We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average snow cone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
819 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
360-606-2745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Pizza, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not your average snow cone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

First off, I don't even like snow cones so I was not pleased when my travel companion decided to wait 45 minutes to order a shave ice at this place. However, after a few minutes of standing in line on Front St and hearing people RAVE about how fantastic it was, I was curious to try it. So I got one with coconut pudding on the bottom, flavored with coconut and pineapple with a snowcap (condensed milk topping) and fresh coconut on top. It is not ice cream, it is not a snow cone...it's an amazing treat. So amazing that I went 4 times in the 7 days I visited Maui. Yes, it is that good and yes, the wait is worth it! I've been home over a month now and I still crave it.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,753
    170
    52
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best shave ice in Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

This chain did it the best. We stayed on Maui and Kauai, and no place in Kauai ever got it right like in Maui, but this chain, particularly the 2 in Lahaina (about a block from each other) were the best hands down! I think the trick is that teenagers are better at making these than grown ups, because they don't care, they'll drown your ice in the syrups. Wish they had these on the mainland!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't over-think this one... Stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

If you want the best, go to the best. Don't dink around with other "closer" or "more convenient" locations. You came to Maui for the best shave ice in town and Ululani's has it! Get the snow cap - its weird, but worth it. Hands down the best shave ice on the island or for that matter, the world. This is an easy decision but don't out think yourself!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best shave ice ever ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

This is an absolute must do while in Maui. The shave ice is awesome. Make sure to get the snow cap. Also the employees were super friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST SHAVED ICE EVEERRR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

We didn't discover this hidden treasure until 3 days before we left but we end up going every day after that. I thought the snowballs at home were the best ever... I was soo wrong... this treat is AMAZING. I wish they could come here but they said the ice is especially made in Hawaii. I can tell.. Hawaii is AMAZING. Definately a MUST go too spot! I think they have several.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.