it. Then stop for a late lunch in Paia at Flatbreads. We were told about this place by the Duke's bartender and it was a real taste of the local Maui flair. We will return to Paia and Flatbreads next trip. And of course, we only stay at Honua Kai Resort!

Room Tip: Ocean views are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This resort was nothing short of phenomenal. I have had the good fortune to stay in dozens of beach resorts on multiple continents including Sandals, Club Med, Royal, Westin, RIU, etc. and Honua Kai just might be the best I've seen. The reviews here are nearly perfect so my expectations were high and they were still exceeded.

The rooms are large, I believe the smallest are still nearly 600sqft and many much larger. The entire outside wall opens up to make the large lanai part of the suite. The kitchens are great with modern stainless steel and granite. The bathroom was very large and had everything you would expect at a high end resort including separate shower/bath, Aveda bath products, and dual sinks. The housekeeping service was professional and timely.

The ground and pools are what really make this resort. The pool/beach area is designed in such a way that it creates several areas each with it's own appeal. There is an area for just about everyone. It's large enough so that you can get away and relax in a nice setting away from the crowd, a lazy river, a waterslide, waterfalls, infinity pool, even a sandy pool area for young kids with a "mini beach" and it's own hot tub. Parents of kids of any age will find the perfect pool for them here as there is just about every depth for your kids from a half foot, to a foot, 1 1/2 feet and up from there. There are even some toddler friendly hot tubs that weren't quite as hot. I'm not certain how many pools there were but there were plenty.

If you want to spend a bit extra you can rent a private cabana or nicer lounge chair but we didn't feel it was necessary as there were always good chairs available at any time of day.
We were here during the week before Christmas with the resort completely full yet chairs were never an issue. This is actually the only resort I have been to that actually had enough lounge chairs. Because of this there was very little of the "towel game" where people come down first thing in the morning and throw a towel down on their favorite chair only to return at 1pm.

Having the Aina store/restaurant on site was nice for little things and some breakfasts, liquor, staples, coffee, etc. The Times supermarket and strip mall across the street was a 10 minute walk away although if stocking up you would probably want a car if you had one. It wasn't too expensive.

Dukes is a nice place with good food. The setting just back from the beach allows it to catch amazing sunsets. It's not cheap but compared to the other restaurants in the area the prices are reasonable with plenty of entree selection under $30 and even some under $20.

We didn't notice any sewer smell at all.

I have never been to the same resort twice - Honua Kai may be the first that I return to. It's as close to perfect as I've seen and worth a premium. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Amazing Property! If you're looking for a place to stay in Maui, look no further. This is one of the nicest properties I've stayed at. Earlier we stayed at a really expensive and high end hotel in Kauai, yet we were blown away at how much nicer Honua Kai was at a fraction of the price.

Rooms
Our room was a HUGE suite with amazing amenities. Typically we're used to a cramped hotel room - at Honua Kai we got their one-bedroom and we could get lost in the space. A full kitchen with top-end appliances (fridge, stove, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, blender, all the cookware and utensils you'd need) that was stocked with dishwashing detergent, soap and laundry detergent. Stackable washer/dryer which was a god-send - extremely valuable if you're staying more than 5 nights or have a family (if I would have known we'd have a W/D would have packed lighter!). A sitting area with full couch and TV - separate from the main lounge area - great if you have extra guests. Large sitting area with a full tv and internet connection. Expansive amazing lanai - in our case - with views of the mountain which is less expensive that the beach view and honestly more interesting (watch the sunrise, see clouds roll in, check out rainbows). The bedroom was nice with a massive comfy king bed and full TV. Fantastic bathroom with huge shower, full tub and maybe best of all - Aveda bath products. Overall the room was a bargain at the price we paid. A very, very small complaint is that the property is not really run as a hotel so the bath products and other soaps were not refilled that often - but towels were replenished.

Property
A number of interesting pools await you just a short walk from your room. All guests get towel cards which makes it easy to pick up clean towels for the pool/beach. Some of the pools can get overcrowded with kids - so be sure to pick wisely (there are "quiet pools" for adults only). One complaint which I'd read before but didn't really think would be a problem...but is...is the wind. Many of the days it was hard to relax with a cool and very forceful wind. Sitting at the pool was the worst. The beach was a bit better, but overall I wish the property could be picked up and moved to another part of the island to avoid the wind, that was their only downside in my opinion. The beach is a great place to relax and enjoy the view of Molokai and Lanai. The beach is short, but never seems to get too crowded. Enjoying the waves is a bit tougher - they are pretty harsh at certain times of the day and there is lots of corral below, so be careful. If you're into snorkeling it's a great place to bring your own gear or rent at the pool and enjoy the views without leaving the property.

