We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family hotel in Maui !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Honua Kai Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great family hotel in Maui !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Honua Kai resort is a really great place for a family vacation that is kid friendly but also luxurious enough for the adults. We went with our fifteen year old daughter who really seemed to enjoy herself !! We stayed in a ground floor room in the main tower , I'm not a huge fan of ground floor rooms but this one was really nice and comfortable. The room was new and clean looking with stainless steal appliances and a flatscreen tv. The hotel staff is very attentive and friendly , not only did they help us fix something in our room but they also suggested and booked a few tours for us. The beach at the hotel is really awesome for swimming as well as just reading or taking a nap on the nice golden sand. The pools are really big and perfect for families as they have many different pools including a little wading pool for young children as well as a lazy river and slide for the older children. Dukes is a great place to eat breakfast as well as dinner ( a bit expensive but what do you expect at a hotel like this ). The koi are a great addition , our fifteen year old even enjoyed looking at the fish. You can do a fish feeding in the morning though we never did. People complain way too much about this hotel !!! apparently you can smell sewage ? we only did once and it wasn't THAT bad like seriously !!! People always complain about the small children at this resort , yes the screaming at 7 in the morning isn't that great but its a family resort so thats what your gonna get. If all your going to do is whine about every little thing you clearly don't know how to have a good vacation and MAKE THE BEST OF IT. No hotel is perfect but the Honua Kai is pretty darn close.

Room Tip: " Ground floor is convenient "
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,293
    449
    115
    32
    19
See reviews for
1003
652
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just returned from spending 10 days in HK 236 rented through KMB Hawaii. We travelled with 4 adults and 3 kids (5,3,1) in a 2 bdrm, 2 ba suite. The resort exceeded our expectations.

The kids spend ALL DAY splashing in the pools, playing with other kids on the grassy areas, feeding the koi and visiting the beach. They were so exhausted by 7 o'clock we never had a problem putting them to bed. As for the adults, it was a relaxing vacation even with the kiddos because the pools are designed in such a way that the adults don't have to hover around them constantly. There are plenty of shallow areas for the kids to play safely. The water slide was a big hit with my kindergartener. We also used the kids club for a half day so that we could truly relax without worry. The teachers were fun and both kiddos wanted to return. Another highlight with the kids was the koi feeding at 8:30 every morning. Theres a guy that gives the kids some pellets and the huge fish will eat out of their hands.

We ate at Dukes, the onsite restaurant, a couple of times and enjoyed the happy hour where the prices are more reasonable. Don't miss out on the calamari! You can bring your own bevis to the pools if you bring them in plastic cups but there is also poolside service from Dukes if you want. Mostly we used out kitchen and made the quick trip up to our room for meals.

It's a lovely resort with helpful staff, beautiful views and in a great location. We will return!

Room Tip: If you can find a unit with the outdoor kitchen, it would help as the BBQs are located far from some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We're just finishing up our trip here at Honua Kai, and it has been spectacular. We traveled as a group of 7 - grandparents, us, our two kids (4 and 6), and my 20 something brother. We rented a ground level 3 bedroom unit via VRBO (Hokulani Unit 104 - listing # 227461), and the experience has been beyond what we imagined. From the beginning, the communication with the owner has been concise, helpful, and prompt. On arrival day, we changed our arrival time 3 times (due to late flights & I sick child), the on island agent was SO accommodating and helpful, and changed his schedule 3 times to ensure we could check in at a convenient time for us.

The Unit is spectacular. It's spacious, loaded with deluxe appliances, the kitchen has everything we needed ( included a stocked spice pantry), and the bathrooms were luxurious (2 shower heads, yes please!). The unit is fully loaded with electronics - flat screen TV's, in house sound system that plays different inputs & different rooms, and wifi that worked perfectly. The activity closet was loaded with fun stuff - boogie boards, snorkels, skim boards, sand toys, even some hats & rash guards. Upon arrival they had stocked the kitchen with coffee & filters so we wouldn't miss out on our first morning of coffee on the lanai. My favourite part of the unit is the nano-wall ( a glass wall) that completely opens up. In the morning & evening we always had the nano wall open, and it just felt so tropical!!

The resort itself is gorgeous. Our kids couldn't get enough of the pools, waterfalls, waterslides, kids water features, and hot tubs. We also went on a tour of the property hunting for plants & flowers - the grounds are SO lush! We ate at Dukes a few times ( we cooked lots here), and the food was yummy, prompt, and priced well ( for Maui). The Lava flows are to die for!

We spent lots of days on the beach our front as well. It's not ideal if you want to swim tons ( there is coral right off shore), but our family had plenty of fun jumping in the waves and trying out all of the fun toys in the activity closet. My parents also loved walking/running on the beach every morning.

