We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whales,whales,whales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina

Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina
612 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(800) 942-5311
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Branch, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“whales,whales,whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is our 4th whale watch with Pacific and we are never disappointed. This year we had to wait to head back as we were being "mugged" by two whales. It was the closest we have ever been to whales. the staff is very nice and the larger boat is good for taking smaller children

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    91
    35
    21
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit Crowded, otherwise Good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

There was a long line up to get on the larger boat at 9 30 am. Once we got on, there were spots to sit inside the boat but everyone had flocked to the top of the boat and there was nowhere to really get a good spot to view the whales at that point. The seats inside were very uncomfortable. The staff was very friendly and we did see whales, but I saw more whales on my snorkeling excursion which was really a 2-in-1 versus just a whale watching. This was great if it's your first time out seeing the whales, but I would save my money next time and just go on another snorkeling tour.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great viewing with knowledgeable crew.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked last minute after another outing was cancelled due to rain. We left Lahaina in the drizzle, but still had a great time. Jaclyn was our guide and she was very enthusiastic and her love of the whales came through. We had many sightings and her knowledge of the whales added so much to the cruise. Our original plan was to do a whale watching dinner cruise. We talked to other travelers who had gone on some of the dinner cruises and they said they only saw the whales from a great distance. That was not the case with this tour. I would definitely recommend Pacific Whale Foundation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exciting whale watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went with a tour group and didn't personally choose this tour, however the choice couldn't have been better. The boat itself was clean and had plenty of space for everyone to see the whales. The staff was very knowledgeable and answered all the group's questions in great detail. We were very fortunate that a baby humpback was playing in the water just as we left the dock. Its mother was close at hand and surfaced very close to the boat. We watched them for some time before heading out further. I couldn't count the number of whale sightings we experienced during the two hour tour. The hydrophone they dropped into the water when there were no other boats around allowed us to hear the whales' "talking" to each other. Very cool!
Returning to the dock gave us great views of Lahaina from the ocean perspective, which was a bonus.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, knowledgable crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We did the sunrise whale watching tour on the raft. Definitely worth the higher price to be on the smaller boat. We had an encounter with four whales that came right up to our raft. Close enough to see every detail. The experience in the small raft just gets you do much closer to the action. The captain and the naturalist that lead the tour were kind, knowledgeable and clearly excited to share this experience with us.

The raft was nice but no frills. Don't do this one if you're looking for snacks and drinks to be passed out. Booked online through their site which have a 10% discount.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.