We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shave ice on Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
819 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
360-606-2745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 224 restaurants in Lahaina
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Dessert, Hawaiian, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best shave ice on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The one thing we had always found lacking on the island of Maui was Hawaiian shave ice. Several years ago, it seemed like the best place to find a good shave ice was in the cannery mall. Now, there are various shave ice places all over. But, the best of these is definitely Ululani's.

The flavors are very good, the ice is fluffy perfection, and the staff are very friendly. We visited both Lahaina Front Street locations several times during our stay, and the shave ice was consistently good. Both are takeaway counters, so there really is no atmosphere to speak of.

If you need more syrup, just ask - they will pile it on! And, be sure to try the Roselani haupia ice cream on bottom - wow! The orange, root beer and blue vanilla were my favorites. Coconut didn't have a lot of flavor, to me, though I know it's popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    1,323
    106
    29
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You will not eat a snow cone again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I know what everyone is thinking, it can't be that good! Well, you would be wrong...it is that good! I went to both locations in Lahania. At the first location I let the worker pick out my flavors and four days later, I went to the second location and picked out the citrus special. Both were unbelievable. There are so-called Hawaiian Shave Ice stands near where I live, nothing like what they have in Hawaii and Ululani's has the best shave ice in the country. I cannot believe how good they are and if you get to Hawaii (and you should go, so beautiful) get one. The ice is like velvet and the flavors are bold and natural tasting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you only try shaved ice once, try Ululani's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I believe Ululani's has multiple stores in Lahaina; however, my Fiance and I stopped at the one off of Front Street (near a village area). This was our first time trying Shave Ice and we were impressed! Much tastier and creamier than a snow cone and no comparison. They offer an assortment of flavors. I believe we tried a triple combination of guava, strawberry and passion fruit...amazing! We looked on Trip Advisor before hand since there were multiple Shave Ice shops - needless to say we were not disappointed! HIGHLY recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yummy shave ice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

So our family really likes shave ice and when we come to Hawaii we go to all our favorite ones and try them out and rate them. Ululani's rates right at the top!!!!!! They had great flavors to choose from and three types of ice cream (vanilla, coconut, or macadamia nut). My husband loved the Li Hing Mui powder you can sprinkle on top. The only down side is they are more expensive, but it's worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply the best treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Real shave ice is not a snow cone - you don't get tiny, granulated pieces of ice, it's more like soft, freshly fallen snow. Ululani shave ice is soft, and they make their own syrup, so you get something a little bit different. Try tiger's blood with some macadamia nut ice cream. Yummy!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.