All in all, this vacation was perfect. There was enough space that we weren't on top of each other, we cooked 80% of of meals in the condo (which save money & was much easier than taking the kids out for every meal), and the resort was spectacular.

To address a few of the common negatives I saw in other reviews (that freaked me out!)

1. The Wind - yep Maui is windy. Once or two it made it cold by the pool, but a vigorous play session with the kids fixed that pretty quickly. Our first few days we didn't notice wind at all. The past few days have been windy, but so has everywhere else!

2. The sewage smell - huh?? Never smelled this once.

3. The uncomfortable pool chairs - really, if this puts a bee in your bonnet, maybe you should just stay home grumpy pants. Besides, this isn't the best hotel to lay by the pool all day, there's lots of kids! And if you don't like kids, don't stay here ( that's right lady who glared at us in the hot tub!).

4. Bad customer service - as we rented via VRBO we didn't have much interaction with hotel staff. The limited times we did, it was great. Our on island rental agent was FABULOUS!

I can't recommend Honua Kai enough, I hope we'll be back!!

To address some of the negatives I've seen in other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We just finished a 10 day stay at Honua Kai, and we completely enjoyed it! This resort is an all suite resort featuring top notch appliances in a well decked kitchen, washer & dryer ( we loved this!) beautiful views. Because it was just my husband and I traveling, we had a ocean view studio - plenty of room for the two of us. Gorgeous la'nai that opens up completely for a spectacular view, first day here we watched the whales and dolphins from our room! Bring binoculars! Restaurant on site is good & convenient. Ate at Duke's 3 times, all very good. Heard comments prior to the wind, can honestly say that the ten days we were here the wind only blew for one. We were still able to enjoy the beach, just had to put up with a warm wind, not miserable though. Lots of kids at the resort, but we enjoyed that and never felt like we couldn't find somewhere quiet to be if we so choosed. Great snorkeling right outside - nice reef in front of resort. Enjoyed our stay so much, we are busy planning a return stay in a couple years with our daughters!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of 3 (3yr old) and a grandma. We all loved Honua Kai big time and we lean on the picky side- OK we're incredibly picky and hard to please. When you are on vacation and spending above average rates for your lodging there should be no compromises and we experienced none. Classy comfy place and would absolutely stay there again. Dukes has great food to boot- bonus!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week in November with our 2 year old and were very happy here. We booked a resort view room but decided to upgrade to partial ocean view, which worked well for us. There was no view from inside the room itself but we had a lovely view from the balcony between the two towers to the ocean.

Pros
- well equipped modern condo which was great with a toddler
- service is not 5 star hotel style but we found most staff friendly and helpful
- across the road from the supermarket to buy provisions
- lovely grounds and pool area. It wasn't full when we were there so no problem getting chairs etc
- Coffee at Aina was quite good. It is a little expensive but good for last minute things

Cons
- Even the partial ocean view room got a lot of noise from the highway. I think you would want to be on the inside of the towers to avoid this
- There is the occasional smell from the treatment plant but it didn't ruin our experience
- It did get a little windy but again not enough to affect our stay
- You don't get services like a hotel
- We ate at Dukes once for lunch and weren't huge fans of the food so we either cooked ourselves or went out elsewhere

All in all, if we came back t Maui we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family of four stayed at the Honua Kai this past July 2012. I was able to get a room directly from the owner using VRBO. I had never done this before and was a little nervous, but the pictures looked great and the reviews seemed good. This resort was nothing short of amazing. When we arrived to our room, we were ecstatic about how fresh, new and clean everything was. The bathroom is huge, the kitchen is beautiful, and best of all: washer and dryer in the room! This means a great deal when you are staying a week. The common areas are beautiful, and it seems like there is a pool at every turn. The pools will blow your kids minds. They are so tropical and inviting with a slide and waterfall grottos. This place has made me realize that moving forward, our family should always use a condo: it gives you so much more room, and you can get a break from the kids. I would highly recommend Honua Kai; I've been to Maui several times, and this place is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honua Kai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honua Kai Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Kai Malina Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honua Kai Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on world-famous Kaanapali North Beach, Honua Kai provides an unparalleled level of service and all the amenities of a luxury resort with expansive one, two, and three bedroom suites. Perhaps the greatest luxury of all is simply the space to spread out. Inside, the feel is that of a luxury Maui vacation home, graciously furnished in exotic wood and polished granite, and tastefully equipped with top of the line appliances. The gourmet kitchens contain everything you need to make a fantastic meal. Or simply make reservations at one of our spectacular restaurants. This is the Hawaii vacation you have always imagined, exactly as you imagined it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Honua Kai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honua Kai Resort And Spa
Honua Kai Hotel Lahaina
Honua Kai Resort & Spa Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honua Kai Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;