We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised- Loved the Sheraton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised- Loved the Sheraton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

We were married in October 2004 on the other side of Black Rock and stayed at the Sheraton out of convenience. We loved it! Our room was out on Black Rock and had a fantastic view. The room itself was sufficient but not over the top. We sat on the lanai having breakfast and watched numerous turtles swimming by. Beautiful! We snorkled and used the pool, which were both fantastic. Swam with turtles every day! We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful with anything. We had about 40 guests for our wedding and the desk staff helped with welcome bags for all . They were willing to help us in anyway. The staff constantly greeted us whenever they saw us. The bars at the pool were used alot by all of us and were great. Watch out for the Mai Tai'! Very good, still think about them! Had an outdoor massage the day of our wedding and it was wonderful. After our wedding festivities we went on our honeymoon to the island of Lanai and expected the same if not better service at the Manele Bay Hotel but it did not compare to the service at the Sheraton. Also, I had stayed previously at the Maui Westin down the beach and loved their heavenly bed program, their rooms were great, we visited their pool one day this time and found it to be so much louder than the Sheraton. Bigger slide and all but not as relaxing as the Sheratons pool.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    1,015
    395
    147
    98
See reviews for
623
1,597
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2005

Since I rely so heavily on this site for information, I felt compelled to share our experience with the Sheraton. My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay. We had stayed there 2 years ago and loved it so much decided that staying there again was a no-brainer. Unfortunately, it seems some things have changed in the last 2 years. We found the staff to be stand offish and not very helpful this time...the main difference is that they seem very stingy with everything.
After booking us incorrectly in a double bed room instead of a king they had no other rooms available to make it right. Even given the inconvenience, they really didn't seem to care. On the last day, we requested to check out later. First, they told us it would be $50 to check out at 2:00 instead of 11:00 am and $150 if we wanted to stay until 4:00 (before it was only $50 to stay until 4:00). We agreed to stay until 2:00 and pay $50 and then the front desk told us that we could not do it, even if we paid...that we would have to leave no matter what. We worked it out and stayed until 2:00 but only after having to fight for extra time that we were paying for.
The other disappointing thing was the crowds...we went at the same time of year last time and never saw the beach and pool so crowded. The last day there was not a single chair to sit in by the pool, unless you saved one by 8:00 am.
We ventured over to Wailea and Makena and found those beaches MUCH less crowded (and great for bodysurfing and boogie boarding too!). Next time we return to Maui we will definitely stay on that side of the island.

On a positive note, we tried The Feast at LeLe for the first time and LOVED it...better than Old Lahaina Luau in our opinion. Also highly recommend Cafe O Lei in Lahaina and Maui Eco tours for kayaking. All in all it was a great stay, but the Sheraton just left us with a sour taste.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

Wow! My wife and I loved the Sheraton on Maui! We stayed for about a week and we did not want to leave. We stayed in the rooms near the back of the hotel up on the cliff and the ocean view was great. We were looking for a quiet getaway, and we found it at the Sheraton. The staff was friendly, polite, and helpful in every way.

The snorkelling was super in fron of the hotel and while we wee visiting I was able to swim with a mother Humpback Whale and her calf which came in to the hotel beach. I saw several Sea Turtles and a large Manta Ray while snorkelling in front of the hotel. Kaanapali beach was great, and we walked next door to the free evening show at the Kaanapali Beach Hotel in evening and had a great time.

If you are looking for a no hassle relaxing time, the Maui Sheraton is it! We are going back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2005

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon Hawaii tour. 3 nights were not nearly enough and we wished we had a week there. Our first room was unsatisfactory and they upgraded us to a better room right away. It was a bit of a walk to the main area from the new room but we didn't mind. The beach is pretty and the pool is awesome. We would definitely stay here again. Also if you stay here you can use any of the starwood properties. We got a couples massage over at the Westin and that looked like a fabulous hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

We just returned from the Sheraton. We stayed 5 nights from 4/12-4/17. We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a Garden view room which we booked through Costco.
Our Garden View room was on the bottom floor so there wasn't much of a view but we still had a very large balacony and the price was right. We had no complaints with the room.
We spent a lot of time at the bar overlooking the water, let me warn you the drinks are expensive. About $9 for a cocktail but the view is well worth the price. Be careful though because at $9 each the bill can add up fast

