We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little spot on the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Inn

Save Saved
You added Lahaina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Lahaina Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint little spot on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I always try to look for the positive first in my experiences... and there are lots of positives about this place. There are, unfortunately, some pretty big opportunities for improvement as well. The pros: the location can't be beat! This hotel is right in the center of the bustling tourist town of Lahaina. Surrounded by fun bars and restaurants, and the surf roaring just across the street, you really can't find a more prime location to stay as a tourist. The architecture is gorgeous... dark wood and a regal staircase greet you. All rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevator... so for some it's a challenge with larger luggage, however, I enjoy the exercise. The rooms are small by American standards, but really very cute, with the "ocean view" rooms boasting lovely balconies with rocking chairs overlooking the side street off of Front Street. The slat blinds provide good protection from the heat and provide more than adequate privacy. The cons: I can overlook a lot if the hotel bed is comfortable. This one is not so great. And that's being very generous. I see this has been addressed in other reviews. The sticky floor is also a little disconcerting. Cleanliness in the bathroom could be improved around the shower area. Wifi is $9.95 per day. To me, given the size and condition of the rooms, this is a bitter pill. Free wifi would be one of the perks that would make some of the other shortcomings far more manageable. We decided to park on the street 2 blocks away to avoid the $15 per day charge. The noise in the morning from the garbage and delivery trucks is really frustrating, but truly short-lived as long as you're tired enough to fall back to sleep. None of these things are absolute deal breakers for me, especially in a surf town with limited accommodation options, however, I might opt to stay a bit further out of town next time if it meant a quieter, far more comfortable sleep. The surf beckoned, though, from my balcony... which overall, makes the Lahaina Inn an attractive, quaint little gem for this beach babe!

Room Tip: The junior suite is apparently the largest room, but doesn't have the ocean-view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    25
    20
    18
See reviews for
7
65
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is charming and is right in the middle of Lahaina! Rooms here are quite small, but each has a lanai with rocking chairs where it's great to hang out and watch the action in Lahaina. Best regular room is #7; be sure to reserve a room on the street side...provides a great ocean view, too. If you want to spend a little more, ask for the Makai room...it's bigger and has a bigger bed. Also, bring earplugs. The street is pretty noisy in the morning. One caution...the desk is not staffed after 7pm or on weekends...plan for this when you plan your check in time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

From my experience, most of what people said about this place is true. Yes, morning is quite noisy due to many supply trucks, and yes, the room is quite dirty (many things are really old here).

On the bright side, its location is superb. Practically in the center of Lahaina. Parking is $15 per day, which is not that bad. The room is bit dirty, but it has a mild taste of old Hawaiian feeling which wasn't that bad.

So, if you're a couple or group seeking for adventure (especially without kid), vivid night life, and seeking for a okay lodging, this would be a nice place. If you're a family looking for relax and comfortable (resort-like) experience, I guess you'll have to avoid this place.

FYI, all rooms are in 2nd floor of the building and the building does not have elevator.
Thanks,
-quickboy78

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed our stay at the Lahaina Inn. We upgraded to one of the larger rooms, on the beach side, which gave us an unimpeded view of the sea. We enjoyed listening to the live music from down the street in the evening while sitting on our balcony enjoying our own drinks and snacks. The larger room was spacious and featured a wonderful old victorian bed. Bathroom was nice, as were the toiletries.

Previous reviewers have commented on the sound of early morning garbage trucks, funny smells and apathetic reception. We agree with the first two "complaints", but with ear plugs you won't hear the trucks at 6 am, and once you've been in your room a couple of minutes you don't notice any smells. Reception was friendly and chatty and helpful.

Did we enjoy our stay: Yes
Would we stay there again: Maybe (The more expensive Pioneer Inn looked good...)
Would we recommend Lahaina Inn to a friend: Yes

Room Tip: Pick a room with seaview, preferably the Makai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked for four nights and was given a room overlooking the back alley. The room was so small, we had no where to hang our clothes, no closet and had to leave the suitcases on the floor. The bed was tiny and lumpy and the springs squealed with every move. They said there is an in room safe but there isn't one. The Lanai is over the back garbage bins (which get emptied early in the morning) so you can't sit outside because of the smell.

Yes it is close to everything and yes it is clean, but if you can afford to stay elsewhere than do it! We stayed one night and booked into another place a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The only thing this hotel has is location. Our balcony overlooked the parking lot and back of buildings. The room was dirty, the bathroom was moldy and the bed was falling apart. Horrible room. One the rare occassion you could find a staff person, they didn't really care if you were there or not. Forget asking for additional pillow or towels. The trash trucks start coming thru before 6 along with yard crews, so forget sleeping past 6. Worst place I have ever stayed in Hawaii. First time to submit a negative review on location in Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing i can say about this place after staying there for a week is that it is very central.

The room was dirty, the cleaning lady did not change the toilet paper and there is nobody at the reception after 7pm and before 11 am. The number you can dial in case you need assistance is a voice mailbox and you will not be able to get somebody on the phone...
At 6am the garbage truck comes and parks right behind this place - the noise that thing makes is horrible.
Dont expect friendly staff, a clean room but if you wanna stay central its a good place. If you have your own car they charge 13 USD per night for parking which of course is not included. I would definately stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Lahaina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Inn

Also Known As:
Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Hotel
Lahaina Inn Maui
Address: 127 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lahaina Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique inn was recently remodeled and is situated in the heart of historic Lahaina Town. Just off of Front Street guests enjoy easy access to the many local restaurants, bars, art galleries, shops, historical sites, and Lahaina Harbor. Lahaina Inn guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services to Kaanapali Beach and full access to the resort amenities and prime beachfront location at Lahaina Inn's sister property- the Royal Lahaina Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lahaina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.