We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and service just off Front Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Seafood - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saigon Seafood
222 Papalaua Street #100, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
808-661-9955
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really good food and service just off Front Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple times, food freshly prepared, tasty, attentive service. Typical of a Vietnamese style restaurant, this is a casual eatery, no frills, reasonable prices. If you're frustrated with long waits on Front Street, this is only a block away, across from McDonalds. Often, the place is quiet until one or tables arrive, then people start to pour in.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not good at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I eat at a lot of restaurants - especially Vietnamese ones.. The service was very bad and slow and the food was not good at all - some of the food was undercooked or cold. Not only that's they charged us 17% gratuity because our table was a party of 6. I would not recommend going here at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice food and reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We found this place by accidently walking into it because it has chinese words on its sign. We were not having a big expectation considering how ordinary and expensive the other places we have tried. To our surprise, the food was very good. I ordered the pho, considering it is a vietnamese restaurant and it tasted fantastic, comparable to one favorite vietnamese restaurant in my home town. By the way, we are chinese from east coast (NY-boston area). The other ordering were varied. Some were good while others were so-so. We went back several days later and everyone in our group ordered pho and this time everyone was pretty happy. The price were quite reasonable. The service was good, not formal and quite casual. The first time the male waiter was watching baseball but he did what he was supposed to do.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time/$$ here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We wanted to order RICE, and the waiter said sorry we ran out of Rice. At 6:00pm peak dinner hour and you're out of rice? Waiter said nothing I can do, sorry. So we took a second look and ordered Pho instead. We should have just got up and left... :-( when they didn't even make an effort to cook more rice. Anyway, the Pho came out and after 1 spoon of soup no one else touched theirs. It was instant noodle seasoning packet. What's worst? Well, than another table came in 15 mins after us and they ordered rice and it was available. I asked the waiter how come they can order rice? Waiter said, oh, we actually found some rice and made more... OMG!! I was so PO'd... We end up getting room service when we returned to our hotel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We ate here twice and the food was delicious. we are a picky eater when it comes to vietnamese food. Try the Pho and Pai Thai when you are their. Their price was reasonable in comparision to other restaurant in the area. both time our tab came out to be $25.00 plus tip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.