We only ate at the hotel restaurant once for lunch and we had a salad and a sandwich but we enjoyed it.We had a good pork sandwich from the bar menu though. Other restaurants that we ate at that we would recommend were Kimo's in Lahainaa-this place has great fish selections and we have eaten here our last 2 stays and enjoyed it a lot. We also ate at Leilani's several times and we ate at there bar/grill menu, very reasonable and good food. We also ate at Hula Grill which was good and we also tried Sansei sushi in Kapulua. Sushi was good but our bill came to about $91 for 2 and I was not that impressed for the price. We eat a lot of sushi in California so we are kind of spoiled and not easily impressed. We tried the rusty Harpoon, also in the whalers village-we were not impressed at all and would not recommend it. Food was not goodm slow service and for the price you pay it is not worth it. Stick with the Hula Grill and Leilanis if your going to the Whalers Village.

We did the Snorkel trip to Molikini for a second year in a row. We took the suggestion from the "maui revealed" book and went with the "Four Winds 2". Last year we went with the "Pride of Maui". I would not recommend the Four Winds-the boat trip to Molokini was very slow and it was a very bumpy ride. Lots of people getting motion sickness. We also got sick and we even took medicine. Last years trip on the "Pride" was much smoother and it's a larger boat. The crew seemed friendlier on the "Pride of Maui" and made you feel more welcome.
Overall I would not take another trip to Molikini and would not recommend you go. If you are staying at the sheraton the snorkeling out front at Black Rock is far better than Molikini-trust me! You will see much more fish and more variety than you will on the snorkel trip. If you want to blow $80 a person on the trip you will have fun but there was very few fish and not much variety. The visibility is good but not much to look at. Save your money. You will really enjoy the snorkeling at the hotel. We saw a turtle the first day within the first 5 minutes we were in the water. Snorkel around the point and you will find more turtles, lots of fish, big schools of fish, lots of variety. This snorkeling is far better out front of the hotel than on the snorkel trip.

We also played Golf at the Kaanapali Golf course, north course. I am not a very good golfer myself. My boyfriend and the other group we played with were not impressed with the greens.They all commented about the fact that they were in not that good of shape for the $130 price we paid.

All in all we had a great stay at the Sheraton, everyone was very nice and friendly. We would definately recommend it for the great location, relaxed atmosphere, and the best beach and snorkeling.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

From our late-arriving Sunday night check-in to our check-out a week later, we knew that we had made the right hotel choice on Maui. Ours was a family trip during Spring Break in mid-April with 11 and 14 year old children. The Sheraton was a hit with all of us! At check-in, our room was actually upgraded twice -- no charge. They also provided a rollaway bed -- again, no charge. This may not sound like much, but in Hawaii there is a charge for everything! We had a great room overlooking the pool, the beach and Black Rock where we could enjoy the Cliff Diving ceremony every evening right from our balcony. The snorkling right off Black Rock is one of the better places on Maui. We encountered not only many beautiful fish, but even giant Sea Turtles. The kids loved that! (note: check around to get a great deal on renting snorkel gear -- the rental at the beach is outrageous! Off-site, we rented gear for 4 of us for the week that was less than the daily charge right at the beach) The beauty was the location. Walk out of the room, through the exspansive Pool area, onto the beach and into the water. It's all right there. The staff at the Sheraton were great also. They were very friendly, very helpful and very accomodating. At times in Hawaii you can get an indifferent attitude in dealing with people. We never experienced that at this hotel. It was a great week, a fun vacation in a beautiful place. My kids didn't want to leave. My wife and I have been to several different hotels in Hawaii and this is one that we will be returning to. Just not soon enough.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Maui for our honeymoon from Dec 13th - Dec 19th, 2004. We arrived early in the morning so we didn't get greated with a lai ;( but we did get upgraded to an oceanview room which was very nice in the building closest to the pool and beach.
The weather was GROGEOUS and the hotel was quiet which was very nice. The beach was nice and I loved the pool with a mini waterfall and how the hot tub was tucked away. The room was simple and clean so no complaints there. The hotel restaurants were expensive so we had breakfast once in the hotel, learned out lesson and then went out to dinner in Lahaina, the little town 10 minutes away, or even around Kaanapali there were a few restaurants. Loved that we were walking distance to Whalers Village which offered a few fast food places to grab lunch at. ABC stores were amazing for EVERYTHING! Souvenirs to drinks, snacks.....
I got alot of mixed reveiws on trip advisor and have to admit that i was a little concerned but I have NO IDEA why people would complain about the Sheraton Maui!! It was PERFECT!!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.