We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lokelani Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Lokelani Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokelani Condominiums
3833 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great views, nice condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was really a nice condo, not luxurious but clean, updated and well equipped. We stayed in 203B and it had everything we needed. The kitchen was nicely equipped and even had lots of spices for cooking, which is something we don't always find in condos that cost twice as much. There is no ac but that wasn't a problem as the breeze is ALWAYS blowing in Honokawai and we stayed cool enough. The unit also had beach chairs, an umbrella, snorkel gear and a good sized ice chest to use for beach outings. We really enjoyed sitting out on the lanai and watching the whales breach and tail slap--you could see it right from the lanai, quite a show, it was mesmerizing. The condo was clean, although it is a bit dumpy looking from the outside, as are many of the condos built in this time period. Don't let the exterior dissuade you because inside is quite nice. We liked having an additional lanai off the master BR so we could have the sliding doors open at night and listen to the waves crashing and the palm trees blowing in the wind. The beach next door to Lokelani is ok, the waters are sometimes calm enough to swim and sometimes not so good, snorkelling isn't great here but there are some resident turtles that are fun to watch and swim with. The pool is small but adequate, if you really must have a pool. There are outdoor gas grills for guest use but they weren't always functioning properly, guess they needed the propane tanks filled or something. This is a great place to stay if you want the comforts of home, like to prepare some of your own meals and won't miss the amenities of the Ritz. For short stays they don't provide maid service so you'll need to wash your own towels and clean up after yourself. Again, if this is a big deal to you, this isn't your kind of place. But if you want value, great views, good location and comfortable condos, you should consider a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Not only is Lokelani in the most gorgeous spot in the world...it is surrounded by friendly people (staff who feel like life long friends) and other happy guests! It has been a long time since i've been surrounded by such beauty and happinness. The view, the turtles, the whales and the rainbows and sunsets just bring out the happy and friendly side of everyone who comes to Lokelani! The vast majority of ther vacationers i talked to in the yard or at the pool were returning guests...some who have been coming for over 10 years and one man who has come for 20! I ejoyed a quiet stay with my hubby and my youngest, and i can't wait to return with all my kids! thanks for an unforgettable time of Maui love! i should mention, lastly that Honokawai is a really great spot with the best of both worlds...much quieter that other areas but a short walk or drive to all the hot spots! Lokelani itself was incredibly quiet and i have never been so relaxed...most hotels are so noisy you can't rest...one more reason to go for Lokelani...

Room Tip: South side of building is nice and quiet and a very good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We too were fortunate enough to have stayed in A204! What a treat. Seriously, from the moment you walk in it feels like home-18 feet from the ocean. This place was aaamazing! Many hours spent on those two balconys-reading, socializing, eating, sleeping and whale watching. The morning rainbows over Lanai and Molokai are unreal and look close enough to swim to. Friendly neighbors invited us to a great NYE party. It was good times!
BUT WAIT!
They recommend a tour operator that points you toward the Luau at the Sheraton. DONT DO IT! There was barely any food- 5 different things maybe. The whole thing is set up in a weird shrubbed lawn area with a view of the hotel not the ocean. The talent was sub-par and scattered around outside the shrouded, faux-tropical, resin chair and plastic wear luau. $400 for 4 of us to wish we stayed on our balcony to watch the sun set again:)

Room Tip: A203 is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Lokelani's unit B203 this year for our Xmas holiday and it was truly amazing. Having spent many holidays in Maui we had pretty high expectations and we were not disappointed in any way. The moment we entered the unit we were impressed and it never changed.

The unit was amazingly clean; the kitchen was organized so you knew exactly where to look (imagine a rental having a waffle iron! which came in handy for Xmas breakfast of macadamia waffles) and all amenities were included - plentiful towels, linens, music CD's, videos, DVD's, books, games, flat screen tv, two bathrooms, etc.

We really rate our places based on the quality and comfort of the beds and the master of this two-bedroom was a Trump bed - needless to say, the combination of that bed, the lull of the waves right outside our window which we could see and hear (floor to ceiling windows), made for a very relaxing time. The double lanais one off each level of the two-storey unit made for plenty of options to sit to watch the whales and turtles which are plentiful to see.

As others have mentioned, pool, BBQ, welcome basket, amazing hosts of Kim and Liz made for a magical trip. Will definitely be back!

Regards, Laurie

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so all terrific. We really enjoyed B203 this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We just arrived home from our fourth trip to Maui, and second time at this waterfront condo. Not only did we watch the turtles feeding on the reefs right from our two lanais but we were also treated with seeing humpback whales playing in the distance on several occasions.

When we arrived, there was a thoughtful welcome basket! The condo was so well equipped that we wanted for nothing. Having in suite laundry was what convinced us to travel with carry on only this time, and worked out really well for us. The kitchen was so well equipped that we could make dinners when we felt like it, and used the beachside BBQ a couple of times as well. The condo was very clean! And the bed in the master room was so comfortable! We also really appreciated the free parking spot that came with the condo, and the ladies in the office were really helpful when we needed some local recommendations.

The beach was lovely and snorkeling was pretty good - even had a couple close encounters with the turtles that love the reefs nearby. There is a large sandbar here that seems to go out really far, very safe to swim at. And don't get me started on the view of Molokai, sunsets, rainbows. The sounds of the ocean were soothing at night from the master bedroom, which had its own lanai and was perfect for sun tanning as well.

With all the space and the second bedroom/ bathroom, we could bring friends or family next time, and be very comfortable. We can't wait to go back to Maui and highly recommend this condo for couples and families!!

Room Tip: The master bedroom looks onto the ocean, has a california king, large TV and is on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Arrived on Saturday around noon and of course, I'd forgotten my map on how to get to Lokelani. Having no I-phone with internet for directions. Called the emergency number and Kim the manager answered on her day off and guided me to our location. She and rest of staff were great as was my condo unit. We had a great time for the week we were there in late September with the weather being absolutely perfect! First trip to Hawaii in 37 years of marriage and boy did we enjoy ourselves. ***Note** Do you homework and review the different rooms on their web site when deciding which condo unit you want to rent. If ever you have the opportunity to visit Maui and not too keen on crowded hotels or resorts which charge for everything including parking, Lokelani is small but great!

Room Tip: Get on their web site as the condo units are individually owned and decorated. That way you can cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We are currently at Lokelani in C-102 and what was advertised on the website is what we have and more!

The condo is as described = tick
The staff were friendly, helpful and informative = tick
The price is reasonable = tick (my Scottish grandma would have approved)
The ocean is just outside the door and the waves just keep on waving = tick
Fun, sun and sand = tick

Come to Maui now - this place is grand and just what we needed as Canadians in need of a sun fix.

Thanks Lokelani - we will be recommending you to friends and family = TICK

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lokelani Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokelani Condominiums

Address: 3833 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Maui, The Valley Isle, Lokelani Condominiums hug the shoreline on Maui's famous West Side. Our low rise condominiums are situated on a picturesque, reef-protected sandy cove away from the main road and 30 feet from the ocean with a spectacular westerly view of fabulous sunsets, framed between the islands of Molokai and Lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lokelani Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokelani Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Lokelani Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lokelani Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.