We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
819 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
360-606-2745
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 241 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We always associate shave ice with Jo-Jo's on Kauai, but now we have a new favorite! We kind of stumbled on it, because we ate lunch at the Down to Earth market in Kahalui, but then we went 4 more times in Lahaina. Excellent texture and flavors. Really remarkable. And to a person, the friendliest, happiest staff - no bad attitudes. Will be back the next time we're in Maui!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,717
    164
    49
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
518 reviews 518 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“This is no snow cone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Ululani has brought shaving ice to perfection. No crushed ice. No blocks or chips of ice. Just pure perfection of shaved ice. The flavors are not just your standard fare either. They are puréed and crushed. Everything is just great. We went back three times during our trip to Maui.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went here because of all the great Trip Advisor reviews. Did not disappoint. This ice is so smooth it could double as ice cream. We took the staff recommendation of Chocolate, Coconut and Cherry. Chocolate was a bit rich but the coconut and cherry were delish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Now I love shaved ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We go to Hawaii almost every year and each time I try shaved ice and end up not liking it. With Ululani's that changed. The ice is creamy instead of super icy, the flavors are good and not super artificial but what really changed me is the ice cream. The ice cream is so good I could eat just a bowl of that but with the shaved ice it is even better. If you don't like shaved ice I'd give this place a shot.. you'll probably be turned too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The most cordial merchants on Front St.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Best shaved ice on Maui. We went 4 times in 5 days. Try the "Sunset Beach" or the "Haleakala". Very pleasant clerks. Open at 11AM. Go early. Lines form when its hot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.