We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humpbacks and Rainbows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hololani Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hololani Resort
4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Humpbacks and Rainbows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in B-504. It's a corner unit, which has two lanais: one faces up the western coast, and has a view of Molokai, as well as the pool area and the adjacent building A. The other lanai is off of the master bedroom, and faces out towards Lanai. Both views are spectacular, and you're right on the ocean. One morning we spotted whales cruising right in front of the condo. We grabbed our binoculars and sure enough, we saw a pod of humpback whales breaching and playing right before our eyes. The spectacle lasted an hour or two -- a magical experience! We also lost count of the number of rainbows we saw from our lanai. It was just gorgeous.

Other reviewers have complained about traffic noise in the unit, but we heard none. In fact, this was a very quiet unit -- we didn't hear any of our neighbors and we hope they didn't hear us since we came with our 17-month old son who cries a bit before bed. You can, however, hear the waves crashing along the shore just below your room. Some reviewers complained about that, but to my mind, that's nuts. Why come to Maui and stay in an oceanfront condo if you don't want the ocean to lull you to sleep?

The interior of the unit is very nice. The kitchen was recently renovated, and everything is new and in good working order. It's well stocked with pots, pans, dinnerware, and gadgets (blender, coffee maker, hand mixer), but it was not stocked with other basic necessities. Usually when we rent a condo we find salt, pepper, oil, sugar, tinfoil, and other basics somewhere in the kitchen. This one was bare -- we had to pick up everything from the store.

The unit has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, both with showers. One thing to note is that the hot water takes a while to get going, but it does work. One of the bedrooms has a TV in it, the other one is connected to the living room but can be separated with tasteful Japanese style sliding doors. The beds are comfy and the furniture is in good condition. There's free wi-fi as well.

As other reviewers have noted, the name "resort" is a bit of a misnomer. This isn't a resort, like the Westin or what have you. It's a beachfront condo complex with a heated pool (no hot tub), underground parking, and a few BBQs. If you're looking for a quiet place you can call home for a while, a short drive from the relative bustle of Kaanapali and Lahaina, this place is great. If you're looking for a full-fledged resort, with a restaurant, bar, rental services, etc., this isn't for you. (A good middle ground is the Sands of Kahana, right down the road.)

A final note about the beach. When we stayed at the Hololani (December 2012), a giant storm had apparently just knocked out the stairs that lead from the property to the beach. You could still use the ramp down, but it was cordoned off with yellow tape and a sign saying you used it at your own risk. I ran into the manager (a very friendly and helpful guy) who said they were looking into fixing it. It was a minor annoyance to have to brave the broken steps or sneak through the trees into the adjacent property to make our way down to the beach. Also, there is really no beach to speak of directly in front of the complex. It's coral, sandbags, and bags of rocks, all set to deal with keeping the ocean at bay. But there's a really nice beach (especially for kiddies) about a minute's walk to the left.

Overall, we really enjoyed our ten days here and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! Corner room is best. And B building gets more shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
701 helpful votes 701 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I brought my wife and daughters to Hawaii for the first time and they were so excited to be here and Maui did not disappoint. Fabulous island with so much to do. There are so many professional excursions and tours that one cannot pass them up. The only problem is the price is a bit high. BUT there is an answer for that as well. If you will just sit thru a timeshare presentation, you can save a fortune on all the exact tours I am referring to. We saved around $750 just doing that. Yes I know it is terrible to sit in a timeshare, hard sell presentation where only an idiot would buy that nonsense. But 90 minutes later you are out and approved and can buy all the things you want at about 40% off. So do the presentation if you have a big family and plan to do excursions. Trust me it is worth the pain for the savings.
The Hololani Resort is also a very nice set of condos that are direct oceanfront. All of the condos. Not just some of them. You can hear the pounding surf all night and sleep like a baby. I am sure most of the condos are in pretty great shape, as our was too (Unit A602 on the 6th floor), but it surely needed some simply upgrades to make it a lot more enjoyable. From the minute we arrived, there was lots of wind and this area north of Lahaina is windy all the time. The area cost more too because of the wind as Maui can get rather hot some parts of the year. The front screen security door to this unit is so old it has rust on top of rust and most likely the rust is holding it together. For an entire 10 days of our vacation, the wind would catch that door and slam it so hard that rust would fly all the way to the porch facing the water 40 feet away. Cleaning this up is quite a chore and it gets into the carpet as well. They carpet is filthy from it and the rust is embedded into it from other vacationers not taking the time to clean it up as we did 2-3 times per day. Our vacuum cleaner and broom never seems to be put away. In addition to that, the simple and cheap digital clock next to our bed could not be set as the time setting buttons do not work any longer. So you can either unplug it or watch the clock on the wrong time blink all night. Also there is hardly any water pressure in the shower. When I say "hardly", I mean virtually none and it takes 3 times longer to get a shower just to take off the shampoo and soap. Also we were told there was internet in the rooms. We assumed there would be a modem with paid internet. There is no internet in the rooms. There are a few modems that are located around the buildings that is shared and you have to sit outside the unit on the porch to catch a single bar to get on a very slow connection that barely works.
I told the rental office located right on the property and in charge of the units, and her response was that she had told the owners about these things many times as other vacationers had the same problems. Rental agents are there to manage the property. They are supposed to just take care of the maintenance and replace items that are broken and either bill the owners or take it from their rental collections. I don't understand why that is not being done here.
All in all a very great vacation and the condo is nice enough. But for this kind of cash to stay in an oceanfront condo, if you are dreaming of things being in line with the price, you are going to be a tad disappointed as we were. But Maui is a dream vacation and filled with a lifetime of memories. It is well worth a few small disappointments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Amazing! That is the only word for this hotel. The staff is so nice, the hotel is clean as are the rooms and it's quiet! It's right on the water, how can you lose with that! I will stay here every time I go to Maui from now on out! I was actually there in Oct. of 2002 and again in Nov. 2007 but the system doesn't allow you to rate that far back. Both times were awesome!