There is ample parking. The hotel lobby and common areas are gorgeous. Sometimes wild kids or adults can be a bit distracting, but it's never too bad. There are outdoor grills for the times you want to grill out without all the smells in your room. Some of the grills didn't work and for others there was a wait, but overall they're high-end nice grill free for use. There is a great boardwalk/walkway that takes you past both Honua Kai buildings, the Westin and some private properties - great for a nice walk off the beach. The location of the property is fairly far away from the heart of Maui - but once you realize the great places nearby - Lahaina, shopping, restaurants, you'll feel at home in West Maui - but know that drives to the crater, airport and Hana will take considerably longer than if you were in South Maui.

And maybe best of all (and a nice way to end the trip), they allowed us a very late check out. As the case for most people going back to the mainland our flight left at 10pm the night we were checking out. At Honua Kai they allow for you to leave around 7pm at a cost of about 1/2 of a night's stay. I was glad they have this available instead of trying to kick you out. Plus it feels so much better to really maximize your last day on the island and take one last shower before you tackle hours of traveling.

I would recommend Honua Kai in a heartbeat. If I go back to Maui - I would definitely come back to stay here. You can tell they're trying to sell all the rooms/suites - so you may see more private rentals as opposed to a hotel model. Either way, check out this great property!

Room Tip: Mountain view provides a good bargain and a great view. One bedrooms are extremely spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent two weeks at this resort in early December and wish we could have stayed another two. We were in Konea Towel on the 8th floor and it was heavenly !
LOCATED about five miles from downtown Lahaina. Across the street is Times Supermarket for handy grocery shopping.
Aina Gourmet Deli Market and Dukes Restaurant are on the premises, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. At Dules,be prepared to wait 30-45 minutes for a table, unless you hit it lucky. Food is hit and miss but it is very handy. Also be prepared for LOTS OF KIDS at all times. This is a family-friendly resort.

STAFF: all the employees we met were most welcoming and friendly. We were checked in by Kupualani who was so patient in helping us decide "how high up we would go" (my travelling mate can't handle heights and I wanted a good view) so with her help we ended up on the 8th floor ---- and it was wonderful. When making reservations in the spring, I chatted with Pomei and Api who were also most patient and helpful.

STUDIO; We loved our unit. It was spacious, clean, very well-maintained and had lots of storage space. Bosch and Cuisinart appliances included washer/dryer, ceramic-top stove, microwave, large fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender and a full supply of dishes, glasses, pots & pans, ---literally everything you would need. (The only thing I missed was an egg lifter, so had to make scrambled eggs !) There is a large dining island (3 x 51/2 ft) with three stools. You could probably ask for more.
BATHROOM; Large shower stall with handy shelf to put your glasses,shampoo, etc. Lots of towels of all sizes and amenities. Only negative comment is that water pressure is not too good. It was adjusted by maintenance and improved slightly but still not great. Also lighting in bathroom could be brighter. There is a lighted makeup/shaving mirror but would prefer more light. ROBES & SLIPPERS are not provided so if you like them, bring your own, Slippers are recommended because the ceramic tile floor can be cold in the bathroom and kitchen.

BED; Very comfortable with top quality sheets, pillows and duvet. Two night stands each with a couple large drawers, and lamps with good lighting for reading.
CLOSET & STORAGE; Fair size closet with shelf. Only ten hangers but more available upon request. Full length mirror on door. Safe for valuables is located in the closet. There is also a chest with four large drawers giving ample storage space.. HIDE-A-BED, easy chair and flat screen TV complete the furnishings. Good AIR-CONDITIONING unit and big ceiling fan circulate the air to keep you comfortable.

LANAI BALCONY; good view of the ocean and garden below. Fair-sized table with chairs and a foot stool. Sliding glass doors fold up flat against the wall, giving you a full, wide open space.

SERVICE; We booked through the resort and had excellent daily housekeeping service. If you book direct with the owner or through an agency, I believe there is a different cleaning schedule.
RESORT FEE of $25.00 per day covers self-parking (indoor or outside), local phone calls, internet, fitness room access, to name the main benefits.,
ELEVATORS; there are two in Konea Tower and they are really speedy --- we never had to wait.

PROS;
modern, 3 year old property, clean, well-maintained. top-quality, good housekeeping
convenient parking, indoor or outdoor
information binder in room answers most of your questions
concierge on premises; friendly Front Desk staff

CONS:
Water pressure in the shower could have been better. Bathroom lighting not bright enough.

We usually stay at "adults only" resorts so, for us, this was quite a change. There are HUNDREDS of kids at this resort, and although we have grown grandchilden, we usually prefer a vacation spot where we can relax and enjoy a peaceful atmosphere without all the noise and screaming. Consequently, we did not use the pool facilities or the beach. We had a rental car and spent every day away from the resort so the fact that there were so many children did not really interfere with our vacation. Had it been an "all inclusive" resort with dining areas, it probably would have been an issue.

WIND; This was not a problem during our stay. Although many reviewers complain about the wind in this area, we were very lucky. We only found it windy one day in late afternoon when we were at a beach restaurant in Lahaina.

CONCLUSION: Love this property. Hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.