We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
819 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
360-606-2745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 203 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were recommended to Ululani's by a server at a restaurant and it was a great find. The shaved ice had a great flavor and a different texture than water ice here in our area. Pricey but worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,728
    166
    50
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Best shave ice hands down. Love the varieties of syrup, the syrup is actually not overly sweet and my the mango syrup I had literally has mango puree in there, so you know you are getting the real deal here. You gotta eat here!! That's all I am going to say.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great shaved ice with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We liked the shaved Ice so much that we returned twice. The service was great, very friendly and engaging. The four stars vs Five are because I feel that the prices are too high, but it's Maui.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Still the BEST (in all of Hawaii)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I returned again this year and the quality at Ululani's is still there. The flavors are wonderful. They really taste like the underlying fruit. I had the Lahaina (Coconut, Banana and Pineapple) with condensed cream on top and a scoop of coconut ice cream underneath. Shear heaven! It was just as good as last year. These people have not allowed their fame and success to lower their quality.

I've tried Shave Ice on all the major islands (about 12 places) including the famous Matsumoto on the north shore of Oahu. There is not comparison. Ilulani's is the very best by far. In comparison, other shave ice is just colored sugar water. Ululani's has really fruit flavor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

All I can say is, it's unbelievable, it's worth the special trip to get it. Ask the employees for their advice on what to get.

Best shaved ice I have ever had. Period.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.