Room Tip: I gave average on the fitness and restaurant because I didn't use either of these two facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in 801B. The condo was very nice and recently remoldled. 2 full baths was great for 4 adults. The kitchen was wel equiped and view were spectacular for sunset. Due to the wind we did not have many meals on the balcony but that was okay The pool was a nice quiet place when children were not present. Close to a farmers market for wonderful fruit every day. We were there in May and saw turtles just off the beach every day. We were swimming down the beach one day and had swimming incounter with the turtles too. Very happy with our week long stay will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in unit 104A a ground floor condo on the end of the bulding. Great master suit with a sitting roon with a large full view window with a view of the island of Maui dining on the lani had views of both islands and the ocean is only 20 feet from your lani. Pool is great but no hot tub ! This cond has excellent under ground parking a plus. Roys resturant is near by it is up scale but worth it. Use the grills by the pool and BBQ and have a sunset party ! This unit was rented through VRBO #104A no through the resort It was $250/ day 2 bed bms/ 2 bath rms beautiful decor excellent kitchen very well equiped the pictures are very acurate on VRBO web sight. The only negative was the local trafic can be heard in the condo but the trafic is gone late at night for sleeping.

Room Tip: #104 A is on the corrner out of the way and very well decorated and equiped has a better side lani i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Hololani Resort is our favorite place to stay when visiting Maui...which we do at least once a year. Although this complex is not the newest or most glitzy, it is the perfect low key, relaxing, island get away! Whether you are a family or enjoying a romantic vacation, the Hololani is perfect. Our favorite unit is A103 as it is on the ground floor, has a comfortable floor plan (two master suites) and you walk right off the lanai onto the grass/beach/pool/bbq area. A103 is unique in that the owners remodeled to include the lanai as part of the inside of the condo, however, the entire front of the condo opens up so you feel like you are right on the beach even when inside. It really is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel was a good value from the area. Right on the beach, about 15-20 minutes drive from Lahaina. It is within walking distance from a small shopping center with a couple of restaurants and a convenience store - Maui Brewing Company is there, which has great pizza and beer! The beach immediately in front of the hotel is not really usable - it is a short walk down the beach to better sand and swimming. There are lots of turtles in the water by the hotel though, which were fun to watch from our balcony.

The rooms are clean, but the unit itself was small for our group of 5 - we had 1 master bedroom and an area that could be partitioned off from the living room as a 2nd bedroom. Rooms were clean and had all the amenities. We really enjoyed the balcony - great views for sunset and in the mornings. Our room (and I would assume all of the rooms) did not include air conditioning. The room is set up to get very good airflow if you leave the balony door and windows open. With the fan going, we had a comfortable temperature for most of our stay but may not be great for someone who is sensitive to that. I found it very soothing to wake up to the sound of the waves coming through our balcony door!

The pool is nice and there is a grilling area right next to it for guests to use. Overall, good value and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hololani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hololani Resort

Also Known As:
Hololani Hotel
Hololani Resort Lahaina
Hololani Hotel Lahaina
Hololani Resort Maui/Lahaina
Address: 4401 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#24 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#24 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hololani Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hololani Resort to your Saves list