We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with instructor Josh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy

Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy
113 Prison Street, Right Next to the Big Parking Lot on the Corner of Front St. And Prison St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 967671
+1 808-276-7873
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Expert instructors and professional surfers teach you to ride a wave on your first lesson, then help you improve, fast! First time surfers and athletes looking to improve performance are welcome.
Lone Butte, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience with instructor Josh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband got a surf lesson as a gift from our daughter. He had a great time with his instructor Josh and was able to stand on the board more than once. It was the highlight of his Maui Trip and we look forward to get lessons from Josh again on our next trip to Maui.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,060
    32
    11
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, ND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite day in Maui!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The day we spent surfing was the highlight of my trip to Maui. Steve Baker was wonderful! We had a great time with him, plus he is an awesome teacher. Everyone in our group got upon their board. If you are considering a surf lesson don't go anywhere else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The instructors are incredible here, very patient, helpful and understanding. They got all the people in my group lesson to stand up on their boards more than once. The surf lesson was easily the highlight of my trip to Maui. I purchased the lesson from Greg at the Expedia counter right in front of Wharf Cinema Centre on Front Street, just before the Banyan Tree.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tavner is an awesome instructor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our early morning surf lesson, and wish we had done it earlier in our holiday so that we could do it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WE loveeee royal Hawaiian surf academy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

this is the best place ever!! can't wait to go back!! Dreyson is the Best teacher ever!!! Also, don't forget to let Ric larsens Photogaphy take your AWESOME surfing pictures!! he's Sooo AWEsome!!! we love all our pics!!! We took them again...!!!! sooo worth it!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy also viewed

 

Been to Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.