We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina

Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina
612 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
(800) 942-5311
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #54 of 165 Activities in Lahaina
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We've been on several snorkel trips, but this one was my favorite. The staff was great and very knowledgable. The food was great, and a nice touch that this boat offers tables where you can eat your food (unlike other yours where you have to balance it all in your lap while riding the ocean waves). It helped that the day was perfect...sunny, hot and not windy. Lots of fish to see, and plenty of time to explore. We saw whales, dolphins, and had plenty of time to sun ourselves on the deck on the ride back. Also a huge plus that this helps support the foundation for wildlife preservation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    64
    27
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Skip the snorkel to Lanai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The massive boat is overcrowded, not a catamaran, no where to sunbathe... And very rocky. Lots of sick people. one snorkel stop which was beyond poor snorkeling. NOTHING to see. Lunch is small and strange, chicken sandwich and pretzels?? Staff nice, but save your money. Not a good tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We made our first whale watching experience with them and it was great!
The girl explaining was a researcher and was really passionate (sorry but i can't just remember her name).
We saw one whale jumping and two whales swimming but always from a distance, and that was what i was looking for. Someone who was not about harassing whales just for money.
Thank you to all the staff!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent store and tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

All of their tours are top notch and their store has a little bit of everything. T-shirts, souvenirs, clothing, stuffed animals, sandals and much more to list here. Located on Front street on the left headed south.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fortunate to find whales late in season.. good job!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were concerned that it was late in the season to be seeing whales, but they assured us we would. We took the 11 AM cruise on the Discovery Catamaran on April 24th. The crew was excellent at giving directions on how to know which side of the ship to look for the whales. They were very informative and worked very hard to find us whales. They said this time of year the boats radio back and forth informing each other where to find the whales. This organization is nonprofit and works diligently to preserve the whales and provides a good history from whale hunting to whale watching. They even dropped a microphone down to try to hear the whales singing... really neat! We were fortunate to find a pod of 5-6 whales, including a calf. There are drinks available on the cruise. Remember to wear your sun screen!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Whale Foundation - Whalewatch Lahaina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.