We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo, but we missed having beach access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hololani Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hololani Resort to your Saves list
Hololani Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice condo, but we missed having beach access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in A103 and really enjoyed it. It was very well appointed and the view was simply amazing. A103 has it's own Lanai and it really made the place so pleasant and usable. The pool is pretty good and it's nice to have an ocean facing lawn to relax on with the little ones. Our biggest disappointment was that the beach washed away earlier in the winter, so you have no beach access (just waves crashing on rocks). Luckily there are beaches within a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: The A buildings have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

While we enjoyed our sunny two weeks on the island of Maui, coming home each evening to unit B702 did not enhance our experience. The unit was sorely in need of upgrades and cleaning: carpets and upholstery were dirty, the dishwasher rusted out inside, lock on the sliding lanai door broken, and the dryer broken. The view of the ocean, the turtles and whales was incredible, but we often had to leave our lanai due to cigarette smoke drifting from nearby units (despite the fact that Hololani states it is a smoke free property).

When you spend your days at the beach and in the water, a functioning washer and dryer are prime considerations. We could have overlooked the poor condition of our unit if the rental management staff had just responded to our repeated requests to have it repaired. However, this did not happen during our 2 week stay and no contact was made to let us know why.

The pool was warm and clean, but for the price, you can do a lot better. Even on the coast of West Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in B-504. It's a corner unit, which has two lanais: one faces up the western coast, and has a view of Molokai, as well as the pool area and the adjacent building A. The other lanai is off of the master bedroom, and faces out towards Lanai. Both views are spectacular, and you're right on the ocean. One morning we spotted whales cruising right in front of the condo. We grabbed our binoculars and sure enough, we saw a pod of humpback whales breaching and playing right before our eyes. The spectacle lasted an hour or two -- a magical experience! We also lost count of the number of rainbows we saw from our lanai. It was just gorgeous.

Other reviewers have complained about traffic noise in the unit, but we heard none. In fact, this was a very quiet unit -- we didn't hear any of our neighbors and we hope they didn't hear us since we came with our 17-month old son who cries a bit before bed. You can, however, hear the waves crashing along the shore just below your room. Some reviewers complained about that, but to my mind, that's nuts. Why come to Maui and stay in an oceanfront condo if you don't want the ocean to lull you to sleep?

The interior of the unit is very nice. The kitchen was recently renovated, and everything is new and in good working order. It's well stocked with pots, pans, dinnerware, and gadgets (blender, coffee maker, hand mixer), but it was not stocked with other basic necessities. Usually when we rent a condo we find salt, pepper, oil, sugar, tinfoil, and other basics somewhere in the kitchen. This one was bare -- we had to pick up everything from the store.

The unit has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, both with showers. One thing to note is that the hot water takes a while to get going, but it does work. One of the bedrooms has a TV in it, the other one is connected to the living room but can be separated with tasteful Japanese style sliding doors. The beds are comfy and the furniture is in good condition. There's free wi-fi as well.

As other reviewers have noted, the name "resort" is a bit of a misnomer. This isn't a resort, like the Westin or what have you. It's a beachfront condo complex with a heated pool (no hot tub), underground parking, and a few BBQs. If you're looking for a quiet place you can call home for a while, a short drive from the relative bustle of Kaanapali and Lahaina, this place is great. If you're looking for a full-fledged resort, with a restaurant, bar, rental services, etc., this isn't for you. (A good middle ground is the Sands of Kahana, right down the road.)

A final note about the beach. When we stayed at the Hololani (December 2012), a giant storm had apparently just knocked out the stairs that lead from the property to the beach. You could still use the ramp down, but it was cordoned off with yellow tape and a sign saying you used it at your own risk. I ran into the manager (a very friendly and helpful guy) who said they were looking into fixing it. It was a minor annoyance to have to brave the broken steps or sneak through the trees into the adjacent property to make our way down to the beach. Also, there is really no beach to speak of directly in front of the complex. It's coral, sandbags, and bags of rocks, all set to deal with keeping the ocean at bay. But there's a really nice beach (especially for kiddies) about a minute's walk to the left.

