We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Character” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Inn

Save Saved
You added Lahaina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lots of Character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lahaina Inn at the tail in of our stay on Maui. This property has lots of character and is centrally located in downtown Lahaina.

The check in process was painfully slow for reasons I could not comprehend. There is a charge for parking and the parking lot is located a short walk down from the hotel. They still use real room keys and tell you that its a $100.00 charge if you lose it!

Finding parking near the hotel can be challenging. The rooms are located upstairs from the lobby, and there is no elevator. This makes for a good workout if you have heavy bags! The rooms are tiny but clean. This is a very old property and the decor reflects that. The beds are not Starwood or Marriott class, but better than expected. Our room had a covered balcony overlooking the street and had a view of the ocean to the right. This allowed us to see and hear the evening sounds of downtown Lahaina which are abundant.

The room is not the quitest, the walls are thin, and we were awakened by the sounds of garbage and delivery trucks each morning. The rooms are well air conditioned, and the fans make white noise cancelling out some of the exterior noise of downtown. There are few amenities, but staying at this property is about location, location, location. The famous Lahaina Grill restaurant is located on the first floor.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the Hotel if you are looking for street action. The rooms at the back loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    28
    20
    17
See reviews for
7
69
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's in a perfect location. Well worth the price. I loved the real keys you get and the porch rocking chairs. Best part is, we paid a 1/4 of the price as their sister resort goers and got use all of the same amenities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location. We walked to our luau and beaches. Don't miss the banyan tree and the Buddha statue that is close. The hotel rooms are somewhat small, but have beautiful balconys with ocean views. Very clean and comfy bed. Great place to lay your head.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I always try to look for the positive first in my experiences... and there are lots of positives about this place. There are, unfortunately, some pretty big opportunities for improvement as well. The pros: the location can't be beat! This hotel is right in the center of the bustling tourist town of Lahaina. Surrounded by fun bars and restaurants, and the surf roaring just across the street, you really can't find a more prime location to stay as a tourist. The architecture is gorgeous... dark wood and a regal staircase greet you. All rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevator... so for some it's a challenge with larger luggage, however, I enjoy the exercise. The rooms are small by American standards, but really very cute, with the "ocean view" rooms boasting lovely balconies with rocking chairs overlooking the side street off of Front Street. The slat blinds provide good protection from the heat and provide more than adequate privacy. The cons: I can overlook a lot if the hotel bed is comfortable. This one is not so great. And that's being very generous. I see this has been addressed in other reviews. The sticky floor is also a little disconcerting. Cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved around the shower area. Wifi is $9.95 per day. To me, given the size and condition of the rooms, this is a bitter pill. Free wifi would be one of the perks that would make some of the other shortcomings far more manageable. We decided to park on the street 2 blocks away to avoid the $15 per day charge. The noise in the morning from the garbage and delivery trucks is really frustrating, but truly short-lived as long as you're tired enough to fall back to sleep. None of these things are absolute deal breakers for me, especially in a surf town with limited accommodation options, however, I might opt to stay a bit further out of town next time if it meant a quieter, far more comfortable sleep. The surf beckoned, though, from my balcony... which overall, makes the Lahaina Inn an attractive, quaint little gem for this beach babe!

Room Tip: The junior suite is apparently the largest room, but doesn't have the ocean-view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is charming and is right in the middle of Lahaina! Rooms here are quite small, but each has a lanai with rocking chairs where it's great to hang out and watch the action in Lahaina. Best regular room is #7; be sure to reserve a room on the street side...provides a great ocean view, too. If you want to spend a little more, ask for the Makai room...it's bigger and has a bigger bed. Also, bring earplugs. The street is pretty noisy in the morning. One caution...the desk is not staffed after 7pm or on weekends...plan for this when you plan your check in time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

From my experience, most of what people said about this place is true. Yes, morning is quite noisy due to many supply trucks, and yes, the room is quite dirty (many things are really old here).

On the bright side, its location is superb. Practically in the center of Lahaina. Parking is $15 per day, which is not that bad. The room is bit dirty, but it has a mild taste of old Hawaiian feeling which wasn't that bad.

So, if you're a couple or group seeking for adventure (especially without kid), vivid night life, and seeking for a okay lodging, this would be a nice place. If you're a family looking for relax and comfortable (resort-like) experience, I guess you'll have to avoid this place.

FYI, all rooms are in 2nd floor of the building and the building does not have elevator.
Thanks,
-quickboy78

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at the Lahaina Inn. We upgraded to one of the larger rooms, on the beach side, which gave us an unimpeded view of the sea. We enjoyed listening to the live music from down the street in the evening while sitting on our balcony enjoying our own drinks and snacks. The larger room was spacious and featured a wonderful old victorian bed. Bathroom was nice, as were the toiletries.

Previous reviewers have commented on the sound of early morning garbage trucks, funny smells and apathetic reception. We agree with the first two "complaints", but with ear plugs you won't hear the trucks at 6 am, and once you've been in your room a couple of minutes you don't notice any smells. Reception was friendly and chatty and helpful.

Did we enjoy our stay: Yes
Would we stay there again: Maybe (The more expensive Pioneer Inn looked good...)
Would we recommend Lahaina Inn to a friend: Yes

Room Tip: Pick a room with seaview, preferably the Makai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Inn Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.