We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
hamilton, Ont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“it was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2005

this hotel was alright, I found the location to be perfect and the hotel rooms were great but I found the front desk staff not that pleasant. I was on my honeymoon and we didn't get the room we booked, also my trip included breakfast and they forgot to give me the coupons so I had to pay for the breakfast, even though they reinbursed me at check-out it was a hassel. Other then that the beach was great and the restaurants were amazing especially the hula grill at the whaler's mall.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    1,010
    393
    147
    98
See reviews for
621
1,593
41
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2005

After reading all reviews I was nervous about our trip. I enjoyed the stay, the ocean is sheltered in front of the hotel for snorkeling. We had a room in building six- it was clean, comfortable and looked out at the ocean. The resort is touristy however every place in that area is touristy. If you want old Hawaii you should go to the north shore of Kauai. The breakfast buffet I would not recommend.
Overall, I would go back as it was easy and child friendly.
It is half the price of The Four Seasons and about half as nice....

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

For a Sheraton property, which has a corporate standard, I found this place barely met my minimum expectations. Although the problems didn't deter me from enjoying my stay, problems we experienced were:
1. broken in-room safe
2. filthy wall air-conditioners
3. room service order was incorrect
4. room was left ajar by the room attendant
5. hairs were found in our bed
The staff were overall friendly and you can't beat the location--which I think is why this property can command the high room rate despite these problems.
We did address all the problems above, we merely got an apology, which is fine by us. I totally disagree with their 'resort fee' which is now $17.71 per day; you get like free coffee (which is only 10% Kona coffee and its disgusting), free local calls, free self-parking. Places to eat which is less expensive and delicious are: Mixed plate next door at the Kanapali hotel (buffet with prime rib), CJ Deli, Whaler's mall--pizza, chinese food, Giovanni's - a bit more expensive but worth it, and the dinner special at the Hula Grill (gotta go before 6pm).
Rent snorkel gear for the week at Snorkel Bob's instead of getting it from the hotel
Enjoyed the time there although a tad bit disappointed for a Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

We were at the Sheraton when it was extremely full over Thanksgiving. We are not usually ones to complain (especially in paradise) but ended up changing out of two rooms - the first was for guests with disabilities and we couldn't take a shower without all the water coming out onto the floor. This wasn't a problem in the second room because the shower didn't work at all. They very nicely offered Starwood points/gift certificate for our trouble which was appreciated.

By and large the employees were very nice and the pool is great for either very small children (in the kiddie pool) or much older children. Our daughter is in the middle of that and couldn't really swim without us swimming with her up and down the river. Also the pool is very cold. This was partially alleviated by her favorite activity - feeding the koi at 10:00 a.m.

Can't beat the location or the beach.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2005

Split our 10 night stay between Westin Maui and Sheraton Maui. For our family, Sheraton was the preferred location overall. Your opinion may be different. Read on.

Westin Maui:
1. Extremely hectic feeling (the landscape is awesome with waterfalls but add a ton of people noise during the day and it loses ambience quickly)
2. Has more staff on hand to assist you
3. Keiki (Children's) Camp is awesome (especially Nicole, their counselor)
4. Ono Grill serves decent food at high price
5. Terrace serves pretty good food and great view
6. Very helpful and friendly staff
7. Very nicely equipped workout room (didn't use a minute of it!)
8. Good pools

Sheraton Maui:
1. Awesome snorkeling right at your footstep
2. Relaxed and more serene atmosphere (reminds us of Jamaica)
3. Ample parking
4. Fabulous view (if you get ocean front)
5. Fairly helpful staff but minimally staffed compared to Westin
6. Restaurant food match up to prices quite well (except for the breakfast buffet)
7. Kid's pool - wading area and 3 ft area

Not very impressed by both locations' rooms and bathrooms but no complains since we spent minimal time in the rooms even though we had ocean front/view rooms.

If you have little kids, both places are fun but Sheraton has the kid's pool. Older kids will prefer the Westin slides at their pools.

If you want to try out snorkeling and scuba, definitely pick Sheraton because it's right at your doorstep.

We decided on the Starwood properties over other properties like Hyatt and Ritz (all about the same price as we received great package offers.) We checked out both locations and was very happy with our decisions. Hyatt probably has better pools but was even more crowded! The thing that pushed us to Sheraton over Hyatt was the beach. Review on Hyatt's lack of beach was the major reason we avoided Hyatt and the review was correct. To get my little ones to the beach was not as easy at the Ritz as it was surrounded by the golf course.

If you decide on Maui, do get the "Maui Revealed" book if you intend to venture outside of your resort. You'll find great tidepools, beaches, activities and food recommendations.

As for food, if you decide to eat at Whaler's Village, we love Leilani's (lunch and dinner). Hula Grill was quite good too. Rusty Harpoon service and food is mediocre at best (lunch and dinner). Sansei close to Ritz at Kapalua is as good as advertised. Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina is decent but Da Kitchen in Kihei serves awesome local food. For Califonians, you will most likely find David Paul a tad bit overrated. Wished we had time to try Pacific'O. We found no reason to try Moose McGillycuddys or Roys as they're readily available in California.

Hope this helps. Definitely get "Maui Revealed" book.

Enjoy your trip. We did ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

As I write this review I am sitting on our Lanai at the Sheraton Maui. While we did not get a Lei greeting, we have been total blown away by this hotel. We were a little worried about booking at a Sheraton due to past experiences with the chain, but are really glad we decided to try them again. We are staying on SPG points and were expecting to be in the lowest room available. We were upgraded to a deluxe oceanview room. It is wonderful!!! We ate at the Terrace restaurant last night and the food and service were terrific.

We have been snorkeling at Black Rock in the morning with a green sea turtle.

We are now wishing that we had decided to stay here for our whole vacation instead of only 5 nights. Hopefully the next hotel, the Sheraton Keauhou will be as wonderful as this one.

BTW, you get free valet parking the first night. We did not know this which is why we did not get the lei greeting.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2005

I'm Starwood Gold and Marriott Gold - I travel a lot. I'm used to supposed "4-star" service and rooms.

The Sheraton Maui exceeded my expectations.

I used Starwood points to get a room for one week. I know what types of rooms you get when you use points - the worst in the place. I nicely talked with the desk attendant and she worked a way to get me an oceanview room. She was overly pleasant and a joy to work with. Her name was Tisha.

The room is good. I don't think too many Hawaii rooms are great, luxury-style rooms. What's the point? You're outside most of the time. Nice King-sized bed, nice balcony with table and chairs, wired internet in the room (which I converted to wireless with my travel router), and TV with all of the mainland channels.

The resort itself is superb. The pool has two big sections with a long, winding 4 foot river connecting them. A hot tub is hidden between the two and romantically nestled between hidden rocks. There are two pool bar/restaurants and plenty of poolside waiters/waitresses. There are also two activity centers near the pool/beach. We did find that their prices are not that competitive with other centers in the Lahaina area - shop around.

The beach is the best of all the hotels along this resort stretch. In contrast, the Marriott beach is TERRIBLE. Rocky, non-swimmable, etc. People come from all over just to snorkle on the beach at the Sheraton - we did and the views were INCREDIBLE! be very, very careful here as one unfortunate sould nearly died while we were there - he swam BEYOND Black Rock (despite all of the signs) and was pinned against the rock. EMS, Police, Fire, etc... got there and revived him.

All in all, I would stay here again in an instant. Even though I got the room for free, I would pay around $300 a night for a room like this.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.