Overall, we really enjoyed our ten days here and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! Corner room is best. And B building gets more shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
1,190 helpful votes 1,190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I brought my wife and daughters to Hawaii for the first time and they were so excited to be here and Maui did not disappoint. Fabulous island with so much to do. There are so many professional excursions and tours that one cannot pass them up. The only problem is the price is a bit high. BUT there is an answer for that as well. If you will just sit thru a timeshare presentation, you can save a fortune on all the exact tours I am referring to. We saved around $750 just doing that. Yes I know it is terrible to sit in a timeshare, hard sell presentation where only an idiot would buy that nonsense. But 90 minutes later you are out and approved and can buy all the things you want at about 40% off. So do the presentation if you have a big family and plan to do excursions. Trust me it is worth the pain for the savings.
The Hololani Resort is also a very nice set of condos that are direct oceanfront. All of the condos. Not just some of them. You can hear the pounding surf all night and sleep like a baby. I am sure most of the condos are in pretty great shape, as our was too (Unit A602 on the 6th floor), but it surely needed some simply upgrades to make it a lot more enjoyable. From the minute we arrived, there was lots of wind and this area north of Lahaina is windy all the time. The area cost more too because of the wind as Maui can get rather hot some parts of the year. The front screen security door to this unit is so old it has rust on top of rust and most likely the rust is holding it together. For an entire 10 days of our vacation, the wind would catch that door and slam it so hard that rust would fly all the way to the porch facing the water 40 feet away. Cleaning this up is quite a chore and it gets into the carpet as well. They carpet is filthy from it and the rust is embedded into it from other vacationers not taking the time to clean it up as we did 2-3 times per day. Our vacuum cleaner and broom never seems to be put away. In addition to that, the simple and cheap digital clock next to our bed could not be set as the time setting buttons do not work any longer. So you can either unplug it or watch the clock on the wrong time blink all night. Also there is hardly any water pressure in the shower. When I say "hardly", I mean virtually none and it takes 3 times longer to get a shower just to take off the shampoo and soap. Also we were told there was internet in the rooms. We assumed there would be a modem with paid internet. There is no internet in the rooms. There are a few modems that are located around the buildings that is shared and you have to sit outside the unit on the porch to catch a single bar to get on a very slow connection that barely works.
I told the rental office located right on the property and in charge of the units, and her response was that she had told the owners about these things many times as other vacationers had the same problems. Rental agents are there to manage the property. They are supposed to just take care of the maintenance and replace items that are broken and either bill the owners or take it from their rental collections. I don't understand why that is not being done here.
All in all a very great vacation and the condo is nice enough. But for this kind of cash to stay in an oceanfront condo, if you are dreaming of things being in line with the price, you are going to be a tad disappointed as we were. But Maui is a dream vacation and filled with a lifetime of memories. It is well worth a few small disappointments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Amazing! That is the only word for this hotel. The staff is so nice, the hotel is clean as are the rooms and it's quiet! It's right on the water, how can you lose with that! I will stay here every time I go to Maui from now on out! I was actually there in Oct. of 2002 and again in Nov. 2007 but the system doesn't allow you to rate that far back. Both times were awesome!

Room Tip: I gave average on the fitness and restaurant because I didn't use either of these two facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in 801B. The condo was very nice and recently remoldled. 2 full baths was great for 4 adults. The kitchen was wel equiped and view were spectacular for sunset. Due to the wind we did not have many meals on the balcony but that was okay The pool was a nice quiet place when children were not present. Close to a farmers market for wonderful fruit every day. We were there in May and saw turtles just off the beach every day. We were swimming down the beach one day and had swimming incounter with the turtles too. Very happy with our week long stay will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in unit 104A a ground floor condo on the end of the bulding. Great master suit with a sitting roon with a large full view window with a view of the island of Maui dining on the lani had views of both islands and the ocean is only 20 feet from your lani. Pool is great but no hot tub ! This cond has excellent under ground parking a plus. Roys resturant is near by it is up scale but worth it. Use the grills by the pool and BBQ and have a sunset party ! This unit was rented through VRBO #104A no through the resort It was $250/ day 2 bed bms/ 2 bath rms beautiful decor excellent kitchen very well equiped the pictures are very acurate on VRBO web sight. The only negative was the local trafic can be heard in the condo but the trafic is gone late at night for sleeping.

Room Tip: #104 A is on the corrner out of the way and very well decorated and equiped has a better side lani i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hololani Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hololani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hololani Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.